We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable option, not truly downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #25 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This Courtyard is a few blocks walk from the Convention Center, not in the actual downtown area. It's also a few blocks from the Max line, which makes getting to and from the airport and downtown convenient. However, their free downtown service just ended, so that's something to consider if you are travelling without a car.

The double room was adequately sized, with an uninspiring view of a fast food drive through. The lobby was nice, and clean, but had a horrid smell when we arrived -- bug spray, perhaps? The staff were OK, but not the type to go out of their way to be helpful. The food was not impressive, and neither was the service in the on site restaurant. Beds were comfortable, and the room was clean and functional.

If budget is a major consideration, this is an acceptable option. If not, I'd opt for something that's truly downtown -- it may not be as quiet, but there's so much there to explore, and it wouldn't require a couple blocks walk and wait for the Max to get everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 893 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

My hubby and I usually choose Marriott properties to stay whenever we travel because we get really great rates. We drove up from the Bay Area, California [ROAAAAAD TRIP!] for a Friday-Monday trip. We arrived a couple hours before check-in time [3pm] and they were able to accommodate us, which was nice especially because we had been driving non-stop since the night before.

Pros:
- Lobby/Lounge area very modern and clean looking
- In-house bar & restaurant
- Close to the MAX line which takes you to and from downtown Portland free of charge up until 10th Street
- Friendly service from front desk/valet staff
- blackout window shades came in handy, special requests were honored, and when requesting additional blankets, they were efficiently delivered.

Cons:
- no wi-fi in rooms for those who need it [who uses ethernet cables nowadays]
- thinly insulated bedroom adjoining walls [I could hear the neighbors next door drawing their shades open or closed]
- was a little loud still from the 3rd floor so if you can, request a higher floor.
- valet parking $19 USD [daily]
- on-site parking $15 USD [daily] and parking garage gets full on the weekends

Overall, I was pleased with this branch, however when visiting Portland, I may check out the other Marriott properties closer to the downtown area because we like to be more near the "nightlife" but if you are not into that then this would be a good fit for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pearl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This six storey hotel has a great location. It is an easy walk to the Lloyd Center shopping mall and many inexpensive to medium-priced restaurants. Parking in the underground lot costs $15/night and there is traffic noise, especially on the north side of the building. Downtown Portland is close and easily accessible by car or transit. The breakfast buffet is well done. The beds were comfortable and there is free internet in the room. I would recommend checking to see if there is a big convention going on, the hotel was quiet and less than full when I was there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayamew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

They have these metal chains on blinds that make quite the racket when you use them, which my neighbors on both sides did in the middle if the night. Awful design.
Also, a constant mystery clicking sound that makes you think someone is tapping on your door. Tried to keep air on to drown out, but no luck. Never did figure cause.
Oh there were the bachelor party dudes next door. Why did I bother to fill out member profile listing "quiet" as my preference? Thanks to night manager I got them shut down, for a few hours. Seriously, not the place for a good night's rest.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Exciting and chic new lobby bar, flat screens and fireplace.
Service was professional and impeccable.
Shae provided outstanding customer service and razor sharp precision with everything she executed. She as the true "shining star" of my experience.
Kudos Courtyard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My friend and I stayed here during our Sept 2012 trip to Portland to play golf for three days at various courses in the area. Frankly, we chose this hotel, because many others were already full. (There was a big convention going on in town.) But we were extremely happy with Courtyard and would definitely stay there again. The room was spacious, clean, attractive, modern, eco-sensitive. Service was great: the staff was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The hotel was conveniently located -- near both downtown and the Pearl District. We were able to walk to all of the good places we ate -- breakfast, lunch and dinner. The price was less than other hotels we considered, but remember if you are driving that you have to add $30/day for valet parking to the room cost. You could avoid that by finding parking yourself, but the valet parking was very convenient. Text them your ticket number and your car is at the door in 10 minutes or less. Also, the hotel does not provide breakfast, though the hotel has a restaurant attached (called "The Original" http://originaldinerant.com/). Can't comment on the restaurant, because we did not eat there. It looked fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badger718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed over a weekend on a good deal via member rewards club. Staff were pleasant, helpful and efficient. Parking at $15 a night was expensive. It was 19 for valet park. Rooms were large, ours was a King with a sofa. Although we were on the 3rd floor we did experience some traffic noise from the adjacent street and the car park. Used the local buses and trams to get about. This was cheap and efficient. If all you intend to do is Downtown, this place is some way out. Used the bar, but not the restaurant. Our ladies enjoyed the shopping at the nearby Lloyds Centre

Room Tip: Higher floors are likely to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jandlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Hotel Eastlund
#13 of 144 in Portland
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 435 NE Wasco St, Portland, OR 97232-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Portland
#18 Green Hotel in Portland
#21 Family Hotel in Portland
#37 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $125 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland Downtown/Lloyd Hotel Portland
Courtyard Portland Downtown
Portland Courtyard
Portland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing