We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The trip was less than perfect but the Monaco was.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% Off
Ranked #2 of 135 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Wade, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The trip was less than perfect but the Monaco was.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. This family trip included a life threatening hospital stay, an elderly family member that doesn't get around well, a car crash... and so you get the idea. However the staff at the Monaco went out of their way to look after and entertain an elderly member of my family while I dealt with emergencies. They were helpful, friendly and accommodating to everyone and the door man even left a get well card in our room. The rooms are beautifully appointed, comfortable and they offer coffee and wine in the lobby every morning and evening. The restaurant has great food and a good chocolate martini. I will visit Portland again, I will have a better trip next time and I will without a doubt be staying at the Monaco.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohsnapanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very nice stay for 5 nights in a king corner suite on the 8th floor. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. We really enjoyed all the little extras the hotel provided including free ice cream bars in the afternoon, ice cold flavored water by the lobby elevators, happy hour every night with free wine and/or beer, and complementary bikes. Hotel was in easy walking distance of many restaurants, museums, the Willamette River and many parks. Big, relaxing lobby with interesting decor. While the hotel has valet parking, we saved money and parked in a parking garage one block away.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for better city views
See more room tips
Green Features: Two trashcans in room - one for recycling. All hotels should do this.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Spent four nights at this hotel and thought it was quite lovely. The decor is a little funky, which I love and the place was not overly crowded, like some of the other hotels in downtown Portland. Our room was very nice and comfortable. It had a large bathroom and large windows that looked out into the streets. I loved the windows, but we could hear some of the traffic early in the morning. My only real complaint with the hotel is something that most of you won't experience (at least from what I've been told). One morning, I heard a "blub, blub" sound coming from the bathroom. I peeked into the bathroom and there were bubbles (yes, bubbles...lots of bubbles!) seeping out of the toilet and sink. I immediately called the front desk and alerted them. They sent maintenance, who was equally as confused as the front desk woman. The maintenance guy called his manager. The manager walked in, took one look and said, "Yep, I've seen this before. It only happens once every couple of years, and only in this room. We're not really sure why. We can switch you to another room, but I can almost guarantee it's not going to happen again." We were leaving the next morning anyway, so decided to stay. And he was right, it didn't happen again, but how odd? The maintenance manager was very nice and apologetic, but we never heard anything from the front desk about the incident.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MastiffMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I travel frequently to Portland and have stayed at many hotels in the downtown area and I must say the Hotel Monaco is my favorite hotel. The staff is always very friendly and helpful and are always willing to assist with making your stay enjoyable. The rooms are quite spacious compared to other hotels in the area and well decorated.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a suite, it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VasiliPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
117 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Perfect location,close to everything:stores,Voodoo Donuts,,the river,best restaurants,and so on.
Perfect staff:Jenna and Andrew from front desk( nice,courteous) and Joseph," the guy who knows everything from Portland".
Perfect room: king corner suíte: modern decor,really cool.
And the most Perfect city ever!!!I regret just staying 3 nights only!!!

By the way: Did I lose a navy blue sandal in room 817???I guess I am a kind of Cinderella,but maybe is na sign of the destiny to come back!!

Room Tip: KIng corner suíte!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liylly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden Lake, ID
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We chose this hotel because it's pet-friendly, and we were traveling with our beloved 70 pound standard poodle, Nemo. Nemo is well-behaved and welcome almost anywhere, but this hotel actually made special efforts for her.
Our room was large and very comfortable. The lobby was welcoming and comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. The décor is opulent, I suppose in keeping with the "Monaco" theme.
The only drawback was the same as for every downtown hotel I've ever stayed in in Portland, Oregon: they pick up the garbage at 4:00 or 4:30 am, with a great, long-lasting clamor. Next time we stay in this hotel, and I do hope there will be a next time, I will try to remember to request a room away from that area.

Room Tip: Maybe something away from the entrance to the garbage pickup area.
See more room tips
Green Features: Thankfully they skipped all the admonitions about re-using towels for the sake of the environment. I like a fresh towel every day.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MM3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 days/2 nights just before the 4th of July with our 3 kids. Had a large room with a sleeper couch for the kids & 2 queens. Very spacious for a downtown hotel. Hotel is in the heart of downtown, walking distance to many things, including the riverfront. Staff was great. Happy hour was a pleasant treat including some things (Wii, building blocks) to keep young kids occupied while the adults imbibe! Very satisfied.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#3 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,885 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing