We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh How I MIss Thee Comfy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2010

From the moment my husband, cat and I arrived we felt well taken care of. The staff obviously cares about pets. Who knew we could stay at such a nice place even while traveling with our fur baby! Now we know we don't have to settle for motels since there isn't that big of a price difference. It's so worth paying the extra bucks for such comfort. Oh the robes, the robes!!! How I miss thee!

For free Wi-Fi become a Kimpton member. When we stayed the hotel also gave us a $10 voucher to raid the honor bar.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EveJaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,765 - 2,771 of 3,168 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2010

so fun, great location, staff was amazing, beds were comfy...the room was GORGEOUS!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenjenbobdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Chose this hotel for celebrating my birthday and it was a perfect weekend stay. The corner suite we had on the 8th floor was very spacious and let in lots of natural light from the two windows. The lobby has plenty of room for mingling and relaxing. The staff are exceptionally courteous and helpful and really exemplify the Kimptom philosophy in how they treat their guests. Loved the dog cutout chalkboard in the entrance that listed the names of the pets that were staying. We were able to use a parking garage just a few blocks down from the hotel which saved quite a bit over the hotel's valet parking. Found a gem of a restaurant on 3rd and Washington called Morning Star cafe--excellent food and service as well as very reasonable for what we had.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ish17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Kimpton should be embarrassed to have this hotel bear its corporate name.The hotel is old, the rooms distasteful in decoration and decor, the pet friendly policy abused with dogs barking throughout the night, and a front desk agent that was snippy and condescending during check-in. Last night, we thought we were sleeing in a kennel, given the noise of barking dogs in nearby rooms. It was the worst hotel experience that we have had in 20 years of travel. Don't stay here. There are plenty of options in the area that have to be better.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron123Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanKMonaco, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2010

I am sorry you had the experience you described in your review at our hotel. Yes we are pet friendly but understand and respect those who do not wish to be near dogs. We have designated 8 out of our 9 guestroom floors to be non pet floors for this very reason and I apologize that you were checked into a pet friendly floor. We also politely ask our guest to not leave pets unattended in our guest rooms and appears that a few of our guest did not respect our policy. Please feel free to contact me directly, I would like to make up for your disappointing stay.

Ryan Kunzer
Asst. General Manager
(503) 222-0001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This is our 3rd time to stay at the Monaco Portland the last was 3 years ago. We stayed 4 nights. Everyone we ran into made us feel like long lost family. We felt very welcomed and appreciated. We booked a King room and were upgraded to a premier King and we were lucky enough to get a great view of Mt Hood! Everything but the bed was 5 star plus. It was HARD as a rock and neither of us slept for more than 3 -4 hours without getting up to stretch our back. The pillows were not great either. Maybe its because we sleep on a sleep number bed at home, we do not remember the bed being so hard to sleep on. Too bad we couldn't return unless the beds were different.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macciatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We used Monaco as a base to tour the area. From the truly helpful parking garage guys to the super friendly desk clerks, the staff was top notch. They let our kids use acrylic paints in their (really nice) lobby as part of a free afternoon painting program while we enjoyed the free wine and beer reception. They gave the kids a fish in a fish bowl to use as a "pet" during our stay. They even took care of feeding it. Room was unusually large for a historic urban hotel, and had a sort of sliding door that closed off the two queens from the pull-out area. The restaurant was also excellent, though pricey. Location very convenient from the highway, and we sampled Portland's famous (free in downtown) mass transit from the same block the hotel is on.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFamilyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

From the time we made the reservation the operator on the phone was helpful and made sure they took the ages of our children and when we arrived in our room there was a fish "Pheobe" to greet the kids and 2 care packs for the kids and a cute teddy bear on the bed. The kids was so excited and we the adults was so impressed with the room size and decor. We felt like we were at home.

We valet our car and went up one floor to check in. The staff were all very pleasant and eager to answer any questions you may have.

Our room was quiet and clean and we love the decor of the whole hotel. This is the only hotel I know that welcomes pets and pays special attention to families with young children.

I totally recommend this hotel to anyone out there who might have any doubts about it.

Upon answering an online survey the general manager actually took the time out to reply to my survey.

I am impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 144 in Portland
1,757 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 144 in Portland
1,414 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 144 in Portland
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $173 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing