We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice place and excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #21 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
219 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Overall nice place and excellent staff”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here and thought the staff was excellent. Some drawbacks are that it is a little farther from the heart of city as we would have liked, but it is only a few blocks from the tram.
The rooms are nice and had flat screened tv.
The bathroom was older but in good condition. The room had an odd layout though, as the tv was placed to the right of the bed instead of in front.
Breakfast was a buffet that had pretty much everything you can think of for about $11/person.
We never ate dinner but the bar and restaraunt looked nice. There is also a garage you can self park in for $18/day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTexans007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    286
    99
    21
    14
See reviews for
180
172
47
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We planned a weekend trip to Portland in early December. Had a nice room for a steal online. The location was nice, didn't care much for the view outside since it was cloudy and rainy most of the time, but the purpose of our trip wasn't to stay in the hotel. It was to enjoy Portland and everything around which was definitely worth it. The staff was nice the room was clean, it seemed like a very fun place to lounge around as well.never even heard a peep from outside the room at night. My only real nitpick was where the tv was placed in the room, I would have preferred it in front of the bed instead of to the side, but that's all. There is a parking fee but we didn't care and felt more comfortable that parking was in a garage. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogiybubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Lobby was very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean. Pool was closed during our stay. We were informed of this when we made our reservation so this was not an issue. There is a bar and restaurant on site. The breakfast buffet was included in our rate. It was very good, a couple steps above the normal hotel breakfast. Location is excellent. Easy access to freeways, transit, shopping, convention center and Rose Garden. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJP987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you are looking for a nice hotel to stay at in Portland, this is the place! The hotel is surrounded by plenty of restaurants and mass transportation is right around the corner. The Lloyd Center Mall is also within walking distance. We opted to walk downtown, which took us about 15-20 minutes. The hotel rooms were lovely, the bed was comfy and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable! My only complaint is there was a convention of young female dance squads and they were a bit obnoxious with running up and down the halls and being noisy. C'est la vie... We survived! Make sure you book online, we found the rates to be cheaper!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
295 reviews
284 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Booked directly via Marriott, for 113$, Govt rate which included breakfast. The hotel is close to the tramway system and the convention center, so its easy to get anywhere in town from here. Check in was friendly and was provided with a studio room with a king bed and sofa bed, which was decent sized, smallish bathroom with sink outside the bathroom, LCD TV with a good amount of channels, and free wifi.

The breakfast buffet was plenty and delicious and my waitress for the 2 mornings was friendly. The bar features 4 taps of microbrewed beers, which is expected in Portland.

The gym itself is smaller but well appointed, and there is a decent sized indoor pool to soak in. A place to consider when visiting this wonderful city.

Room Tip: check for government rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were in Portland visiting family for Christmas during our stay here. I really wasn't expecting this hotel to be a full service hotel, and I was pleasantly surprised. I really felt like we were staying at a Marriott instead of a Courtyard! I can't say enough about how awesome the staff is..everyone, the front desk, valet, bartenders and waiters, and the housekeeping crew...all were great. We spent most late afternoons and evenings in the bar area. It was truly a great experience. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is our first stay in Portland and we were a litle unsure of the hotel at first. The lobby is gorgeous and the pool is adequate but we wish it had a hot tub. The rooms were very clean and had all we needed. But the next morning when we went down for our Breakfast buffet and met our waiter Aly it made our trip. His friendly nature and welcoming smile was great. He was helpful in letting us know where to visit and made sure my two girls felt very welcome too. He went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. We kept looking forward to breakfast to see Aly and tell him about the different places that we ventured. He was always eager to listen and give us some new tips of where to go. Thanks ALY for making our trip so special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 141 in Portland
372 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 435 NE Wasco St, Portland, OR 97232-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Portland
#17 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Family Hotel in Portland
#37 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland Downtown/Lloyd Hotel Portland
Courtyard Portland Downtown
Portland Marriott
Portland Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing