We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, should not be listed by search engines”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Expo Center
Ranked #130 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Filthy, horrible place. Meth addicts and homeless people in the hallways. None of the lights in the room worked. Faucet leaked. Toilet seat broken. Filthy towels. Raging party of 30 meth addicts going on upstairs, domestic violence happening next door. Noisy street with semi-trucks. Hallways, stairs and room have never been cleaned, ever. Carpet stained, mattress stained, sheets had holes and mothballs, inch-thick layer of dusty grime on everything. Pulled the mattress away from the wall looking for bed-bugs and found them, plus some roaches too!! Booked via expedia, checked-in at 11:30pm after a long trip, and was out of there by midnight. Drove around the area looking for something else, but found that all of portland is a cesspool, even the "nice" places in old town and downtown for 5 times as much. Found a quiet neighborhood street off Alberta and slept in my car.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
4  Thank Geme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Expo Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 45 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Price was good but that was it. Not really close to anything although many ff resturants nearby.
Room was very basic.
Good selection of cable TV channels.
Room was very noisy due to location near the road.
Free WiFi connection to the internet was down for my entire 3 day visit.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel is nice, the room was clean and has bathroom.... it's very cheap, but don't have elevathor, so, if you have big luggages (like me), I suggest to stay in the first floor. It's near from a big outlet...

Room Tip: if you have big luggages (like me), I suggest to stay in the first floor
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank costa_thays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I made the reservation via Southwest's vacation option. This hotel is right in the middle of ghetto Oregon. I pulled up and noticed that this was not where I wanted to sleep immediately. The gang of rough looking individuals hanging outside was the first clue. This place had a horrible smell and the floor was not something I wanted to walk on without shoes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geof H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights, the room was clean and the bed comfy. They have a fridge and microwave. Their is fast food close by and the only bad thing was being cat called at but you get what you pay for and I was truly satisfied. The 2nd night we couldn't pay until midnight because of a mishap with our card and were stranded in Portland until it was going to be resolved and the manager Shelby was very kind and let us check in and pay later. I was very satisfied with my stay. Newly painted rooms, flat screen TV. Only downside is flaky internet but overall for what you pay for I enjoyed it!

Room Tip: Pick a non smoking room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warden1, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your feed back, As we are working on improvements to insure every guest has a pleasant stay with us. Once again thak you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The bed was terrible- hard as a rock. I had no idea they made beds this hard. Room was tiny, window was left open w/ no heat on so it was freezing when we walked in. 2 out of 3 lamps were not plugged in with no outlet nearby TO plug them into. Front desk person was exceedingly rude when I told him the internet wasn't working- tried for 30 minutes before it finally worked again. Sink was also clogged when we got here, so they plunged it with a toilet plunger... Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Purpleswimma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

No Internet, hard beds, constant noise and traffic. Lamps with no wall plugs, too much furniture for the spaces, and, yes, not enough parking! I would also not recognize it based on these pictures. Nothing good to say. And, why a minimum number of 200 characters?

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ces032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Jantzen Beach
1.2 mi away
Portlander Inn
Portlander Inn
#90 of 144 in Portland
45 reviews
5.0 mi away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Portland Central
Days Inn Portland Central
#101 of 144 in Portland
239 reviews
4.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Portland Airport
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Portland North
Motel 6 Portland North
#114 of 144 in Portland
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Expo Center

Address: 405 NE Columbia Blvd., Portland, OR 97211-1421
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $61 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Expo Center 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Portland
Econolodge Expo Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing