We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shilo Inn Rose Garden
Ranked #98 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Klamath Falls
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fair deal”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Reasonable rate and generally comfortable accommodations not far from downtown and associated attractions. Tiny bathroom required some contortions to enter room and still close the door. Continental breakfast inspired me to go to nearby Wendy's for breakfast for the duration of my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    65
    47
    36
    28
See reviews for
45
62
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington state
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The building is permeated with mold. Hits you instantly as the first experience when you walk in the lobby, continues into the hallway, and was still present in the room. Bed smelled of mold. By the third day I had a headache, developed a fever, had inflamed sinuses and was nauseated. Cleared up within hours of checking out.

Booked two queen bed room through Expedia months prior to my stay, pre-paid, with a guaranteed late arrival. when I checked in (at 6pm, earliest checkin was 4pm) I was told no two queen bed rooms were available. I was offered a single King and a sleeper sofa, which was unacceptable, and was given a room described as two queen beds but they were two full size beds. Room was set up for two guests, we had to request extra towels, glasses, coffee mugs, etc. to accommodate all three of us.

Faucet in the tub/shower nearly came off. Operable but just barely.

No elevator.

Minimal, skimpy continental breakfast.

Room Tip: No elevator to the second floor. If you have alot of luggage or have difficulty with stairs, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SocialTraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear SocialTraveler85,

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for your experience.

The property is recovering from a pin size leak in a main hot water line under the building. This leak was so small that it went undetected. I apologize that this affected your enjoyment of the property.

Our Portland Rose Garden suites hotel offers rooms with only king or queen size beds.

I would be happy to offer some sort of resolution for your inconvenience if you wish to contact me by phone. Please feel free to contact me at the property at anytime.

Sincerely,

Gary Sorrels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

It was our first visit to Portland, my husband & I arrived late in the PM. Not knowing when we'd arrive, we found ourselves in the Convention District across from the Shilo. Walking in off the street, we found the staff to be excellent, very friendly and helpful. Our room on the 2nd floor was quiet, the room clean. We were looking for "simple, no frills", and found the beds were comfortable, the desk convenient and the air conditioner quiet. Happily breakfast was plentiful and the parking free. Leaving our car at the hotel (free all day!) the front desk recommended the All Day On/Off ticket on the trolley lines, pointed us in the right direction with lots of site seeing recommendations. Our first trip to Portland was great and we'd definitely stay at the Shilo again.

Room Tip: Stay on 2nd floor. Go early to breakfast to grab a seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitsBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear KitsBay,

Thank you for your review and being our valued guest. I sincerely appreciate reading your comments and will pass them along to the Rose Garden team.

We look forward to your next stay and appreciate your choosing Shilo Inn Rose Garden.

Sincerely,

Gary Sorrels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My family (Husband and two daughters 3 years and 1 year) just spent 3 nights in this motel. We were given a 2nd floor room, so after packing all the stuff one would need for three nights with two small children up a flight of stairs we entered our room which had a horrible smell of urine. It was late, and we had just packed our sleeping children up to the room with all our stuff, so we opened the window only to find that we did not have a screen! Not all the safe when you have a three year old with you. Opening the window helped with the smell so we decided to set our stuff up and deal with the room in the morning. When my husband pushed the bed against the wall so our three year old would roll off we found a whole trash cans worth of garbage under the bed. Hot Cheetos, a bag from said Cheetos, used tissues and a myriad of other things. I went to set up the playpen and the carpet had obviously not been cleaned/vacuumed in a long time. Since my baby is just starting to walk, she had to spend the entire time in the play pen (we brought from home) because I would not let her down on the floor. During the time of our stay it was over 100 degrees in Portland, so we HAD to turn on the air conditioner...and what do you know the urine smell returns. Someone had urinated in our A/C. Fun times. We told the man at the front desk and he discounted us $10 for our entire stay. I think in your "Recent Renovation" you skipped over room 220! Horrible stay, dirty and we won't be back.

Room Tip: There is not swimming pool or fitness center at this hotel, but you are allowed to use the facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Katy B,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for your experience.

I am deeply concerned about the items you mention and am currently investigating further with the Rose Garden team. I would like an opportunity to resolve this satisfactorily and invite you to contact me personally for further resolution. Please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience and they will provide you the necessary contact information.

Sincerely,

Gary Sorrels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I just spent 4 nights there. It was very nice. Clean rooms, plenty of hot water, close to everything. Like some reviewers have mentioned a little noisy. If the people above you walk "heavy" you will hear them. I sugget you get a top floor room so you will be the "heavy" walker. No frills, but if you need a nice clean place to rest after a full day of fun for a very good price, I highly recommend this place. We would stay again if back in Portland. Oh, the bathrooms are very small, but that was not a big deal. If you are a XL type person you might have some trouble.

Room Tip: Get second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Howell D,

Thank you for being our guest at the Shilo Inn Rose Garden. I sincerely appreciate your patronage and review. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Gary Sorrels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

On a recent trip to Portland for a conference at the Oregon Convention Centre, I decided to try out the Shilo Inn Rose Garden. It's a small hotel -- only 44 rooms -- but my room was very recently renovated, with a reasonable sized bathroom, plenty of clothes-hanging space, comfortable working desk and air conditioning.

The hotel is three small blocks walk from the convention centre, which makes it a great choice for conferences. The MAX light rail line offers free public transport from the convention centre into the city centre.

The bed was King-sized, and very comfortable. My room, on the second floor, facing the car park, was also very quiet, which is convenient too.

There's no fitness centre within the hotel, but it seems as though guests are welcome to use those of the Crowne Plaza, which is just across the road.

A simple continental breakfast is available free of charge -- things like bagels, cereal, etc.

I'd be very happy to recommend this hotel for anyone needing an excellent room close to the convention centre.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms will have less ground-level noise. The location is reasonably quiet, so all rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisjrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear chrisjrn,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of the Shilo Inn Rose Garden. I sincerely appreciate hearing your comments.

I am pleased to pass along your observations to the team and ecstatic to see the word excellent mentioned in regards to the staff. I will thank them personally for a job well done.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Portland.

Sincerely,

Gary Sorrels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Unlike another reviewer's experience when attending the Barbershop Convention from 7/3/12 through 7/8/12, my husband and I were very happy with the accommodations at Shilo Inn. I will admit I was skeptical because of the very reasonable nightly rate ($89 vs. $150 + at other hotels in the area). However, we found a fully renovated small hotel with nice room and a great bed. Room contained a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker as well as a full-sized iron and ironing board. The big plus was the availability of coffee, juice, cereal, bagels etc. in a small breakfast room - all gratis. Jason, the manager, was extremely pleasant and helpful and allowed us to stay in the room past check-out time. The location is also very convenient to the Convention Center and the Rose Garden.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room when we booked on-line and that is what we got. The manager remembered th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carribeancats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Carribeancats,

Thank you for your review. I sincerely appreciate your taking the time.

I was ecstatic to hear your comments and am excited to pass them along to the team. I will personally thank Jason for his customer service.

Thank you for being our valued guest and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Gary Sorrels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#75 of 142 in Portland
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Rose Garden

Property: Shilo Inn Rose Garden
Address: 1506 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1133
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Shilo Inn Rose Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shilo Inn Rose Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Portland Rose Garden Hotel Portland
Portland Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing