We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was a garbage dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2007

Stayed 2 nights instead of 4. Hotel was so dirty and was NOT remodeled as advertised and the staff comped us FREE for 2 nights. Upon arrival there was a huge amount of hair in the beds.
The couch was so wet and stained you could not sit on it. The bathroom was COVERED in black mold and the floor was covered in a large amount of hair. The horrible smell in the room could kill a person. The chair by the desk was wet and stained and the drapes were stained. They claimed the "remodel" was new carpeting and that was it. Lobby was nice. The 2nd day housekeeping had to come back 3 times to clean the room. Upon going to bed I found a rusty screw about 4 inches long was in the bed. Sawdust was all over the floor and all over the bed and on the nighttable. The maint dept fixed the broken headboard and no one cleaned up the rust or screws left in my bed. The staff was appaled when they saw the room and said we would have no bill for either night. Stay anywhere even a super 8 would have been better. I have never had 3 sets of linens dirtier then the next. Beware also, they are a "green" hotel and use no cleansers that sanitize or clean. Just wipes and H2O. Buyer Beware.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Lisacpnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,035 - 3,041 of 3,151 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2007

This hotel was fabulous! We travel with our dog quite often and I have to say that the pet friendly atmosphere here was simply amazing! Dog treats were delivered to our room as soon as we arrived. There were a few annoying things for us - delayed check-in (room not ready on time) and the room was arranged in a strange manner (hard to watch TV from bed because of how narrow the room was) but these things were far outweighed by 1) location 2) overall decor of hotel (super stylish!) 3) pet friendly atmosphere and 4) awesome customer service. A charge was attributed to our room incorrectly when we were billed and when I followed they took it off immediately and sent me a personalized email inviting me back to stay again. Also, the concierge rocked and picked us a fabulous restaurant. Overall, I gave a five star rating because of the custormer service. Well worth the price.

Stayed: April 2007
Thank cgstine33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

We have stayed at the 5th Avenue Suites / now the Monaco Portland, a total of about 30 nights over the past year and a half.

We have never had a bad stay, the rooms, the service and the staff are just great!

We have stayed at the hotel twice with our dog and once stayed on the 3rd floor, which is the pet floor.

It is also the floor where business meetings take place. Our last stay was at the end of April, we had our dog with us. The 3rd floor as well as the elevators and lobby had no smell at all of dogs or anything else.

The hotel is kept spotlessly clean and I rarely see that many dogs there , aside from the "hotel dog" and mine. I would stay at the Monaco again, without hesitation.

Stayed: April 2007
4  Thank ScarlettO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2007

Best stuff:
- friendly and helpful service at door and front desk
- free early evening wine/beer in reception lounge 7 days/week, with helpful, friendly service
- free morning coffee in reception lounge
- free wifi
- great bed and linens
- wide flat screen TV
- close to transit services
- plenty of restaurant options close-by

Not so great stuff:
- badly water-stained headboard
- peeling wallpaper in bathroom, low water pressure in shower. toiletries are from L'Occitaine, not Aveda
- just a few channels on TV
- mini bar didn't lock, despite changing keys 3 times
- maid service sketchy. couldn't speak English. asked for supplies to be replenished in room as she hadn't done so, but she referred us to front desk. they couldn't understand why the maid had referred us to them as she had all the supplies on her cart! they did get the supplies replenished for us though.

Stuff to consider/check out before you go:
- very noisy during the week, with long-term construction right outside hotel. apparently the light rail service is being extended to run right outside. also lots of noise from outside at night.

It wasn't bad, but not sure if we would stay there again or not, considering the room rates.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank ednacloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

The hotel is in a great location to enjoy the Downtown Portland area but that's about it. The Hotel staff seemed courteous but were not very knowledgeable. They tried to put us in a Queen Suite instead of the King one we booked. We love animals but were surprised to see two large dogs going crazy in the lobby and one of them had an accident in the elevator. We were on the 3rd floor and when you got off of the elevator you were overwhelmed by the smell. It was a mixture of animals and carpet shampoo! The bathroom was even worse and they didn't clean it or restock the toilet paper while we were there. I was not a fan of the decor at all! The clashing colors and patterns make your head spin. Their website said they stock Aveda bath amenities but the staff didn't know anything about it. They also charge you for the New York Times they deliver! I would definitely not stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Royston5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

Stayed at the Hotel Monaco in April for a family vacation. Excellent location, right in the heart of downtown. Portland is a walkable city, so it was easy to travel on foot from the hotel to Powell's/ Pearl District/ 23rd. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. We didn't have any problems with noise in our room (8th floor). Staff was incredibly efficient and friendly, especially Emily at the front desk. The toiletries were luxurious - L'Occitane shea butter. Overall, it was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Gramercy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2007

This was my second stay at the Hotel Monaco. After trying other places in downtown Portland, I'm convinced this hotel meets and exceeds all my needs. Instant parking in the underground garage is a huge plus and on a rainy day you can pull in under cover, receive courteous valet parking, and be quickly on the way to your room. The new remodel inside the hotel is eclectic, bright and cheery. I call it British Colonial goes Chinese! Some interesting combinations of colors and patterns that might shock your eyes, but you can't beat the comfort, ammenities, and friendliness of this hotel. The room was spacious and since this was a mother/daughters weekend there was plenty of room for three of us to spread out in the "Two-doubles-plus-sofa-bed" suite. The bathroom could have been more roomy as there was only one sink, but it was adequate. We asked for extra towels and got them immediately. We also requested a local paper and it was delivered within minutes on Sunday morning. We dined one evening in the Red Star Restaurant downstairs and found the service to be a little slow, but the food was excellent. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. The Monaco is within easy walking distance of all the big stores, restaurants, coffee houses, and interesting downtown sights.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CeciliaMarieW.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,753 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 144 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 144 in Portland
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $182 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing