We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple hotel with the basics on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Lane Suites & Inn
Ranked #48 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple hotel with the basics on a budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had booked this hotel as a last minute thing and had choosen this hotel due to its reviews, location and amenities. What we got was both nice and not so nice in ways. We has a one queen bed suite with breakfast and parking included. Now with that the breakdown:
PROS:
- Great location, right next to nob hill, rose garden and downtown.
- There is free parking, but really little and hence you need to get it early.
- The rooms are not too cramped and (the suite we had booked), had a functioning small kitchen perfect for small cooking and heating.
- The staff were really friendly and extremely helpful with requests.
- The room was clean (though could use some polishing, as there was rust on the door frames and the drawers creeked a bit).

Cons :
- The breakfast included was just a cup of oatmeal and orange juice kept in the rooms before hand.
- The parking is soo scarce that if you dont get it on the hotel then its would be a while to find street parking.

Overall: A very good hotel for its price, if you are aware of the small short comings and can plan for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vineet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    317
    130
    45
    19
See reviews for
173
255
45
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We only stayed here one night in one of the suites, and had a very pleasant stay. As others have said, the outside looks a little divey, but it's quite nice inside, with little touches to try and make it a very comfortable stay. I liked the little organic/local toiletries and oatmeal cups left for us, which gave it a bit of character. It is very well situated, near Forest Park. The bed was firm but comfortable and everything was clean. For the price, this place really can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guineverec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed in the smaller location across the street with me, my sister and her husband. Came for Brewfest, enjoyed all this location has to offer. The room seemed on the small side perhaps because there were 3 of us. Very clean and nicely equipped. Perfectly firm beds. Nice shower. Excellent location and FREE PARKING! Able to walk just about everywhere. Only bad note: Could not log onto hotel's wireless network on arrival; front desk person told me that's my problem and offerred no assitance in resolving it. Never tell a guest that! Their job is to do everything in their power to resolve a guest's problem. I was able to figure out the "work-around" needed to get the wireless working on my own, but the bad taste in my mouth from that person's handling of the situation remains.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the room 137.
When someone was walking on the room upstair, your heard everything. If he is dropping something it s make a noise enough to wake you.
The mattresses are old.
No coffee machine, no fridge, no breakfast.
Really basic.
2/5

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophiepelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Park Lane Inn and suites over the July 4th holiday.We went to Portland for the Waterfront Blues Festival which was fantastic. We picked the Park Lane because it was priced reasonably and had free parking, Wifi and breakfasts. Rooms were clean but very "tired" Bathroom, carpets and furniture could all use and updating. Maid missed our room completely on the first day (no biggie s#%t happens) was fine the rest of our stay. They have discontinued the continental breakfast but they leave two orange juice and two Oatmeal (yummy) in the kitchen. on day 2 when they forgot to clean our room I went down and asked for our oatmeal and they gave me some but said that it was only in the room on the first day like a welcome gift.which I thought was a bit weird. if you didn't get one of the 20 parking spots in the main lot the overflow was a block and a half away. Again no biggie we came home late every night so never expected the Hollywood spot. Location was okay but we were a mile or so from downtown. Pricing was good (2 bedroom suite - $170) on the plus side it was very quiet with very little traffic noise. Full kitchen was clean and well equipped.

Room Tip: Higher floors (4 5 & 6) would have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boltergiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, bc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Park Lane. The 1 bedroom suite was lovely - very new and modern, with all the amenities of a 5 star hotel. We were pleased to find a safe in the room, very nice toiletries, and the kitchen well equipped. The bedroom was quiet, being on the back side of the building, and the bed was very comfortable. Television in both rooms. Free internet access in the lovely cool lobby. Excellent location - walking distance to everything. Leave your car in the free parking and use the transit system, or walk. Be sure to see 23rd street in Nobb Hill - a very short walk away.
Excellent breakfast and coffee at the Elephant Deli, across the street from the hotel.

Most importantly, the staff were so friendly and helpful, right from the initial booking, to the checkout. I would not hesitate to recommend this place; best deal in town. You may email me with questions.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite, 3rd floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria_bcAvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
97444
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We booked a 4 night stay to explore Portland. The location is in the heart of downtown with easy access to the TriMet Max lines and local bus lines. We found this to be the easiest way to get around the downtown area.
This is a clean but no-frills hotel. Our room had 2 nice queen beds. However, DON'T expect a coffee maker (coffee is available across the street) an extra table or chairs, or a refrigerator.
Internet access was free and available in the room. The front desk staff, especially Charles and Andrew, were most helpful in helping us plan our days in Portland.
If you are planning to stay for several days, be aware that the cleaning staff is limited and does the repeat room last. We were disappointed when we arrived back at 4:30 and the room wasn't made up. However, our request to have it made up earlier the next day was honored.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thass97444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#40 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Suites & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Suites & Inn

Property: Park Lane Suites & Inn
Address: 809 SW King Ave, Portland, OR 97205-1302
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Lane Suites & Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic King's Hill, within the enchanting Goose Hollow neighborhood. Goose Hollow is one of Portland's original settlements. It shares the best attributes of both a city's downtown district and an established residential area, with its gorgeous homes of yesteryear, many of which are registered with the National Historic Register. On our western border, a short walk up leafy, tree-lined streets will lead you to Portland's renowned Washington Park, with its world famous International Rose Test Garden and Japanese Garden. Informal elegance within the heart of a remarkable city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Lane Suites & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hotel Portland
Park Lane Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing