We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #3 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Spectacular”
Reviewed September 30, 2010

This hotel offers an amazing location, great customer service, excellent perks (beer and wine hour from 5-6 nightly) really unique and nicely appointed rooms and did I mention great customer service? The beds are fabulously comfortable, the rooms are hip and funky yet really tasteful and comfortable. The hotel is very clean and very green which is important to me these days. They have a house dog who is often there to greet you upon arrival and they are pet friendly which I think is cool. They offer really nice coffee in the living room in the morning (the living room is a really comfy and hip spot where they have their wine hour at night). I have been here two times already and I can't wait to go back. I have recommended it to my family and they have absolutely loved it. The price is worth it for sure. I have stayed at many hotels in Portland and this is my absolute favorite.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dom4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanKMonaco, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, October 2, 2010
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. Yes you did mention the customer service! (Twice) I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the staff took such wonderful care of you. We love the fact that we are your favorite. Your review is hanging in our back office for everyone to see. We will see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,317
    511
    117
    46
    19
See reviews for
576
1,288
204
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Took my sweetheart here for an overnight for his birthday. We took the train from Seattle to Portland taking advantage of their Amtrak train package. The hotel was easy to located either by walking (which we did) or by the free public transportation. I had noted when I made the reservations online that it was a birthday treat for my sweetheart. After we checked in we were pleased to find a complimentary chilled bottle of very nice champagne for us to enjoy along with a little snack. We enjoyed their central location to shopping, entertainment, and sight seeing. We had lunch and breakfast at the adjoining Five Star restaurant which also had excellent service and great food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogamap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregonian
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Went for mostly business and a little pleasure. The entire staff with whom I interacted were helpful, happy and professional. The rooms were clean, good water pressure on the shower and a very comfy bed. Also, the the wine hour is a great perk!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

A luxury hotel that is dog friendly and committed to customer satisfaction. What better way to say welcome than Timmy the yellow lab greeter. The staff was helpful, courteous, friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allegra061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our short one night stay at the Monaco. All of the employees were so helpful and friendly, the decor was very nice but not pretentious, we liked the dog in the lobby - makes the hotel feel warm and inviting - the location couldn't be better. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Portland. One of the best hotel experiences I've had in a long time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmac1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

When we visit Portland, we splurge on a downtown hotel for at least 3 days of our stay. The Monaco Hotel lived up to all its kudos. (we had been there in the past when it was 5th Ave Suites - it's totally renovated now) Everyone and everything was fabulous from check-in to check-out. All of the staff seems genuinely friendly and very helpful. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Rooms are big and decor is fun and different. Also there is free wine tasting for people staying at the hotel.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katye1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing