We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Suites, Ignore the Outside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Lane Suites & Inn
Ranked #50 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed July 29, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Durwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 741 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2007

There is nothing ritzy about this motel. When we were there, we noticed that the paint was worn here and there, and the formica on the sink was a little chipped. It is *not* fancy.

But for the price, it is excellent, much nicer than anything else you'll find at the price, and unless you want posh, it's perfectly fine.

The double rooms have a great view of downtown Portland, it's near Hoyt Arboretum, it's walking distance from pubs and a grocery store and not far from downtown, including restaurants and the Saturday Market.

But the best thing is the customer service. Good customer service will keep me coming back and back and back. Before our first stay, a friend of ours recommended the place to us, so we went. It's become our official motel for Portland. The desk staff is friendly and competent. We felt cared for.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank marymactavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

I wonder at the people complaining about this motel - for goodness sake, it has rooms for under $50 (I paid $39 + 10 for my dogs.) The staff was kind, helpful, and responsive to the one. The rooms have some kind of non-air conditioner cooling unit that had trouble catching up the first night when the room had been shut and the cooling off, but it was fine the rest of the nights and when I called the front office about it they had someone over to look at the until within minutes, they moved me to another room, and they brought me a fan. While I would have rather had a real air conditioner, the value is still amazing. This is an older motel in a great neighborhood. It's clean, though the bathrooms need to be remodeled as the linoleum is water damaged and stained. But I'm not complaining, nor (I think) should anyone else. If you think you're going to pay $39-$49 dollars for a room off NW 23rd (nice neighborhood) in Portland and get a high end suite, you're wrong and (I think) you should be ashamed of yourself for complaining.

(PS: The image currently posted of a star-shaped building is not correct. The manager told me that she thinks this is a property in another city and that they haven't been able to change the posted image. This is a typical sixties motel in a neighborhood amongst beautiful old Portland mansions and newer high rise apartments and hotels.)

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank cynk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

Good price, good location, great view if you want a double. For solo travelers the rooms are on the street side and kind of noisy. Overall my advice: if you can sleep on anything (a hard pallet on the floor) - stay here! The beds are hard and lumpy. The rest is fine; I don't need 24 hr staff or shampoo- Ican bring my own. But a good's night sleep is everything, and not easy to do here.

Stayed: May 2006
1  Thank laurenangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Moonhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank escapefromsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GretchenHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#12 of 144 in Portland
1,097 reviews
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Northwest District
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,857 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#30 of 144 in Portland
1,991 reviews
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#10 of 144 in Portland
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Suites & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Suites & Inn

Address: 809 SW King Ave, Portland, OR 97205-1302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $106 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Lane Suites & Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic King's Hill, within the enchanting Goose Hollow neighborhood. Goose Hollow is one of Portland's original settlements. It shares the best attributes of both a city's downtown district and an established residential area, with its gorgeous homes of yesteryear, many of which are registered with the National Historic Register. On our western border, a short walk up leafy, tree-lined streets will lead you to Portland's renowned Washington Park, with its world famous International Rose Test Garden and Japanese Garden. Informal elegance within the heart of a remarkable city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Park Lane Suites & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hotel Portland
Park Lane Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing