We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing staff. Super helpful and attentive to guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #19 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing staff. Super helpful and attentive to guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

After a long flight over to Portland we discovered that the hotel that we had originally booked was terrible. We immediately searched and found the Courtyard by Marriott at the downtown location. The staff was incredibly helpful and definitely helped us ease our stress. Thanks to them we were able to check in early, drop our luggage and actually enjoy our vacation. The hotel is really nice. The rooms are spacious and the location is perfect! Their staff will take care of you!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    262
    93
    18
    13
See reviews for
165
156
45
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Aly provided excellent service in the restaurant! Food was delicious. Had a great time on the patio by the fire pit. Room was clean and comfortable. Convenient to the convention center with short walk.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ccrew12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this clean and comfortable hotel while attending a conference at the Oregon Convention Center. The staff was extremely helpful and recommended some wonderful excursions in the area. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel's restaurant and it was outstanding both times. Our server, Aly, was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RecentEmptyNesters50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We love to stay at the Courtyard near the Convention Center for its convenience to our children that live in NE Portland. The greeting is always friendly - even though we use another site to book. The rooms are updated, clean, comfy beds. The downside is parking is expensive and not a good area of the city to park on the street.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing courtyard - it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 10/4 - 10/8. Great location. Walking distance to Starbucks and even to downtown if one wants to. Clean rooms and very nice staff. There is a charge for parking, but we parked on the street and never received a ticket- we did pay the meter though.

Watch the staff in the restaurant though. We had breakfast included with our rate. To upgrade it was $3 more- which my traveling companion did. A bill that should have been $3 came to $9 for one person. Then my partner was given attitude because he wanted to pay with his credit card. Needless to say, we only ate in the restaurant that once.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pghpgh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just a pleasant 2-3 block walk to the Oregon Convention Center, which was where my convention was. Also even closer was the MAX light rail station. Good breakfast buffet. Very friendly staff. Great and spacious king room with free WiFi, and they really practice green here, with recycle receptacles and options to not replace little used towels and bedding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just stayed 3 days for work and enjoyed my stay. Rates are a lot cheaper than being in downtown and it's only a 5 minute drive into downtown. There are also a lot of restaurants within walking distance if you don't want to drive around. Appears to be a newer property so everything was in good-condition. Fitness center is on the smaller side. I had the breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant and the food was good for a buffet. My only complaint is the traffic noise. The hotel is right off of NE Grand so you do hear the cars at all hours of the night. I had my ear plugs with me and they blocked out all the noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eastlund
#10 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 435 NE Wasco St, Portland, OR 97232-1105
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Portland
#18 Green Hotel in Portland
#21 Family Hotel in Portland
#37 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland Downtown/Lloyd Hotel Portland
Courtyard Portland Downtown
Portland Courtyard
Portland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing