We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place to stay for breakfast anytime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)
Ranked #52 of 140 Hotels in Portland
scottsdale
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Place to stay for breakfast anytime”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stay in Holiday Inn Express properties whenever I can. This one is your standard excellent hotel with the additional treat of a cold breakfast at anytime of the day or night. I had a very early flight so I needed to leave for the airport at 5 am. I was able to have cereal with a banana, yogurt, muffin or bagel and coffee, tea or milk before I caught the van for the airport. And they had a USA Today for me to read while I was eating. I thought that was impressive!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dontcallmeillcallyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    98
    37
    4
    3
See reviews for
62
56
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and parents and I stayed here for a night for a cousins wedding in early August. We got the family suite for the same price other hotels wanted for one king bed. The room was clean and large. It was nice to have a door between my parents bed and our bed. Complimentary breakfast in the morning and the business center with internet access was free, which I have seen that other hotels charge for. Front desk person at check in and check out was very nice. Convenient to the airport, but there werent many gas stations around to fill up the rental. Overall, I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aztravelers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2011

we've stayed at other HIE before and this one isn't any different. room was clean, lots of amenities.
they offered a free shuttle to and from Portland Intl Airport at 4:30 am
what was so nice was that they provided a breakfast at 4 am instead of their regular time of 6 am. there were muffins, bagels, toast, hard boiled eggs, milk, yogurt, juices, coffee, cereal. this was really appreciated in that our flight was leaving at 6:30 and we didn't want to pay the high prices of breakfast items at the airport.
we will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centralvalley101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

First let me say I have stayed at this property at least 5-6 times in the past few years. I choose it for location and my bias for HIE properties. I have gotten spoiled over time by the really top notch ones like Richmond BC and Spokane Valley so I am a tough critic. On arrival the front desk staff where efficient but no smiles or recognition for being a gold member or returning loyal customer. In fact now into day two of three I have yet to see a smile on any staff person and only the breakfast room attendent was slighly friendly. As I write this I am looking at wallpaper peeling off the wall and the desk chair arm is all chewed up on one side. There is a door between me and the next room which has a gap underneath at least a third to half inch wide allowing the light from that room and voices to come through. On the positive side the room is clean, the breakfast good and they gave me a quiet room at the back as I had requested but not on the top floor as I had asked for. I would rate this as an average HIE at best, but reasonably priced and convenient. With a half dozen big name competitors all around them, I may elect to try a different brand on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ProMetalSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
485 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Got in late due to flight delay, had to leave early.

The hotel is very convenient to PDX, clean, quiet.

Not much nearby but the airport.

Try the Cameo Restaurant on Killingsworth for a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshua b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I would recommend this hotel to my family and colleagues. I got a GREAT nights sleep and the guestroom had everything I needed...from a very comfortable bed, HDTV, stable HSIA, clean guestroom and I love the bath amenities.

Only recommendation is to update signage on 3rd and 2nd floor that there are no ice machines there and that they need to proceed to the 1st floor for ice.

Thanks again for a WONDERFUL stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSwanson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, MS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2011

In town for an unexpected funeral we were greeted by a caring, sympathetic staff that made our stay both comfortable and healing. The staff makes this hotel destination a constant in our travels for both business and personal stays. It truly is our home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksos843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#49 of 140 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)
Address: 11938 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only three miles from Portland International Airport, the Holiday Inn Express Portland Airport Hotel & Suites is just minutes away from Cascade Station, Portland s newest shopping and dining experience.Downtown Portland and all the attractions of the Rose City, including Portland s Famous Annual Rose Festival, the Rose Garden Coliseum & Portland Convention Center, Washington Park s World-Famous gardens, the Oregon Zoo, OMSI and more, are easily accessible from Portland s speedy MAX trains and award-winning public transportation service.The hotel offers a variety of amenities including complimentary Airport Shuttle Service, Park and Fly packages, Business Services and Recreational Facilities. Come enjoy a Great Night Sleep with our New Tempurpedic Premium Mattresses!Our complementary Express Start Breakfast Bar offers a selection of hot entrees like fluffy scrambled eggs, cheesy omelets, sausage patties, crispy bacon and sausage gravy with flaky biscuits to satisfy the heartiest of appetites... all complementary.For the Business Traveler, our Executive Rooms offers all the amenities you have come to expect upgraded décor, complimentary newspapers and high speed internet access. With all this and more, let the Holiday Inn Express Portland Airport Hotel & Suites be your Home Away from Home in the Rose City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area) Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing