We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach
Ranked #72 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
246 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room was very spacious. The beds were comfortable. Plenty of extra pillows. The a/c wasn't working but as soon as we called front desk they came and fixed it. The breakfast is great...many choices. Not just doughnuts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    68
    25
    5
    8
See reviews for
48
42
5
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent several nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Portland-Jantzen Beach. The room was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and we had absolutely no problems checking in. Our reservations always go smoothly as we make them on the Priority Club website. Thanks for another wonderful stay!

Being a member of the Priority Club has great perks!

I would suggest that they change the base of all the beds in their ADA compliant/wheelchair accessible rooms so that instead of having them sit on a solid base they would have traditional bed frames on wheels or a more open structure underneath it. Many wheelchair users use a type of lift called a Hoyer Lift to transfer out of our wheelchairs. In order to use it to get in and out of bed the two "legs" of the lift slide underneath the bed on it's own wheels. The bed bases that are solid don't allow the use of this device and it makes transferring very difficult. I'd be happy to provide more information if you need it.

We were able to use the Hoyer Lift in our room and it was a good thing! Our bed did not have a box springs and the bed was super low! I never would have been able to transfer in and out by myself!

Thanks again! We love your hotels and the ADA rooms are great! You are our "go to" brand!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 4badcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Typical Holiday Inn Express - the rooms were clean and large. Provides easy access to downtown Portland, either driving or using the light rail system. The stop was just 2 exits away and made it easy to get downtown. Not alot of eating places right around the hotel but some were close. Easy walk to a Target and Sports Authority. Quiet location. Receptionist was pleasant and check in was quick and easy. Received our 2 bottles of water for being a priority club member. Shame the water wasn't cold. Did not use the pool but did see some people in it. Breakfast was good except the pancake machine was out of batter. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwithchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your comments about your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jantzen Beach. We will make the efforts to keep the Priority Club bottles of water chilled and the pancake machine full. Once again, thank you for being a Priority Club member & we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Strange location for this property behind a shopping mall but it is quiet. Very easy to get downtown into Portland using the Max train system ($5) for a day pass.
The rooms are large and clean and the whole hotel is well maintained. Good choice for the Portland area.
Minor gripe in that the receptionist did not acknowledge my Priority club status (Its part of the programme) and no upgrade was made, she also had no idea how to work the safety deposit boxes...not a major issue and I would not let this put you off using the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lancs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the time to let us know. Thank you for being a Priority Club member and we sincerely apologize for not recognizing you at check-in. It is your comments regarding your status and the issue with the safe that will help us grow stronger in those areas. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
259 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Overall, I did have a nice extended stay. The staff is super helpful. There is a guest laundry. My room was very clean. Breakfast was good. The hotel is located in a quiet location with a secure-feeling lot.

However, sound seems to travel excessively here. The next room would leave their bathroom fan running, and noise came out of mine. The structure itself is a bit flimsy and needs some better sound insulation. I tried to tread lightly, as the floor seemed to make noise. Not everyone will be this considerate. Anyone shutting a door in the hallway can produce one heck of a booming noise.

Maybe it is just the things that are noticed more over an extended stay. That said, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iliketrdls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your extended stay with us. Regarding you experience with the noise ( traveling sound), we apologize for any discomfort that may have caused you. This information is very important to us and we will make efforts to improve in that area.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maple falls
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for a convention and I really had a great experience. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and location was easy on and off the highway. The free breakfast was well stocked and very nice as well. Had a great time!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toddycrackkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We geatly appreciate your business and the fact that you took the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. It is responses like yours that inspire us to continue to provide the best service and product that we possiblly can.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We came back from the pool and found sugar ants everywhere including our luggage. The front desk was quick to get us a new room across the hall. My husband spent over an hour shaking out all of our clothing and cleaning our luggage.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hargis-Swift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We greatly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. I am pleased to know that the 'suger ant' issue was resolved quickly and that you also have received a refund for one night thru 'IHG Guest Relations'. May your next visit to a Holiday Inn Express be a more enjoyable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Portlander Inn
Portlander Inn
#85 of 141 in Portland
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach
Address: 2300 N Hayden Island Dr, Jantzen Beach, Portland, OR 97217-8286
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to theHoliday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located in Jantzen Beach, located in Portland, Oregon. We are within close proximity to many attractions as PIR Portland Intl Raceway, tax free shopping, Expo center and within minutes of downtown Portland. Our 74 room hotel features newly added Simmon pillowtop mattresses, a complimentary high speed Internet access with wireless in our public areas. Start your day off with with our complimentary deluxe SMART breakfast. We also offer an indoor heated pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness center and laundry facilities. Meeting space for up to 75 people. All rooms have high speed Internet access , mini refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, Iron & ironing boards, free HBO 25' TV and VCR and free local calls. We feature a business center complete with computer & printer with high speed Internet access. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing