We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard corporate HIE experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)
Ranked #60 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Longview, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Standard corporate HIE experience”
Reviewed March 15, 2010

If you like a uniform corporate hotel experience, this Holiday Inn Express delivers in spades. This is not a bad thing, I travel over 100 nights a year and appreciate the reliability of a known product.

Overall this property delivers just what HIE's are designed to do, give the traveler a clean quiet place to stay for business. It is located very close to Portland International Airport and offers a free shuttle which was prompt, clean and the driver was courteous.

My room was clean, well maintained and provided a great work table to do my paperwork. More on this later. There is no restaurant on the property and you have the choice of a mediocre Chinese restaurant, or fast food, all within walking distance. The staff was great, but I did not have to deal with them beyond the check-in process. Parking was average.

My only complaint is the in room work area. It had the largest most uncluttered work table I have ever seen in in a HIE. It allowed me to spread out my work and be very productive. But when the room was laid out, an electrical and internet outlet was not installed at table height making it necessary to crawil under the table to plug these in. A small oversight, but very annoying after getting on your hands and knees to plug in for a multiple day stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank challenger27J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    99
    38
    4
    4
See reviews for
63
58
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

When we first pulled in, I wasn't sure if this place was gonna be nice. But boy was I wrong. The hotel is a tad old but for the price and location, it's well worth staying again. The staff was very nice and helpful. The woman at the front desk was discreet about our room number. Not all places do that. There is a small area with 2 computers we used to print out our boarding passes. Nothing fancy. Our room was very clean and updated. There is lounge and restuarant located in this hotel too! The food was good. I did read a review or two stating the food was bad. I enjoyed it! This hotel is close to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giggly711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We checked into this hotel when the temperature was 106 degrees! The air conditioner in our room was quiet & kept our room cool. As mentioned by other reviewers, this hotel is older than most Holiday Inn Express hotels but it is clean. The breakfast bar was ok - not as good as the one in Yreka, where we stayed the previous night. Most Holiday Inn Express hotels have a complimentary computer in the lobby - this one had 2 computers for guest to use. What I like most about Holiday Inn Express Hotels are the great showerheads, the choice of soft or firm pillows and reasonably comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2009

After a vacation trip driving the coast of Oregon, my husband and I decided on the Holiday Inn Express for the convenience of PDX airport and returning the rental car. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of our room and the great location in regard with the airport. The hotel staff was very friendly and extremely helpful in suggesting places to eat and doing some last minute sightseeing. We were concerned about the noise from overhead planes disrupting our sleep but that wasn't an issue at all. For a convenient, clean and comfortable stay close to the airport this is it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachRose15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel a few different times with my (now) husband. Our most recent stay was our wedding night because we were flying out of PDX the next morning for our honeymoon. The rooms are nice, the staff is friendly, beds are comfortable & clean, all around good quality you would expect from a holiday inn express. It's fairly close to the airport and they have free wi-fi as well as a free airport shuttle.

  • Liked — the jacuzzi suite
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smilelikeumeanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, FL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Not the best Holiday Inn Express, but good enough. A little older for the typical Holiday Inn Express, but clean and nice. We had a nightmare ordeal checking in after our flight was delayed and checked in at 2:00 a.m. The hotel could not get our room up on their computer, and wound up giving us two rooms to make up for the delay and hardship.

The staff tried hard and we got a good night's sleep so it all worked out. We are sold on Holiday Inn Express, the beds are great, and rooms are generally new and clean, this was clean, not new.

  • Liked — Very nice beds.
  • Disliked — They did not have a room with to beds avalible for us.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

We stayed here because we had an early flight to catch. The room was clean, parking was free, fast check in. Overall, a good stay. We were short a set of towels and called the front desk. It couldn't be delivered to the room for some reason. We had to pick them up ourselves from the front desk. It wasn't a problem, however, when we did go to pick them up, the person at the desk was blowing his nose and blowing his nose AND blowing his nose. He discarded his tissues and proceeded to hand our towels to us! Other than that incident, the stay was fine. It's an easy location to find and just minutes from the airport.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lehua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#46 of 141 in Portland
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)
Address: 11938 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only three miles from Portland International Airport, the Holiday Inn Express Portland Airport Hotel & Suites is just minutes away from Cascade Station, Portland s newest shopping and dining experience.Downtown Portland and all the attractions of the Rose City, including Portland s Famous Annual Rose Festival, the Rose Garden Coliseum & Portland Convention Center, Washington Park s World-Famous gardens, the Oregon Zoo, OMSI and more, are easily accessible from Portland s speedy MAX trains and award-winning public transportation service.The hotel offers a variety of amenities including complimentary Airport Shuttle Service, Park and Fly packages, Business Services and Recreational Facilities. Come enjoy a Great Night Sleep with our New Tempurpedic Premium Mattresses!Our complementary Express Start Breakfast Bar offers a selection of hot entrees like fluffy scrambled eggs, cheesy omelets, sausage patties, crispy bacon and sausage gravy with flaky biscuits to satisfy the heartiest of appetites... all complementary.For the Business Traveler, our Executive Rooms offers all the amenities you have come to expect upgraded décor, complimentary newspapers and high speed internet access. With all this and more, let the Holiday Inn Express Portland Airport Hotel & Suites be your Home Away from Home in the Rose City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area) Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing