We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, cool stores, tough parking”

Northwest (Nob Hill)
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Portland Brewery Bike Tour
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Best of Portland City Morning Tour
Ranked #43 of 448 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A grocer from San Francisco opened a store on NW 23rd over a hundred years ago and named it after the uppercrust S.F. neighborhood.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food, cool stores, tough parking”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

if you can get parking, you're in for a really nice experience. The area has a ton of great restaurants and cool independent stores.
We usually go for a bite (sometimes just dessert) and a nice walk

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivy_Cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    35
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
1,170 reviews
452 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Nob Hill is a vibrant neighborhood in NW Portland”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nob Hill neighborhood is my favorite district of Portland after visiting my daughter who lives on Johnson Street. She took my wife and me all over Portland during the week of our stay. She referred to the area as the Alphabet District because the streets are named after the successive letters of the alphabet.

The neighborhood has an abundance of shops and restaurants on 23rd and 21st Streets. We ate at Caffe Mingo, Serratto, Papa Haydn, Jo Bar, Besaws and St. Horore Bakery during our visit. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express NW which was very convenient for all that we wanted to do. We attended church at Agape Church of Christ, a new congregation that meets at the Metropolitan Learning Center on Glisan and 21st Streets.

Nob Hill is a vibrant part of Portland. Parking can be difficult, but if you dirve around long enough you can eventually find a parking spot. I am already looking forward to our next trip to Portland to visit our daughter and taking in the highlights of the Northwest (Nob Hill) District.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting Neighborhood”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Good place to shop. Also lots and lots of good dining. Very close to Portland's Rose Gardens, interesting and active. Parking tough.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank GaryEvelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“My favorite place to hang out”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Nob Hill is where it's at. Great place to hang out to shop and eat. Parking is limited though and can be frustrating. I bring my car named "Crash" when I come here.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank datraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is a great little neighborhood in Portland, Wonderful shops, great restaurants. Good for a ppost lunch or pre-dinner walk through. Wildwood is my favorite restaurant on the the street.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mamababoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northwest (Nob Hill) also viewed

 

Been to Northwest (Nob Hill)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing