We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And I thought I already found the best hotel ever...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Great hotel! Great location! Great service! Great staff!

I had pricelined this hotel so got it cheaper than regular rates. Turns out that same night the 76'ers basketball team was staying in the same hotel so I guess if they're here, then it must be good.

Upon check-in, I was offered free upgrade to 500+ sq. foot room. No points because of PL but was offered a welcome $10 card for the room's minibar. Comp. wine service between 5-6pm but did not attend.

The room was generally quiet except for the heater which clanked ever so often but it didn't keep us up. The room was nicely furnished with a sliding door separating the sitting area and actual bedroom. It was clean, well-designed and nothing to really complain about. Free wifi if you sign-up for their free loyalty program.

The valet parking is quiet expensive ($33/night) but we found a SmartPark near-by that only cost us $10 for overnight + 8:30am leave. It was only a block south and a block east of the hotel - 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,112)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,814 - 2,820 of 3,112 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2009

This was our first time staying at a Kimpton hotel, but we know they're dog friendly so we wanted to check them out with future dog trips in mind. We couldn't believe how gorgeous the hotel was inside - the lobby was funky and bright, but comfortable and inviting (someone was pretty much always in there enjoying the ambiance, having a cup of coffee, or playing the Wii). We paid for the basic room, but apparently they upgraded us to a suite (signing up for their Kimpton membership apparently has benefits)- it was huge! The bed was comfy, the windows actually opened, and the Aveda soaps were wonderful. We loved the animal print robes (although we didn't use them), and all the extras they include really made me a fan. The location was perfect for exploring downtown - and we were surrounded by amazing restaurants and the Saturday Market was a about a 6 block walk away. We loved the doggie check in board with the names of the dogs currently staying there, and we picked up a brochure for their dog spa services (even pet-sitting) - they definitely think of eveyrhting. We didn't partake of the happy hour in the lobby - but it was a full house and seemed like a lot of fun.

We parked a block away at a public lot, and since it was the weekend we were able to get a really cheap rate. We only rented a car since we went to Multnomah Falls - if you're just staying in downtown they have great public transportation and a car is not needed.

Overall this was one of my favorite hotels and we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mobile_Mirandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

This is the second time we stayed at Hotel Monaco while in Portland, and we'll stay there again on our next visit. Why? The staff is friendly, rooms are clean, spacious and well appointed, location is great, and the bartender makes a great Manhattan!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortunesmiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

We've stayed at the Monaco a number of times over the last 5 years and each stay has been wonderful. The rooms are well appointed and comfortably furnished (we've stayed in queen and king room suites), some with gorgeous views of Mt. Hood, and have all of the amenities you need. Aveda toiletries are a treat and the dim lighting of the bathroom at night is a nice touch. The beds are heavenly and although the hotel is downtown it's surprisingly quiet. The service is impeccable, all of the staff are welcoming and helpful. Valet parking is convenient (and if you have a hybird not very expensive). The evening happy hour is fun and the beers and wine served are always tasty. The decor everywhere in the hotel is thoughtfully done - interesting and decidedly 'non-hotel' but not over the top. The Monaco is our first choice when coming to Portland, we truly enjoy staying here!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We chose the Hotel Monaco for us and our guests to stay during our wedding weekend in Portland. We're from Portland but wanted to stay downtown.

From the beginning, the hotel staff was fantastic. They addressed all of our needs in a timely fashion and made this busy weekend very easy for us. Ahead of time, we toured the available room types and setup a reserved block for our guests. We booked one of the grand suites for our room.

The stay during the weekend was wonderful. The room was very, very nice. All our guests commented on how they liked their rooms as well. It was great to be able to meet up with everyone in the lobby before heading out to our events. Having breakfast with family at the restaurant was great too.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It is near Portland's light rail system, bus lines, and street car with easy walking to many downtown areas including shopping and wonderful restaurants. Parking is available under the hotel and although expensive, very handy. If flying into town, consider taking the light rail line from the airport directly to downtown.

My wife had her wedding make-up done downstairs at the spa and was very thankful she did not have to leave the hotel to have that done.

The Monaco is a green hotel, which was one of our requirements, being an environmentally responsible couple.

The hotel is also a pet friendly hotel and it was fun for us and our guests, especially children, to visit with the hotel dog ambassador and to see other dogs staying there. If allergic to animals, you can request a room on a floor that does not allow pets.

We have already booked a stay in one of the grand suites for our one year anniversary. However, I must share I requested a suite on the Washington St. side of the hotel. We were on the 9th floor on the Alder St. side during our stay and the sound of breaking glass woke me up both mornings. I learned there is a recycling center on Alder St.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick_collett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

The Hotel Monaco's location was perfect for my husband and me during our two-night stay in Portland. We were within walking distance of terrific restaurants and shops. The staff were exceptional -- welcoming, helpful, polite, and friendly. Our suite was spacious and the decor was lovely. Their parking garage was convenient for us and the hotel restaurant served delicious breakfasts. We will definitely stay here again and I highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in Portland.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojoRoseburgOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

What a great surprise. I am from Portland, but haven't lived there in about 7 years. I met up with friends for a girls' weekend and we stayed here because it was inexpensive and had a suite large enough for our group.

The service was flawless and we were slightly high-maintenance. Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping to valet to the doorman was very friendly and had easygoing and genuine interactions with us and other hotel guests. I travel a lot for work and leisure and I was blown away by this hotel's employees. Everyone was on his/her game. Friendly people.

They have a great (and popular) wine reception from 5 - 6 everyday. Other hotels have something similar and it always seems a little half-hearted. Not at the Monaco. It was great. They also have coffee and tea set up downstairs in the morning, which is convenient.

The decor was pretty wild. Like PT Barnum had a baby with Kelly Wearstler, but it was playful and new and clean and happy. When we opened the closets and found zebra and leopard-print robes, we cracked up. The hotel and its employees has a sense of humor.

Great location for what you are paying. Very easy walking distance to Powell's, the Pearl District, etc. Glad we stayed here instead of The Nines, which seemed like a scene and has a ridiculous restaurant up top. That kind of place is inconsistent with the Portland vibe. Monaco, however, is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,733 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,390 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $209 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing