We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled by location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach
Ranked #77 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
282 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

This property is a great value if you don't have a need to be close to the action in Portland. Well run, clean, typical amenities for a HIExpress. We stayed here when most of the Portland hotels were full, including our usual spots, and found it to be a very satisfactory alternative. Only drawback is the traffic on I5 when returning during the afternoon or evening.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hollyrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    67
    24
    5
    8
See reviews for
46
40
5
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon's Central Coast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

For our spring break adventure, we purchased tickets to a Blazer game and to Wicked, but we didn't want to stay in the middle of the city, so I started browsing the web to find somewhere out of town, yet close enough that we wouldn't have to drive too far to get to our city destinations. After checking deals on Expedia, I finally settled on this hotel. Two nights in the middle of the week in one of their standard king rooms ended up costing $203 after tax...much cheaper than many of the other places I looked at!

We were very pleased with our stay at this Holiday Inn Express. The check-in process went smoothly and the staff was friendly and efficient. We enjoyed spending time in the pool and jacuzzi, and we were pleased that our room had a refrigerator. The bed was comfortable and there were no problems with the TV or bathroom. The sofa and table in our room were nice additions to make the place feel like a little home.

The location was easy to find thanks to signs that helped us know where to make turns. It's close to a variety of restaurants and shopping options, and we felt safe about leaving our car in the parking lot at night. We drove to a MAX stop nearby and rode in to the Blazer game, so you can easily get a room here and never have to worry about driving or paying to park in the city if you wanted to.

We had a great stay at this hotel and will definitely book a room here again when we head to Portland for some fun!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The room was a suite with microwave, refrigerator, couch and an extra bedroom. The room spacious, quiet and well designed.

The sink was outside of the bathroom giving us more convenience.

This was an exceellnt hotel we will stay at again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are very quiet and have little hallway traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Osborner546712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

So, I really wanted to give this hotel a 5. I really did. We were treated so very well, and made to feel that our happiness was the staff's only purpose. This is especially true of Tessa at the front desk. What a gem! She remembered names and details, and we only gave the information upon initial check-in. Automatically upgraded to a suite (Platinum members) with a welcome bag with good quality water bottles and snacks.

The room was beautiful. It was spotless - not a single piece of debris or place of mold. The furnishings were attractive and in good repair. There was a peek-a-boo view to the river. A/C was excellent. Keys worked first and every time.

Decent sized pool and hot tub that were spotless, warm, and in good repair.

But there were a couple of issues. First, the elevator broke down both days we were there. There's only one, and we heard some of the older folks who were on the top (4th) floor get very grumpy. Hey, things happen. Second, the coffee just plain sucked. Six pumpers with five the same rotgut flavor and the other one decaf. It was like mud, and tasted worse. Third, breakfast had some issues. The eggs were undercooked and left my companion squeamish for the rest of the day. The water from the juice dispenser tasted like it had been in a plastic cooler (in their defense, there was excellent cold bottled water available.) Bacon was put out in small amounts at a time -- meaning that the attendant had to constantly refill it. She seemed to be having a difficult time doing so (not dogging her - she was very nice; it was just too many trips back and forth for anyone to keep up with.) Same with the hard-boiled eggs. Worst of all, the pancake maker was out of order. I know, I'm beginning to sound like an ingrate. I'm not. It's just that I was so impressed with the service and really, really wanted to give this hotel the very top marks.

We'll definitely stay here again. I don't know why people complain about the location. Might be worse on a weekday, but the weekend traffic was just fine and the island is charming.

Room Tip: If you have someone who snores with you, it's worth the couple extra dollars for the family suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WAMarathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just off the freeway, but an adventure to actually find this place. Signage not the best, but the GPS on our phone finally got us there. Welcoming staff & very clean hotel & rooms. Very near to Portland airport, so lots of planes overhead. Great breakfast as usual.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 77gingergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

came in from Canada at 2;30 in the morning ,no reservations for a swap meet the manager had a suite with a noisy pump outside it had a jaccussi in the room, free breakfast even room to park your cargo trailer, gave me an awesome rate [didn't try to hose me like others might have ]made the trip a breeze thanks again loved the tub after ten hours walking

Room Tip: the pump hum lulled us to sleep in minutes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mudduck300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I've always come across so many Holiday Inn Express(es) scattered in North America (USA/Canada), but this is the first time i've actually stayed in one at Jantzen Beach, Portland.

Coming from LA/SEA with my sister and her family, where we visited our folks, she had previously booked us here for a two night stay, where our main purpose was to visit the Grotto, and do some tax free shopping later at Woodburn Outlets before we headed to their Vancouver home (I was a tourist from Manila).

The rooms were well kept and very clean (though the cleaning lady assigned to us was not very thorough at daily cleaning). A simple but filling and balanced breakfast came with the package. Staff at the reception were pleasant and accommodating.

This hotel, though situated a bit far from Portland's city proper, was strategically located, and was walking distance to a commercial center that had a Super Target (first time i came across a 2-story Target!), Toys R Us, Old Navy, Best Buy, Ross, and other commercial establishments that were most useful for transients/tourists who needed some spur-of-the-moment purchases.
And best of all, tax free! :)

It was a short, but satisfying stay at Holiday Inn Express Jantzen. Nothing fancy about this hotel, but cleanliness and affordability make it worth going back to in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulugirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
1.6 mi away
Portlander Inn
Portlander Inn
#85 of 138 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach
Address: 2300 N Hayden Island Dr, Jantzen Beach, Portland, OR 97217-8286
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to theHoliday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located in Jantzen Beach, located in Portland, Oregon. We are within close proximity to many attractions as PIR Portland Intl Raceway, tax free shopping, Expo center and within minutes of downtown Portland. Our 74 room hotel features newly added Simmon pillowtop mattresses, a complimentary high speed Internet access with wireless in our public areas. Start your day off with with our complimentary deluxe SMART breakfast. We also offer an indoor heated pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness center and laundry facilities. Meeting space for up to 75 people. All rooms have high speed Internet access , mini refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, Iron & ironing boards, free HBO 25' TV and VCR and free local calls. We feature a business center complete with computer & printer with high speed Internet access. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing