We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Facility, people, and area are superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #3 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Facility, people, and area are superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was my second stay at Hotel Monaco. The staff are totally professional friendly, and service oriented. They strive to anticipate needs and rigorous on all follow up...plus just plain nice to be around.
The entry is gorgeous, the rooms are fun and well cared for, and the art is real art!

Totally fabulous location in the Pearl District.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,292
    507
    117
    46
    18
See reviews for
570
1,272
203
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were in Portland 4 nights just to get away from home (CA) and experience the city for the first time. The accommodations were excellent--interesting style. Service was first-rate, with lots of help navigating the city. Our concierge even provided some craft beers and coffee on our arrival. Nice touch. The hotel is in a great location relative to various districts, with a good street scene. We had only drinks and snacks in the restaurant, not dinner, but it has a nice ambiance. We'll definitely return to the hotel when visiting the city.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a king suite on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val-des-Monts, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

My son and I traveled from Vancouver to Portland for a three day visit and picked the Hotel Monaco online. Upon arriving we were delighted with our choice. An older building with lots of character and high ceilings. The staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful. We loved our double suite with its funky decor, very comfortable and roomy . The location of the hotel was within walking distance of many sites we wanted to see. The hotel offered a free yoga class one morning which I found wonderful. They also have a happy hour for guests in the lobby which is very nice if you want to meet and chat with other guests. A must stay at hotel if you are visiting Portland.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel is in an old building in a perfect Portland location -- easy walking distance to many restaurants, the museum, shopping, and Voodoo donuts, and right off the Morrison Street bridge. That the building is old means that the walls are solid and pretty sound-proof, the lobby and rooms are pretty large, and the corridors are wide. So you have the feeling of a nice, old hotel, but the comforts are very modern. The valet service for the car was excellent. My only complaint would be that the water pressure for the shower was not very good. The fitness center is adequate but somewhat limited (e.g., only one stationary bike). All of the staff were polite, helpful, and friendly.
Of the three hotels I've stayed at in Portland so far (Benson and The Nines), this is the best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckaroo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed only one night while I was in town for business. The property is eclectic, hip, and fun. I signed up for the loyalty program, got a 10 bar or mini bar credit--which I didn't get to use, but was nice. The staff, was extremely nice--especially Nina at the front desk. They offer a free wine and beer hour to guests each day which was awesome. The wifi was strong connection, and it is in the perfect location to walk around the city. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Sign up for their loyalty program
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Every aspect of our experience at Hotel Monaco Portland was top-notch! We were promptly greeted by the valet staff - who were kind and helpful. The staff at check-in noticed in our reservation that we were celebrating birthdays - and we were wished a happy birthday and given a gift certificate for a free glass of bubbly and free dessert in the Red Star restaurant. We were surprised when we walked into our room to see an entire bottle of champagne and a handwritten birthday greeting. We had plans to go to dinner with friends who have a dog, so we needed a hotel that was dog-friendly in case our friends decided to bring their furry +1 (they didn't bring him, but it was nice to have the option). My husband wants me to mention that the wine hour from 5-6 pm in the super-chic lobby, complete with tarot card reader and giant jenga game is what made this a no-brainer as far as which hotel to choose. I would say it is a combination of the exceptionally professional staff at every post; the decor and high ceilings in the room which make you feel you're somewhere original and special; the bed that feels like sleeping on a cloud; the location in relation to the Pearl District; and did I mention the polite, helpful staff? They deserve as many accolades as this review can allow. Even at check-out, both the staff at the reception desk and valet asked us if we'd like recommendations for brunch, other sites that we might not have gotten to. So helpful! Last night at dinner we were talking about how much fun we had over the weekend at Monaco and he said it best, "It was outstanding - even the price was great!"

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally_D_92014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
574 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We spent several nights here while checking out Portland. The room is eclectically decorated, a funky collection of miss-matched furniture that ultimately…really goes well together! It's comfortable, impeccably clean and quiet as it was far from the beaten path around the elevator. The heat works wonderfully. The bath area is large and full of great toiletries. In the closet were two animal print bathrobes, an umbrella and a yoga mat too!
The complementary, evening wine hour is very enjoyable with a live piano accompaniment. It's a great way to sample some local beer and wine selections too.
I have enjoyed the work-out facility as well as the affiliated next door restaurant, The Red Star Tavern. It can be accessed either from within the hotel or via the street. Both are recommended to try.
The location of the Hotel Monaco can't be beat. It's in the heart of the shopping district. The Tri-Met is just outside the door.
Kimpton Hotels are a cut above the rest!

Green Features: Recycling bins were in the room! We made good use of them. I wish every hotel engaged in environmentally-friendly practices like this.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing