We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Lucia(Portland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dossier Hotel(Portland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (3,270)
Filter reviews
3,270 results
Traveler rating
2,512
560
131
48
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,512
560
131
48
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred starking suitewine hourhappy houranimal print robessocial hourwine receptionliving roommini barevery eveningvoodoo donutsheart of downtownwine tastingvalet staffthe pearlsitting areafood carts
Filter
Updating list...
1,361 - 1,366 of 3,270 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Hotel is located downtown Portland. Easy access via train from airport (2 block walk). Although room was small, it functioned very well. Staff was friendly and always helpful. Free wine hour in the evening made it easier to meet new people. Short walk to various eating places whether it is a food truck/cart (lots of them), fine dining or hip restaurants. Recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggerbettertennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thanks so much for your great review of the Hotel Monaco Portland. I did note that your room was smallish. 3/4 of our rooms are 550 square foot suites. Sounds like you did not get one of those. They are available for a modes tupcharge. They feature a sliding glass door (curtained) which seperates the bedroom from the living room. Each suite features 2 Big screen TV's. On your next visit e mail me and I'll upgrade you to one of our finest suites.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was fortunate to be on a business trip, hence all expenses paid, but if you aren't an impoverished English teacher, then this is a fabulous hotel. Great art work throughout, friendly helpful staff, free newspapers (including the NY Times!), beautiful rooms - nothing bland or banal about this place, plus the happy hours are a fun way to meet people if you are on your own. Just two blocks from Portland's amazing light rail system and close to many local sites. Everyone from the housekeeping to the front desk staff seemed genuinely happy and eager to please. Giant game of Jenga made of bricks in the lounge. What more could you ask for? Oh, and don't forget that it is eco-friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elruthie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just spent five nights at the Monaco, Portland. It's a great hotel that has an interesting mix of traditional furnishings with a contemporary flair. The evening "happy hour" is well attended and it's great to see couples, families and all types, mixing in the lobby lounge. The genuinely friendly staff help compliment this cozy feel, creating an atmosphere that I can't say I've seen anywhere else. The rooms are spacious and well decorated in the same interesting mix that greets you in the lobby lounge. Close to everything downtown.

Room Tip: Try to get a King Suite. It's a lot more room for not much more $'s.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel with our two children. The pictures make the hotel look kind of outdated, but the reality is very funky! It fits right in with Portland.
From check-in to check -out we had a great experience! It had been my birthday the day before and they left me a welcome card and a very nice treat! There were robes for the kids and a pet fish! The staff were friendly and kind. Every suggestion for restaurants was great!
There was a wine/beer reception every night, with drinks and crackers for the kids. There was also painting, video games and a huge Jenga game for them too. They also had coffee, tea and a mini hot chocolate bar in the am. We really enjoyed our stay!
Note: This is a very dog friendly hotel, which we loved! No dogs of our own, but the kids loved meeting all of the dogs visiting!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

A comfortable, boutique-ish hotel in the heart of downtown Portland -- walking distance to Powell's, museums, opera, many restaurants, etc. Older building, but that means high ceilings, hallways you can walk down without bumping into the walls, and large bathrooms. Love the happy hour, love the loyalty program perks.

Room Tip: Higher floors get more light
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandHUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews