We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Nearby Hotels
$200
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$223
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$189
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$173
$157
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dossier(Portland)
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$200
$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$343
$327
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Inn at Northrup Station(Portland)
$184
$178
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,256)
Filter reviews
3,256 results
Traveler rating
2,502
556
131
48
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,502
556
131
48
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred starking suitewine hourhappy houranimal print robessocial hourwine receptionliving roommini barevery eveningvoodoo donutsheart of downtownwine tastingvalet staffthe pearlsitting areafood carts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,397 - 1,402 of 3,256 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Two colleagues and myself stayed at the Hotel Monaco for one night - in Portland for a conference. From the moment we arrived until many hours after we checked out - the service was amazing. The room was clean and comfortable. Toiletries, while we didn't use any, were plentiful. Yoga mat. Wine glasses. Fantastic mini bar if desired. Complementary bikes to explore downtown Portland ... wine and appies in the lobby.... it was all so very lovely. When we arrived back from dinner (quite late) prior to heading up to our room, we asked if the pull out bed had been pulled out (it hadn't) and asked if someone could come up to the room and pull it out. We proceeded to our room and after entering (I don't think we'd even closed the door yet) Knock Knock and within minutes, our 3rd bed was ready. Quickest service ever. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerenaM234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was my second stay at Hotel Monaco. The staff are totally professional friendly, and service oriented. They strive to anticipate needs and rigorous on all follow up...plus just plain nice to be around.
The entry is gorgeous, the rooms are fun and well cared for, and the art is real art!

Totally fabulous location in the Pearl District.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were in Portland 4 nights just to get away from home (CA) and experience the city for the first time. The accommodations were excellent--interesting style. Service was first-rate, with lots of help navigating the city. Our concierge even provided some craft beers and coffee on our arrival. Nice touch. The hotel is in a great location relative to various districts, with a good street scene. We had only drinks and snacks in the restaurant, not dinner, but it has a nice ambiance. We'll definitely return to the hotel when visiting the city.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a king suite on the 7th floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My son and I traveled from Vancouver to Portland for a three day visit and picked the Hotel Monaco online. Upon arriving we were delighted with our choice. An older building with lots of character and high ceilings. The staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful. We loved our double suite with its funky decor, very comfortable and roomy . The location of the hotel was within walking distance of many sites we wanted to see. The hotel offered a free yoga class one morning which I found wonderful. They also have a happy hour for guests in the lobby which is very nice if you want to meet and chat with other guests. A must stay at hotel if you are visiting Portland.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainbowpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel is in an old building in a perfect Portland location -- easy walking distance to many restaurants, the museum, shopping, and Voodoo donuts, and right off the Morrison Street bridge. That the building is old means that the walls are solid and pretty sound-proof, the lobby and rooms are pretty large, and the corridors are wide. So you have the feeling of a nice, old hotel, but the comforts are very modern. The valet service for the car was excellent. My only complaint would be that the water pressure for the shower was not very good. The fitness center is adequate but somewhat limited (e.g., only one stationary bike). All of the staff were polite, helpful, and friendly.
Of the three hotels I've stayed at in Portland so far (Benson and The Nines), this is the best.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckaroo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews