We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for downtown Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good choice for downtown Portland”
Reviewed November 18, 2008

The hotel has a very friendly atmosphere; I felt like I am in a small home with a very artistic lobby and very kind staff; the rooms are beatiful, but nothing very fancy; the only problem I should mention-the windows are drifty, but you don't feel cold inside cause the air conditioning/heater works very well; it's true that they try to sell you anything, but you don't have to buy it if you don't like it. Valet parking is very efficient; breakfast in Red Star restaurant very good and delicious; not much of a variety though for dinner and nothing very fancy, except for the way the plate comes decorated. I would definitely recommend this hotel especially for the home atmosphere it creates for its guests and the artistic taste that was used for its decoration. Price is a bit high I think for what it offers.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — drafty windows
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank danut15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,362
    525
    121
    48
    19
See reviews for
602
1,306
206
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

I stayed at Hotel Monaco in November 2008 for a few days. I've seen the hotel reviewed and was looking forward to staying there.

Pros
1. The hotel is in a great location. You are a few blocks from the downtown district, with many activities nearby.

2. The hotel doesn't just accept dogs, it embraces them. I didn't have my dog on the trip, but many people did. Their lobby has cushions for the dogs, and it's clear they try to cater to this group.

3. The valet (for car). This guy was on his game. Very professional and eager to assist. Provided directions to the surrounding area, the airport, and was eager to ensure all of my questions were addressed.

Average
The rooms were acceptable size and outfitted with standard amenities.

Cons
1. The rest of the hotel service. I checked in and had very curt service, as if they had to go out of their way to help me.

The worst experience was when I was checking out early in the morning. The lady "assisting" me was dismissive. She indicated my car was being brought up, but when I went back to ask her where it was being brought up (thinking "up" meant to street level), she acted annoyed and was dismissive. She was far more interested in just about everything but serving the customer.

2. The constant sales pitch. Everything in the hotel room is a sales pitch. Stuffed animal placed on the bed, and you can buy it. Tacky lingerie and animal print robes in the closet, and you can buy them. Most hotels offer things for sale, but everything here has a cost. Don't innundate me with stuff for sale.

3. The noise. My room was extremely noisy throughout the night.

I'm traveling back and forth to Portland a few times over the next few months, but I'll be staying in the Marriott around the corner. For $150/night I expect decent service, and this was awful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Midwest_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

What an amazing discovery. The location is central to any place you want to walk in Portland. The rooms are decorated in an eclectic style but it works. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful. It was also so quiet in the hotel, almost if no one else was there.

  • Liked — wonderful, comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chrystal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

The Monaco is my favorite hotel in Portland. Excellent service, friendly staff, great restaurant / room service, and the now-rare min-bar in the room.
Location is ideal, and rates are very competitive with other Portland properties. I highly recommend the Monaco!

  • Liked — All Suites
  • Disliked — No answer
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Biztravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Monaco Portland from October 6-9. We arrived via Amtrack and the Monaco is just a short ride away. They were doing construction right outside the hotel at the time and when we requested a room on a higher floor (they put us on the third) they obliged and met us at room 808 to give us new keys. I was very impressed and happy with their customer service during our stay.

The room (and hotel) is decorated pretty funky with bright colors and patterns that somehow go together. The bed was kind of small – felt more like a full size instead of a queen, but we had a nice flat screen tv, desk, two nightstands, closet and large bathroom. Beware of the minibar - some really good snacks and beverages are provided - we were tempted by a few!

We hardly heard any noise during our stay. Room service was delivered quickly - we ordered three times and liked pretty much everything (except the prices but that's to be expected). They did mess up one order and sent the wrong sandwich but immediately sent the right one up, along with a complimentary bottle of wine.

The gym had fairly new cardio equipment, each with it's own built-in TV and a good selection of free weights and machines. They provide headphones if needed for the TV's.

Internet was free if you sign up for their Kimpton Hotel rewards club. Just make sure you show your Kimpton rewards card if you didn't book your stay with it and the front desk will take care of it.

The location was convenient as we walked pretty much everywhere. There is also excellent public transportation (free in the fareless square). A good number of restaurants and bars are nearby.

The only thing we were disappointed in was not being able to have pizza delivered late at night - we tried a few places but most appeared to close by 10. Not sure if this is typical or if it was because it was during the week and not the weekend.

We finally managed to meet Art right before we left - the hotel's dog and "head of customer service." He was so friendly, as were all the employees we encountered during our stay. The consierge was also very helpful in recommending a tasty breakfast cafe and a nearby place to play pool and get some drinks.

Overall we were very pleased with the hotel. I would highly recommend the Hotel Monaco Portland - loved the funky decorations, the cleanliness, helpful employees and Art!

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, modern ammenities, funky decor, Art
  • Disliked — Although not the hotel's fault the construction right outside the entrance.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank beachlover325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

A belated review - my wife and I stayed there for several days in August. We got a suite at an attractive rate and really enjoyed the comfort, style, amenities, cocktail hour, dog (and we're cat people) and on and on. The place is luxurious and has tremendous service, yet provides it without airs. How very Portland. Being classy and attentive without pretension and preciousness shows a penthouse-to-garage service culture that really works.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Likesjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

I love Kimpton hotels, so despite reading every mediocre and negative review, I chose this hotel. It is true, the Kimpton's are not really 4-stars.

We chose the $50 upgrade to the suite with a room divider sliding door and it was well-worth it, because as others mentioned, ALL Kimpton hotels seem to be over-stuffed with Disney-influenced furniture, leaving little room to BE in your room, except in bed. Without a living room, it's tough to move around the furniture crammed in the single rooms.

We asked for a view-room and had a nice peak of Mt. Hood. We were on the top floors, so it was lovely and quiet.

We had a glitch with housekeeping before a wedding that wasn't ideal. But I won't go into it, because even though her front desk failed us, the manager responded appropriately.

Aside from the manager, in general, I have to say we weren't very impressed with customer service. I had to call several times trying to figure out how to turn on a lamp on and felt like the front desk was definitely annoyed and questioning my I.Q. (The lamp ended up being broken). Later we came to realize, this feeling that none of the staff gave a damn was probably just an Oregon thing. They're so darn nice, and they're pretty laid back. So something that might horrify a big city person, isn't really that huge to them. And what seems like a lack of concern, is probably just a better perspective than most of us have. They're probably thinking we should all have a beer and relax.

*If you wish to have a massage or spa treatment during your stay be certain to book BEFORE you arrive. Book with the spa connected to the hotel - the front desk can connect you. This spa is half the price of any in-room treatments and conveniently connected to the lobby so you can go down in your crazy animal robe (we saw a few folks do this). But if you don't book before your trip, expect it to be unavailable. This is a tiny, tiny spa with only one or two treatment rooms, and a steam room.

The Kimpton restaurant across the street was SO delicious (and I am so picky), that we dined there three times in four days. The service was excellent.

I also highly recommend visiting the Chinese tea house,within walking distance of the hotel.

We took the Amtrak Coastline Express from California to Oregon and back, and it was a long trip but fantastic. Great views of the coast, rivers and lakes along the way. It was very relaxing (unlike the airport) and although the food is very mediocre dining is included with a sleeper, and they even had wine tasting. I recommend it.

  • Liked — Location. Location. Location.
  • Disliked — Oregon-style customer service takes some loosening up to.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank jonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,717 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing