We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We are a fan of the Hotel Monaco in Baltimore so we decided to try out the one in Portland. This hotel has amazing service (even better than in Baltimore, which was already superb), beautiful suites, and the New York Times (which was the cherry on top). Thank you for such an amazing experience. We will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Portland!

Room Tip: A suite on the highest floor away from the elevator provides a peaceful sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnumgis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,362
    525
    121
    48
    19
See reviews for
602
1,306
206
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Have stayed several times for an on site meeting.
Meeting food and service excellent.
Hotel staff attentive and helpful.
Rooms top notch.
Art on each floor interesting.
Evening wine breaks fun.
What else do you want?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 501casper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Visited this site after doing a class project that impressed me. The project emphasized the wonderful service that the Kimpton group, specifically the Hotel Monaco, provides. Wanted to see it first hand so i booked a queen room for my anniversary.

Unfortunately we did not experience the level of service that my report showed. That is not to say the level of service we experienced was subpar - the staff was great, but i was looking for that something extra and did not see it.

I would recommend this hotel to my friends, but with a few suggestions. Request a larger room; request an upgrade upon check-in; join in on the wine tasting; and visit the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: I suggest that you consider the larger rooms because the queen room is very small. Also request a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Darling hotel in the heart of downtown Portland. The decor is bright and fun. The staff is the best!! They provided us with helpful information about restaurants and always offered to give directions.
The happy hour is such a blast. It sort of reminds me of being in some happy spot in New Orleans. The lobby fireplace is also quite wonderful. We loved our room as well.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Feltmaker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I adore Kimpton properties. I have been an "evangelist" for the brand for quite a few years. However; this had to be one of the "bad" stays I have had in quite awhile. Very disappointing from check-in to check-out. Restaurant service (J was the server) was lazy and full of attitude. The room was lovely though - very well laid out and decorated nicely. The bathtub drain didn't work nor did the door bolt.

The location of the property is great. Able to walk right outside to the shops and restaurants. Would recommend eating at the Original instead of the Red Star (hotel's restaurant) for breakfast. Staff seemed bothered by guests. Would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for floor 8 if you don't have pets - it is a hyperallegenic floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sealizis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks so much for your review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your fedback. I was sorry to see that one of our restaurant employees had a negative effect on your visit. I want to assure you that we will revisit our training and address issues such as these. I'm confident we can fix this in short order.

We look forward to the very great pleasure of serving you again in the hopefully near future.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Hotel Monaco provides a splendid, albeit quirky environment in downtown Portland. The first thing that you will encounter is that the valet car service is not on the street in front of the hotel. Instead you must drive your car down a steep ramp to the basement level to drop off your car. Overnight parking is $38. The lobby is lush, comfortable and looks more like a grand living room than a hotel. Along with the usual Kimpton 'happy hour' there was a special "Santa Paws" celebration during our stay where pet owners could decorate a personalized dog biscuit for their pups and have the dogs greet Santa. Our room décor was eye-popping mélange of different styles. . The carpet was orange hexagons on a black background, flying bird wall paper, a crazy purple and orange plaid bed skirt and pillow cases, optic illusion fabric on the chairs, etc. I did appreciate the custom wallpaper in the bathroom featuring classic Portland architecture and custom tile in the shower. Our room on the seventh floor was very quiet and comfortable. Be sure to sign up for the Kimpton rewards program so you can get free Wi-Fi access and the $10 'raid the minibar' coupon. You'll also find the Monaco is conveniently located within walking distance of most attractions in downtown Portland including the MAX mass transit system.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risch, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and enjoyed it very much. Check- in was friendly and speedy, the room very nice and the location perfect. We liked the free coffee and tea in the morning, as well as the offered glass of wine in the evening in the very stilish lounge.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,717 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing