We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place on the outskirts of Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach
Ranked #70 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good place on the outskirts of Portland”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here because the downtown hotel prices, particularly with parking, was more than double. The hotel is what you would expect at a Holiday inn Express, clean with a friendly staff. We were here on the weekend, and while the staff suggested we drive to a tram stop and take transit into town, we found that all day parking downtown on Saturday and Sunday was just $5. It was only a 10 minute drive into down on a weekend. The hotel served its purpose.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    70
    26
    5
    8
See reviews for
50
43
5
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Decent but unimpressive HI Express.
The price paid for the room was too much for the value received. However, I needed a room and took a chance on this hotel. I flew into Portland and would have stayed nearer the airport but other hotels were sold out.
Not recommended especially for the price, would seek another hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Phaser,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, AB
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We went to the timbers game and stayed here. Nice place. Wasn't too busy and was a nice comfortable stay out of the way from the downtown craziness. Separate room for us was a bonus for our family. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babskurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Only spent one night but the friendly, helpful front desk staff made it nice. The best continental breakfast I've had at a hotel. Nice pool, clean and comfortable rooms. Several dining choices near by. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrookeAnn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room was very spacious. The beds were comfortable. Plenty of extra pillows. The a/c wasn't working but as soon as we called front desk they came and fixed it. The breakfast is great...many choices. Not just doughnuts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent several nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Portland-Jantzen Beach. The room was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and we had absolutely no problems checking in. Our reservations always go smoothly as we make them on the Priority Club website. Thanks for another wonderful stay!

Being a member of the Priority Club has great perks!

I would suggest that they change the base of all the beds in their ADA compliant/wheelchair accessible rooms so that instead of having them sit on a solid base they would have traditional bed frames on wheels or a more open structure underneath it. Many wheelchair users use a type of lift called a Hoyer Lift to transfer out of our wheelchairs. In order to use it to get in and out of bed the two "legs" of the lift slide underneath the bed on it's own wheels. The bed bases that are solid don't allow the use of this device and it makes transferring very difficult. I'd be happy to provide more information if you need it.

We were able to use the Hoyer Lift in our room and it was a good thing! Our bed did not have a box springs and the bed was super low! I never would have been able to transfer in and out by myself!

Thanks again! We love your hotels and the ADA rooms are great! You are our "go to" brand!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 4badcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Typical Holiday Inn Express - the rooms were clean and large. Provides easy access to downtown Portland, either driving or using the light rail system. The stop was just 2 exits away and made it easy to get downtown. Not alot of eating places right around the hotel but some were close. Easy walk to a Target and Sports Authority. Quiet location. Receptionist was pleasant and check in was quick and easy. Received our 2 bottles of water for being a priority club member. Shame the water wasn't cold. Did not use the pool but did see some people in it. Breakfast was good except the pancake machine was out of batter. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwithchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your comments about your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jantzen Beach. We will make the efforts to keep the Priority Club bottles of water chilled and the pancake machine full. Once again, thank you for being a Priority Club member & we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach
Address: 2300 N Hayden Island Dr, Jantzen Beach, Portland, OR 97217-8286
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to theHoliday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located in Jantzen Beach, located in Portland, Oregon. We are within close proximity to many attractions as PIR Portland Intl Raceway, tax free shopping, Expo center and within minutes of downtown Portland. Our 74 room hotel features newly added Simmon pillowtop mattresses, a complimentary high speed Internet access with wireless in our public areas. Start your day off with with our complimentary deluxe SMART breakfast. We also offer an indoor heated pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness center and laundry facilities. Meeting space for up to 75 people. All rooms have high speed Internet access , mini refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, Iron & ironing boards, free HBO 25' TV and VCR and free local calls. We feature a business center complete with computer & printer with high speed Internet access. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing