We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Lane Suites & Inn
Ranked #46 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I am a Mother living in Northeast Ohio. I lost my job in June and have since started attending Youngstown State University. My funding depends on my attendance. My Daughter Amanda and her Fiance, Joy, live in Eugene, Oregon. When Washington passed the law allowing gay marriage, they decided not to wait any longer to get married. I felt horrible being so far away from her on her wedding day, so I called this Hotel to see if there was anything I could do for her all the way from Ohio. When I called, I talked to a wonderful employee named Shawn, who helped me make sure that my girls had everything they needed to turn the room into a Honeymoon Suite!! Flowers, Champagne, Vegan Cupcakes, the works!! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in this area!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBarber1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    323
    132
    45
    19
See reviews for
176
261
45
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Spent one night here on the way to the Oregon Coast (used Hotel Tonight to get a room). We stayed in a 5th floor one-bedroom suite. Friendly front desk people, room was decent and clean - had a mini kitchen with a full fridge, salt, pepper and olive oil provided. Walking distance to Powell's Books and Nob Hill restaurants, free parking, free wifi - what's not to like?

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms have nice view out from the walkway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, OR
Level Contributor
169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We recently stayed here as we were going to the Multnomah Athletic Center. It was only a short distance and totally walkable to get there from this inn. Parking is free and that is a plus as most downtown hotels charge around $30 a night. The front desk put us on the top floor as they said it would be quieter. It was a Saturday night so many staying there seemed to be drinking and stumbling down the walkway quite noiseily. I am thankful that we were given a top floor room as being under all the noise would have been awful. The next morning there was vomit not far from our door that we had to jump over in order to get to our car. On the plus side the room was clean and we did have hot water, not much pressure but hot!! The location was convenient for us but not sure I would stay here again it was just a little too minimal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

If it were possible I'd give this hotel 3.5 stars. It's totally fine, better than average (which is how tripadvisor describes 3-star reviews), but I can't really describe it as 'very good', which is the description tripadvisor allocate to 4-stars. I stayed on the Suites side for just over a week at Christmas 2012. The suites are roomy and functional, in a nice location (walking distance from Nob Hill, Pearl district and Downtown, lots of bars/eateries and shops nearby). My suite had a kitchenette (with a couple of packs of breakfast oats and some coffee by way of welcome), was clean and spacious, and was serviced pretty well throughout my stay.

I had a few reservations - my living room curtain didn't cover the full window (only the net curtain did), so at night, other guests walking pasts to their rooms could see in when the lights were on. My shower was ok but didn't have great water pressure. The central heating system was slightly eccentric - there didn't seem to be any way to set it on a timer, and then after I'd come to the conclusion it needed switching on manually, it started coming on randomly in the middle of the night. (In fairness, I didn't question this with front desk, so there may have been an explanation...). Also the front desk were super-friendly but not all that efficient - some laundry went astray for a couple of days, and I had to ask a couple of times for more dishwasher powder for my room.

Overall, I'd say it was fine if you're looking for a little more upmarket than basic, and it's probably good value for the area it's in, but look elsewhere if you're looking for frills.

Room Tip: There's a bit of a view if you're on one of the higher floors. Suites look a lot roomier tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samlowry1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A friend and I headed to Portland for a quick budget trip to visit friends. Great location... nice walk to downtown area and nearby shopping. Also 15 minute walk to waterfront. Basic room that was clean. One downfall was the windows were only draped with a very sheer covering and people walking outside could totally see in. We had to hang a blanket from the rod to get some privacy! But the rooms are facing outwards so not many people are walking by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhuey85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2012

When I would take a shower though there wasn't any hot water. I called the front desk and told me they would look at it and they never did. Also doesn't seem very sanitary place and it felt dirty. I come to Portland a lot and I will find another hotel to stay at. This isn't worth it

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alliechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

we stayed on the suites side of this hotel!! The neighborhood was great! We could park the rental and walk anywhere! Tons of bars/pubs/restaurants/Trader Joes all around!! Also the one bedroom suites have a separate bedroom with a door which is perfect if you kids and want to get them to bed early!!
Limited parking, but it was all good! DEFINITELY worth the price. Would stay here again and recommend! Awesome if you want to stay downtown and you don't have a downtown budget!

Room Tip: stay on suites side! Next time I would ask for a room with a downtown view window!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acorinne8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,027 reviews
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#10 of 141 in Portland
523 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,776 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 141 in Portland
1,920 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Suites & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Suites & Inn

Property: Park Lane Suites & Inn
Address: 809 SW King Ave, Portland, OR 97205-1302
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Lane Suites & Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic King's Hill, within the enchanting Goose Hollow neighborhood. Goose Hollow is one of Portland's original settlements. It shares the best attributes of both a city's downtown district and an established residential area, with its gorgeous homes of yesteryear, many of which are registered with the National Historic Register. On our western border, a short walk up leafy, tree-lined streets will lead you to Portland's renowned Washington Park, with its world famous International Rose Test Garden and Japanese Garden. Informal elegance within the heart of a remarkable city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Lane Suites & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hotel Portland
Park Lane Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing