We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #20 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The stay I had at the Courtyard in Portland/ Downtown/ Convention Center was delightful. The service was great, the food was good and the room was quiet. I especially enjoyed my service in the hotel restaurant, Aly was a great server and made my experience even better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    278
    99
    19
    13
See reviews for
175
167
47
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

One night stay at this property. Has received the Courtyard updates with the redone front desk area with big screen information center.

Room is nice and contemporary. Not as funky as the Courtyard downtown, which is really more of a boutique hotel. However the rooms are generally larger at this property

Easy access to MAX light rail, a few blocks away. I would point out that MAX now costs $2.50 per ride ($5 all day) and there is no free fare zone as of September 1st. Other reviews have mentioned free train rides, but they are now in the past due to TriMet transit system financial difficulties.

I arrived at night on MAX from the airport and was disoriented, so here are some directions. Get off MAX at the Convention Center stop. On your left as you get off will be the convention center itself. Find Martin Luther King drive and go the opposite way with the convention center at your back to find the hotel a few blocks away. You will pass Starbucks, Burgerville and Red Robin on the way. Signage for the hotel is not very prominent and the hotel is only 6 stories tall, so it is not easy to find in the dark.

When wandering around in the dark trying to find the hotel I was hit up for 'spare change' several times by panhandlers and walked by a person sleeping in a doorway. Not that unusual for Portland, but sometimes a bit disconcerting none the less. Portland has more than its share of young panhandlers for some reason.

Breakfast buffet in attached restaurant was good, with made to order omelettes and the usual bacon, sausage, fruit and great baked items. $12.95 isn't a bad price either, though you may get a rate that includes breakfast (probably only for $11 value).

Not a lot of easy choices for restaurants when looking around in the dark. A Red Robin (boring chain restaurant), Dennys (ugh), Starbucks and Burgerville come to mind. I went to Burgerville and had halibut and chips, giant onion rings and a milkshake. Burgerville is a local institution that touts its local sourcing of many of the ingredients for its food. A bit pricey for fast food though, I walked out with a $19 bill for one person.

All in all, a nice place to stay if the rates are lower than downtown by a bit. However transport costs now need to be factored in when staying here with the disappearance of the free fare zone on MAX.

Room Tip: High rooms are better, significant road noise even on a Sunday morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Clean hotel.Quiet.Close to Amtrak and transit and convention site.Confusing in that there were 2 Marriott Courtyards. Pleasant font desk staff. Several restaurants nearby.Quiet bar. 220 characters??Nothing else to say!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
302 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay here because it was convienent to get around Portland using the MAX light rail system. This property is near the convention center (3 blocks away) and Rose Garden Arena (about a 5 minute walk). All of the MAX lines are accessible from here and later on this month (September 2012) the Portland Streetcar will be running right next to this property. The staff is very attentive and much kudos to Joel (a trainee) for making our stay here feel very welcome. The only downside is that this hotel is only 6 stories tall and street noise is quite bad! Even with the Streetcar coming, I think it's going to become worse! I really don't know if there are any "good" rooms for people that are light sleepers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at the courtyard for three nights. Very convenient to the train into town. Only took about 10 minutes. Very clean, with a few restaurants within walking distance. Not in the main area of downtown but without the hastke of the downtown area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolph2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

200 characters ? Come on !!!! See my comments - a very very very good staff. Leslie is a great member in the dining room, bar none. Everyone in hotel is gracious, nice staff....did I mentiongood food n nice ambiance ?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattleaviationfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel was very clean and the service was wonderful. I have been traveling to this hotel for a few years and most times I see the same servers in the restaurant. They make me feel as if I am coming home, particularly Islanka. She is very warm and welcoming and always makes each of us feel special.

Thank you so much, Islanka, for all you do to make the weary business traveler feel good about their day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eastlund
#9 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 435 NE Wasco St, Portland, OR 97232-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Portland
#18 Green Hotel in Portland
#21 Family Hotel in Portland
#37 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland Downtown/Lloyd Hotel Portland
Courtyard Portland Downtown
Portland Marriott
Portland Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing