We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #3 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Most Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

I've stayed at 5 star hotels all over the world and my experience at Hotel Monaco was phenomenal. Never have I had such a pleasant stay. Monaco is very pet friendly and does not charge any fees for pets, so hard to come by. All the staff were so sincere and genuine I truly felt that they wanted to be there. Not to mention helpful and easy to talk to. The atmosphere in this hotel is upscale but very comfortable. I felt like I was visiting a friends chateau. Extra Impressive reception! Quick, pleasant check as well as a smile every time I left or entered. Hotel Monaco can be assured of my business for many years to come. Keep up the AMAZING work!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airunthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,278
    503
    116
    46
    17
See reviews for
564
1,265
203
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

The hotel was marvelous! Staff was friendly and courteous. Property is downtown and walking distance from many activities. There is free wine and painting served at night from -6pm and happy hour in the restrante from 4-8pm every night, with exeptional deals. Free wifi throughout the hotel. Great experience, great value!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1beachroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

This hotel has good rooms, good staff, is very pet friendly. Nice staff. Well located in the Portland CBD. Plenty of walkability and access to public transit. Nothing bad to say here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

This particular hotel was chosen for the mere reason that it was recommended as a place that was close to an office that I needed to visit, and the United States Courthouse. The comment was that it is "an OK hotel, close, and reasonable." Well, she was right about all that, but I wouldn't just use the term "OK." In fact, I would call this hotel an outstanding value for several reasons. (1) It is pet friendly. I'm a pet person, speak dog fluently, and always enjoy spending time with the four legged friends--perhaps more than with the two-legged variety! (2) The staff was as courteous and helpful as any I have encountered anywhere, including the Del Coronado, the Doral, and other hotels that are supposed to be top of the heap. Well, none of them have anything on the Monaco. (3) The bed was luxurious and the suite was perfect for the work I needed to do down to the wifi. For me, and the money I spend, it just doesn't get much better. This is my pick of the litter---not to put too fine a point on the pet friendliness.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jleebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

From the pre-trip email to the personalized service at check in the Hotel Monaco in Portland was a gem. We have stayed at Hotel Monaco in both San Francisco and Seattle and the Portland location did not disappoint us. We were in town to surprise friends traveling to Portland for a graduation. The hotel staff were so friendly and accommodating. They provided dinner and lunch restaurant recommendations, they helped us surprise our friends with a bottle of champagne for us to present upon their arrival to the hotel. The room location was great, our special requests were taken care of. The room was clean and spacious, all staff including room service were warm and friendly and made us feel special. It is always a pleasure to stay at a Kimpton property and I will definitely go back here for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 032611ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

We had a brief one night stay in the Monaco Suite with our teenage daughter. The room was clean, great decor, and enough space for us to spread out and relax. The king bed was comfortable, room temp was perfect all night, and the room was exceptionally quiet for facing a busy street. Loved the "happy hour" at 5pm with wine in the lobby; very friendly crowd and, of course, lots of really cute pups.

Only one small negative...had to pay for internet use in the business center. However, we will definitely stay again at a Kimpton Hotel....unique and charming.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheval54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

Excellent hotel with great service. Everyone was super friendly and very helpful with recommendations for restaurants, bike trails, directions etc. Super location for accessing the Pearl District and bike trails along the Willamette River. Free Arnold Palmer lemonades in the afternoon and complimentary beer and wine every evening. Bed was super comfy, and room was spacious and tastefully decorated. Hotel is also pet friendly. Many dogs but they were all very well behaved and never heard one bark in all the 4 nights we were there. Recommend you stay on a high floor to help lesson the sounds of the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbrunck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing