We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shilo Inn Rose Garden
Ranked #100 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for two nights this year, and one last year. Last year was not so impressed, double queen room seemed crowded. This year had a king room on the second floor facing south, and it was clean, brighter, uncluttered and big enough, with fast wireless internet. Cleaning staff seemed to do a very good job, and air conditioning was fine in the hundred degree heat. Was a little disappointed that the Steel Bridge is closed for repair so MAX couldn't whisk you right downtown, but walked across the Steel Bridge pedestrian and bicycle walkway over the Willamette to and from downtown (about 20 minutes), which gave beautiful views and a different perspective on the town. Hotel is in the downtown free fare zone, so you can take transport free all over downtown area, don't need a car.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank seattlefan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 214 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2008

The room I stayed in was tiny and way overpriced. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. Overall this was the worst experience I've ever had in a hotel. I will never stay at a shilo hotel again, I will sleep in my car first.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room was large, shower/toilet area very small. Able to hear street noise mostly during day hours. Newly renovated. Free parking and free continental breakfast. Friendly staff. We got up late one morning so maid service did not clean our room that day. Nearby 711 and starbucks. NO bed bugs! Hotel was cheap! Worth the price. If all you need is a cheap clean place to stay, then this is the place for you! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jaw40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We stayed at Shilo Inn Rose Garden last summer for 3 or 4 nights. Everything about the experience there was top notch. Upon check-in the front desk staff was very kind. Our TV remote didn't work so they were able to find new batteries for us very quickly. The hotel room itself was quite large and the rooms were very clean. Before we started our day the Shilo Inn provided their guests a complimentary breakfast. No complaints as it included cereal, bagels, danishes, coffee and juice. At the front desk there was also a basket of apples and oranges which was very convenient. The location is not in the Downtown area but it's within walking distance of the MAX rail free zone which was part of why we booked our stay there.

The one downside is that the washroom is very small but it's not a big deal. When we checked out there was a bit of confusion for the rate we were supposed to pay but it was eventually solved. Overall, the stay was top-notch and the hotel was worth every penny. Next time I'm in Portland I will look to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wesleywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Just got back from a 9 day stay at the Shilo Rose Garden. We picked this place based on reviews here and have to agree: The place is nice and comfortable, newly renovated and quite affordable. The neighborhood is not the finest, there were some homeless people around, but the 7-Eleven is right across which was very convenient. The Max rail is also in walking distance.
Unfortunately we had bad luck with the housekeeping service. Two days our room hadn't been touched at all, other days only half the room was cleaned. The coffee machine was never cleaned, nor were the cups replaced or the items restocked. The sink was never even wiped down. The room was not vacuumed at all, until our last day, after we had complained three times. The manager promised us a discount and when we checked out we received $16.88.
So, I can't recommend it for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travellore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Had a great two-night stay at the Shilo Rose Garden. Room was comfortable, bathroom was especially pristine - shiny new marble tiling in the shower/tub and lots of hot water. Sink is in the room itself, so lots of room for spreading out makeup supplies if you need it. AC was efficient and relatively quiet - window also opened for fresh air when I wanted it. Bed comfy and plenty of towels. Front desk and check-in was friendly, I was the beneficiary of a new hire being trained - she did just fine. Fresh fruit at the desk if you wish and bottled water, which I have to admit I thought was complimentary, though there was a somewhat well-hidden sign at checkout claiming it was $1.50/bottle - sorry folks! Didn't try the complimentary breakfast as I prefer something more substantial; there is a Holiday Inn right across the street with a full service restaurant. Other restaurants and shops in the vicinity within walking distance.

Hotel is within walking distance to the convention center, the MAX light rail and the bus. Portland is a most progressive city when it comes to efficient public transportation.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RayBannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2007

This was a family overnight trip to see the Blue Man Group performing in Portland. For the price, I wasn't expecting a great room. Boy was I surprised! Recently remodeled, this was very clean, very comfortable, and the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. It was within walking distance to the Memorial Coliseum, Rose Quarter, and several good restaurants. Our church was just across the street. Great continental breakfast. Easy access to freeway and major thoroughfares. Since the hotel is on a busy street, I thought it would be noisy, but it was very quiet. Some may think having the ice machine on the first floor inconvenient. Also, the bathroom is a little small, but cleanliness easily makes up for that. This was our first experience with the Shilo Inn chain, too, but it won't be the last. We will definitely stay here again - soon, I hope! We felt very safe and secure here.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank M.A.55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at the Convention Center
#75 of 144 in Portland
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Rose Garden

Address: 1506 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1133
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $91 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shilo Inn Rose Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Shilo Inn Rose Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Portland Rose Garden Hotel Portland
Portland Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing