We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #3 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Wonderful Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

Just returned from a long weekend stay at the Monaco. This is a very comfortable hotel with a cheerful, accommodating staff of professionals. Timmy, the mascot Labrador, is a big plus, along with his four legged guests. A nice touch if you miss dogs left back home! The evening wine party is cozy in a nice lounge with a piano and roaring fire. I was lucky to get a beautiful suite on the top floor. Quiet, roomy and very luxurious without being stuffy, with a great bathroom. The heavy, animal print robes are nice, and I had a cute teddy bear as a guest for my stay. The location is perfect. Two blocks from a MAX stop from the airport and right in the middle of everything downtown and a short walk to the Pearl and NW areas. There are other nice hotels in Portland, but if you can get a good rate at the Monaco it will surely not disappoint!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuakerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,278
    503
    116
    46
    17
See reviews for
564
1,265
203
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

My recent stay @ the Hotel Monaco was a fantastic experience. All I have to say is SERVICE! Each and every employee was generous in their greetings & genuine interest in how our day was. I was really lucky to have stayed during the holiday season; the lobby's tree is beautiful. The atmosphere is relaxing but elegant. It's clean and comfortable. Never mind that they allow dogs (which ranks super high in my book) ... but the fact they have a wine & beer reception EVERY evening. Come on… now that's worth a shot @ this hotel. I found the access to be very easy for driving in or around the city. Everything is within walking distance & getting a cab is a breeze. Be sure to ask anyone @ the hotel if you’re looking for something specific, if they don't know they will find someone who does. Thumbs up for the business traveler, leisure traveler or traveler with pets. I will definitely stay again @ The Hotel Monaco!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flwrs4zoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

My company had booked a corporate rate with this hotel so I didn't have a choice of where to stay in Portland for my first ever visit. They chose the Hotel Monaco for me and I'm really glad they did. I was blown away by the Hotel's service, style and comfort.
Check in was quick and friendly. They took my Kimpton number down and associated it with the room (which my travel agent neglected to do) and proceeded to give me a wonderful corner room not too many floors up (just high enough for a view but not too high that the elevator stops too many times on the way up to the floor). The girl at the front desk was so friendly I thought she was genuinely into me and possibly going to ask me out to dinner (she didn't though). The room was just the right size and the large bathroom was superbly designed and spotlessly clean.
The second night I stayed I got out of work early enough to partake in the complimentary early evening wine service offered in the lobby. A very nice touch many big name hotels would never offer. The wine selection was basic but good. As an animal lover, I appreciated the little jar they put on the table beside the wine service for optional donations to a local animal charity.
At the end of my stay checkout was a breeze and the valet pleasantly insisted on ensuring I had directions to the airport and a gas station on the way even though I mentioned I had a GPS.

A-plus service

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler34MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights over the Thanksgiving holiday. My husband's family is from Portland and we wanted a central location to all the relatives. Hotel Monaco provided a unique experience. We had a corner room which offered two hugh windows. Even when the days were overcast, we had a tremendous amount of light, quite a treat in a city with so much rain. The day after Thanksgiving, we heard Christmas carols from outside our window. When we looked out, we were able to view the entire Portland Holiday Parade from our window.
The downstairs lobby, complete with fireplace, offered a wonderful atmosphere to have a moment of relaxation, while we drank our morning coffee.
The staff were all outstanding.
I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORGINANYC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

I recently stayed at the Hotel Monaco and was very happy with the friendly and warm service in every department. The decor is fun and the lobby area was beautifully decorated for the holidays. The front desk staff were helpful, the restaurant had a happy hour with snacks to die for. The food and service was 5-star. I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAT154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

From the moment of even approaching the front doors I felt as though the staff was waiting solely for me. I was greeted with a smile from the moment I was in their sites, as they welcomely opened the front doors, as I walked up the corridor to the front desk, and from each encounter thereafter. The staff are sincere in their willingness to help, knowledgeable, and professional. The room was very comfortable, the bed was even more comfortable, and it was extremely clean (and I'm a bit of a neat-freak). I didn't have the chance to enjoy their food, but did share a nice bottle of wine. I arrived early and they got me settled in an available room, no problem. I went out to explore the city and came back a couple of hours later to a friendly amenity...a beautiful Japanese Fighting Fish. It made the room even more lively and was sad to leave him/her behind. I did not have a pet, but they were lots of dogs there that were made just as welcome as their human counterparts.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripmcleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

We came in to Portland to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday. She's from Montana so going to Portland was special treat and the Hotel Monaco was a delightful, centrally located hotel that offered everything we could have wanted for our weekend stay. It was the start of the Thanksgiving weekend so extended families met there and the lobby was full of happy memories being made the evening we joined the hosted wine tasting. The rooms were very comfortable and cheery. Portland is pretty quiet Thanksgiving morning but the concierge had a list of restaurants offering breakfasts waiting for her guests’ before we could leave the front door. Tim, the Lobby Lab, a very well behaved dog, was there to receive a pet from his visitors and set the mood of an quiet dignified hotel expressly there to see that their visitors are well taken care of and that every need look after.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdgredvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing