We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price & convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #28 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel was just a few blocks from my son's house. The price was very reasonable for the service, location and size/comfort of the rooms. We left and returned since we went to Seattle in-between and were able to experience 2 different rooms. Both were nice, new and clean. The heat was loud and worked well - too well for us - so we turned it off while we slept and the temperature was perfect. The only reason I did not rate this hotel as excellent was because the parking fee of $15 seemed a bit high. We did not stay long at the hotel so we were able to park on the street for free on the nights we stayed upon our return to Portland

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 900 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I were in town for New Year's Eve to see some friends. The hotel was located very close to the light rail station making it easy to get downtown without the hassle of parking. The decor was very nice and modern and the setup of our room (Queen studio) was a great use of the space.

The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. We had the front desk order a cab for us for our New Year's Eve adventure. At 6 our cab didn't show so not only did the front desk order another cab, they paid for our cab ride. To me, that was really going above and beyond to make sure we had an enjoyable evening.

The next morning we ordered room service for breakfast. We split an omelet with a pot of coffee. Not only did it arrive very quickly, they split the omelet on 2 separate trays and plates to make it easy on us.

It was a great experience and without a doubt we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariettaPNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

First of all, I think this is the best service I've had - ever. I've certainly had good service before - friendly, attentive, knowledgeable. But the service at the Courtyard was several cuts - at least - above the rest. Secondly, we loved Portland. I think it's become our favorite American city. So between the service and the city, I'd give it a minimum of five stars.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2HappyKampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The staff is great all around, making one feel welcome. Those in the restaurant who work the morning breakfast buffet are especially fantastic - everyone wears a smile and says "hello" and the juice and coffee appear as often as needed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirkland_PE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Checkin and the front desk was great, and the room was very nice (got upgraded to suite for being Platinum member)! The Internet was good for the first night, but the second night and into the last day, the internet would keep dropping and then reconnecting. They tried to reset the modems, but to no avail. The breakfast was just fair. Pretty good selection, but the quality was just all right. If breakfast isn't included in your rate, I would eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryt53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nice lobby, good attentive people, everything would be great... The people are wonderful, very attentive front desk and everything......

However the room ( 515 ) has a window that provides zero insulation from street noise below.
Looks like Mariott paid more attention to appearances this time than the substance.

There is a parking lot below across the street - someone was using leaf blower at 11:00 PM to clean it, and later on at 3:30 AM there was a cleaner truck that was cleaning that parking lot. It was extremely loud and not pleasant to wake up at 3:30, wait for the said truck to go away for 20 min and then trying to fall back asleep.

So - Mariott - please - invest some money and make the windows at least somewhat soundproof

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear genat,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am sorry to hear that your sleep was disrupted. I have reached out to the office manager at the nearby office building where the noise issue originated and they have agreed to not have their lot swept outside of normal business hours. It's feedback like this that allows us to improve the sleep experience for all of our guests. I sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again and thank you for your kind words about the staff.
Warm regards,
Peter Kilbourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Wonderfully cheerful service from all areas of this hotel - restaurant, desk, vallet, and maintenance. Am a business traveler with many stays at different hotel brands - and this is my first on-line review. It's always a joy to head downstairs for breakfast and be greeted by cheerful staff - Island & Ali. Additional effort by staff to check if we've had enough, need refills and/or would like a to-go coffee. Evening meal time is support by same service level. Other notables - Chris from desk and Chris restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveler1253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Hotel Eastlund
#15 of 144 in Portland
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 435 NE Wasco St, Portland, OR 97232-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Portland
#17 Business Hotel in Portland
#18 Green Hotel in Portland
#37 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $100 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland Downtown/Lloyd Hotel Portland
Courtyard Portland Downtown
Portland Marriott
Portland Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing