We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great property!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach
Ranked #68 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stay at this property every year for the Portland Swap Meet. Although many of the faces have changed, this property never fails to deliver a good stay.

We checked in on Wednesday with happy faces working through a long day of check-ins. The line moved quickly and we went to our well appointed room.

The room has a fridge, coffee maker, microwave, hair dryer, desk, and couch. Really clean room, nice linens, a selection of toiletries. This property has a lot of nice features, an indoor pool, sauna, fitness center and lightening fast FREE wi-fi. A vanity top large enough to accomodate hair appliances, toiletry bag and such.

I see other reviewers commenting on the location, and it is off the beaten path. It is close to shopping and restaurants, but not within comfortable walking distance. However, it is an easy trip to several nice eateries and a strip mall. Since it is away from the highway, it is quiet.

I can usually find something to complain about, and here it would be the Direct TV. Most channels that work were shopping and infomercials. Many things we would have opted to watch just gave a Direct TV logo blank or instructions on how to order. But we did not spend much time trying to watch television, so this was not much of an issue.

No doubt, we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

I want to thank you for always returning to us for your hotel needs when you come to the SWAP Meet. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here with us and took time out of your day to tell us about it.
We are looking forward to next year's SWAP Meet, as well as seeing you here with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 160 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

We don't travel all that much but there have been at least a dozen over night and longer stays in the past several months and we have found that it is generally hard to go wrong with a Holiday inn Express. Our latest stay was one of three days at the Jantzen Beach HI in Portland. This stay in early February was due to its proximity to Portland's Expo Center where the Pacific Northwest Sportsmen's Show was being held.

As has always been our experience at a HI Express, the facility was very clean and well maintained, the staff both friendly and helpful and the amenities such as the "standard' breakfast were above average and welcomed.

Just have not been disappointed or had bad experience at a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

I wanted to thank you for taking your time to fill out a review on your stay here with us. I know that your stay was quite a while ago, and I am so sorry that it took us this long to thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again on during your next visit to Portland, OR!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The location is a bit strange its next to storage facility and a decent size RV park. On the plus side it is close to a number of stores (Target etc) which is convenient. The hotel itself seems to need a bit of a refresh. The carpet in the room had lots of stains. It did seem clean overall. The heating was loud and the soundproofing could be better. We could hear the people on the floor above us every move. Overall if you are looking for a quick stay on a road trip its a good place to stay for the night.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jyssica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Jyssica S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is disappointing that we fell below your expectations on several aspects particularly with the soundproofing conditions and maintenance levels being sub par. I have taken note of your concerns and these shall be addressed with our team appropriately to consider for improvements needed in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is OK, the location is a bit strange, next to a rv parking place and a set of big box stores with large parking lots that were empty most of the time. But on the other hand, it was quiet and that helped to rest.
The staff -a lady- that checked our reservation and checked us in, seemed to be in a bad mood. She was not rude to us, but she didn't seem to care about us. I had to ask for the Priority Club welcome package as she didn't even noticed that on my reservation.
Breakfast was ok and rooms were fine too, but next time we should look for a different hotel in Portland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rovaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear rovaMT,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our staff and staying in our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience our service level has caused you and truly sorry for you did not find our location to your liking. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and you can be confident that corrective measures will be taken to improve our guest services.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our family are avid HI Express people and will stay in one if given the chance. After spent the day driving from N. California looked forward to this quiet, secluded HIE to relax in with the family. It is out of the way, in a good way, but is next to storage units, rv parking and a strip mall. That would have been alright if the staff and interior had been up to snuff. When we entered we we acknowledged yet not greeted. As Priority Club members we thought our stuff would be already set yet the two staff member had nothing ready and sniped at each other over the change over being the others fault. The front room was being redecorated but the moulding was also missing from the hallway with the replacement left undone halfway through the hallway and elevator. My daughter and I tried to find the way to the pool and even went outside and the staff never even looked up or asked to help. Breakfast the next day was set out wonderfully and the lady helper was wonderful but still very busy and she was the only person seen in the hotel....just weird. Family chalked it up to a bad night and all but still have to be honest........I cannot say I would come back......sorry

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doc0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear doc0205,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly work very hard to ensure our guests receive the very best service we can provide each and every day. Please accept our apologies that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was a nice, quiet hotel. I found myself in the Portland area for a couple of nights on my way to wine country and I had some work to do so I knew I'd need a nice, quiet place to stay. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. As always at Holiday Inn Express hotels the room was crisp and clean and the breakfast was great. It's in a bit of a strange area all by itself sort of in back of a huge development of stores that I couldn't tell if they were open or closed or soon to be open or just out of business.. Some of them (a nice new Target) were busy but others looked like they were just built and they tenant hadn't moved in yet; weird. But, there were a number of food choices in the general area and with the Target store, you had anything you'd need. I'd definitely stay here again if I found myself in the Portland area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Sorry for the delayed response but I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. most of those stores that you were talking about were in fact just built or rebuilt around the time of your stay, so there were quite a few that were empty at the time. Thankfully some of hte key stores (i.e. Targetand & Safeway) were open for just about anything that anyone may need while on the island.
Thank you for taking the time to fill out this review and we hope to see you again on your next visit here to the PNW area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

It was just on the outskirts of Portland but it was all too easy to drive into the city. The hotel was extremely clean and quiet. The breakfast was one of the best I've had for awhile (thoroughly cooked eggs and cinnamon rolls...yeah)! It's got lots of restaurant choices locally and a Starbucks to hit before jumping on the interstate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Traveler,

We're very thankful that you enjoyed your stay with us and shared your experience through TripAdvisor. May your next visit to a Holiday inn Express be just as enjoyable as your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Jantzen Beach was.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Portland North
Courtyard Portland North
#73 of 144 in Portland
32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North
Residence Inn Portland North
#76 of 144 in Portland
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Jantzen Beach
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach

Address: 2300 N Hayden Island Dr, Jantzen Beach, Portland, OR 97217-8286
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $133 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to theHoliday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located in Jantzen Beach, located in Portland, Oregon. We are within close proximity to many attractions as PIR Portland Intl Raceway, tax free shopping, Expo center and within minutes of downtown Portland. Our 74 room hotel features newly added Simmon pillowtop mattresses, a complimentary high speed Internet access with wireless in our public areas. Start your day off with with our complimentary deluxe SMART breakfast. We also offer an indoor heated pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness center and laundry facilities. Meeting space for up to 75 people. All rooms have high speed Internet access , mini refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, Iron & ironing boards, free HBO 25' TV and VCR and free local calls. We feature a business center complete with computer & printer with high speed Internet access. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing