We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
954 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Love the quirky and whimsical decor in this hotel. Nothing matches in our room but somehow it all matches wonderfully. Love the style! Front desk help upon check-in was excellent. She promptly and kindly answered all our questions as we are first time visitors to the city. Loved that the valet gave us bottled water upon unloading our car. The room we got, 204 is huge. Two separate tv areas with plenty of furniture. We did hear some road noise but that was no big deal during the night. Love that this hotel is pet friendly and would have loved to have met the resident lab Timmy. Since we did not have our pets with us, a goldfish was brought to our room, at least it is something for us to watch over! A neat touch. Love the high ceiling in our room too. And the fitness room is adequate and very functional for a great workout. Such a great location within easy walking distance of many many great areas in Portland. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 204 was on the main street side and had road noise. Go for higher up if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dshendri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,362
    525
    121
    48
    19
See reviews for
602
1,306
206
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Spend a long weekend at this very central and convenient hotel. The rooms are very fashionably furnished with a mix of deco-ish furnishings. They have a nice complimentary happy hour that was worth going. Pets in the hotel seemed odd. Really fun. Gotta come back and so should you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmund1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was our 2nd time at the Hotel Monaco and this time we brought my parents and the hotel or the service from the staff was excellent. As most Kimpton Hotels the reception staff ran us through a map of the area and places that they recommended, but then they happily advised us of how to travel to various breweries that we wished to visit. The room was large with also three separate areas, the entrance/bathroom area, a sitting area with a desk, sofa, TV, mini bar etc. and our goldfish. Then finally there is the bedroom area which had separating sliding doors and had another TV, large window and a huge bed. The hotel is well positioned to explore Portland and a short walk to various Trimet stops that allows access to most of the city. The waterfront, pearl district, designer shops are a short walk (and the Portland blocks are half size). We used The Red Star Tavern within the hotel as a place to meet before going out and on our last day for breakfast due to having an early start, the prices were on a par with the rest of Portland the quality of the food was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davetheaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We came to Portland for a friends birthday this past weekend and really enjoyed ourselves. The hotel was fantastic. We had one really bad patch of service at LUK LUK thai restaurant. Coming back to the hotel without being served there, Tigist-at the front desk-felt really bad for us. She went out of her way to take care of room service and the next day had a Taste of Oregon box sent to our room with a personal card filled with recommendations of where to dine. She really made our thoughts on Portland change and went above and beyond our expectations. Little Bird french bistro is where we went the next night because of her and had one of the best dining experiences ever!

THANK YOU SO MUCH! We will be back to Portland and to Hotel Monaco again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniRups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Monaco for two nights. We've enjoyed our stays at other Kimpton hotels and the Monaco did not disappoint. We received excellent service from check-in to check-out. The uniquely decorated rooms and lobby are spacious providing room to spread out and relax. The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of many shopping and eating establishments. Front desk staff and bellmen/valets gave us spot on recommendations and directions for dining and other activities. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBTrvlr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have just stayed for 2 nights at the hotel Monaco. It was a first class hotel, with first class accommodation and facilities. Every member of the staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was funky and fun - very clean and with good quality toiletries and towels. The hotel is centrally located and staff are very knowledgeable with directions for all places we needed. Portland is a lovely city and very driver friendly.
Like a previous reviewer we used the restaurant for convenience only.

Room Tip: The 8th floor is a hypo-allergenic floor. No pets, no smoking and very clean and fresh.
See more room tips
Green Features: WE appreciate the consideration for guests who don't smoke or like pets in rooms.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Monaco for 2 nights, based mostly on the great reviews here on TripAdvisor. It did not disappoint. The staff were lovely, helpful and responsive. We had a suite and it was funky and fun and spacious. The happy hour from 5-6 was a nice way to drink for cheap, chat with other travelers and pet some pups. They had non-alcoholic options and cheddar goldfish for the kiddos too!

Speaking of animals, the pet floors are separate from the non-pet floors, something I was very glad to find out. I had been nervous about barking dogs and "pet smell" and that wasn't an issue at all.

The location was central to the shopping, Pearl District and the riverfront. We'll be bringing the kids back, for sure.

The Red Star Tavern, the hotel restaurant was ok; we ate there for the convenience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfamilyfuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,719 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing