We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is located 2 blocks from the shopping area and 2 blocks from the tram tracks so very central and good to get around (which this is easy to do in Portland).
As soon as we arrived we were upgraded to a suite which meant we had a separate seating area and more space to put all of our stuff which was very nice.
The hotel decor was very nice as was pretty accurate from the pictures on the website. Despite this being a suite, the bathroom was of a standard size with I think is what let Kimpton hotels down, they should offer more rooms with free standing showers.
All of the staff were very hospitable and knowledgeable and good to talk to at the 5-6pm complimentary wine hour. However, the only downside to this was that if the hotel was hosting a conference, then delegates from the conference also joined in at the wine hour which meant there was very little room and the noise levels high so a bit harder to enjoy / relax when you are on holiday. However, this did not stop us from having a good stay at this hotel and the Kimpton chain is still one I look out for when I visit any US city.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with large windows to let in some light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to fill out a review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate this candid feedback. The complimentary wine and beer service from 5 pm to 6 pm is very popular with our guests. We fuel that by oferring an accomplished piano player each night and oferring free paints and canvas for our guests so they can paint a memory of their visit.

We look forward to the very great pleasure of serving you again in the hopefully near future.

Thanks,

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,403 of 3,168 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great place to stay in downtown Portland. Service was great. Loved the decor and especially the "zebra and leopard" robes. Eclectic and a pleasant change from the institutional decor at most hotels. Great stay - highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hamilton76531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Monaco and had a fabulous experience. First off, the hotel is in a great location and close to all the great sites of downtown. We had a rental car and barely used it as it was so easy to walk everywhere. The hotel staff were exceptional, very friendly, cheerful and helpful. We had a king corner room and it was spacious; loved the decor and very comfortable bed. The lighting was good, even in the bathroom (a rare find these days). We were on the 4th floor and it was kind of noisy from the street sounds so maybe request a higher floor. We dined at the Red Star Tavern for both breakfast and dinner and had good meals and service. Also used the wifi and exercise room with no problems. Nice to have a coffee maker in the room, as well as pots of free starbucks in the lobby. I highly recommend this boutique hotel. Also recommend taking the Hub city/waterfalls tour. It gave us a great perspective of this beautiful city and surroundings.

Room Tip: Request a corner room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Monaco for two nights as part of our honeymoon and had a wonderful experience. I travel a lot and I am quite picky as a result. I couldn't find one thing to complain about at the Hotel Monaco!

The room was so wonderfully quiet and comfortable - even though we are in a bustling city. I could have stayed forever. The location is perfect - we were in walking distance of everything we wanted in Portland and never once had to use our car.

We had brunch at the on-site restaurant and it was incredibly tasty and very well priced.

The atmosphere of the hotel is very cool - I loved the decor. And, the nightl wine reception was an awesome touch!

The concierge was one of the best parts of our stay. He was incredibly helpful in steering us towards great restaurants and telling us about the good breweries in the area. I would very highly recommend the Hotel Monaco if you're visiting Portland!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aquinn7830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The service was terrific and the rooms were amazing (something different). The location was central to the waterfront, Chinatown, and the Pearl District. They had great little perks such as a complimentary wine reception during happy hour, weather protected concierge, attentive bellmen, fresh crispy apples and flavoured water. Oh and Timmy the dog. The only thing missing was a spa.

It was a the perfect hotel for a girls shopping and entertainment weekend.

Room Tip: We did not have a view, but rooms close to the corner of the building do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJHL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My hubby and I have really fallen hard for the Kimpton group in recent times. This seems to be the only place that is pushing "customer service" still with their staff in a day and age when it really seems to be a dying art.

We loved a few stays at a Kimpton in Philly and earlier this summer were needing to head up to Washington and found that we could stop at a selection of Kimptons in the Portland Area.
We tried to book online, it said all 3 hotels were full. BUT, I remember the nice Concierge Lady from Philly who always said to call her for "anything!"...and so I did! I think I emailed her our dates and how we just needed one night in one of the 3 hotels if possible.

What happened? I got a room and not just any room, a suite? and a goldfish friend for the stay and because we are members of their loyalty program we get $10 free credit to eat whatever in the mini bar. PLUS they gave us a bottle of wine and some local beers and there was even stuffed animal toys for our kids! OVER THE TOP Customer Service!

We couldn't believe it! They are so nice! From the guy who takes your car in the underground valet to the front desk, the guy who brought us fish food in the late night. LOL It's like they studied who's there and to know your names-yet totally left alone. Not annoying. When you wanted help they were there willing and able, just as it should be!

You get an email like this: "I noted that you are a member of our guest loyalty program Kimpton In Touch. As you know the loyalty program is designed around your preferences, and provides you with a $10 raid the mini bar card. Speaking of preferences: on your next visit can I arrange any special amenity for you? Perhaps a favorite snack, beverage or magazine? Will you be celebrating any special occasion? If I can be of service during your next visit just e mail me and let me know."

If you can, go KIMPTON all the time, every time!

PS the restaurant attached was super farm to table deliciousness, did they plan this? We ate there twice and it was all super foodie's delight! Only in the Pacific NW can you get this quality TLC and Great Food. Enjoy it when you can!

Room Tip: Family of Four Double Queen room is super swanky with a family room separate was so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LH Davis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived when they had the room ready hours early, until the parking valet sent us off with good directions, everything was perfect. Through the hotel website, I found a great last minute deal on a king suite. It was spacious, spotless and in the Monaco style, interestingly decorated. The bed was comfortable with wonderful linens. We were on the fifth floor and could barely hear some city sounds. The front desk people were friendly and efficient. Every employee we encountered was helpful.
The only downside is that Portland has so many interesting hotels, it will be difficult to try anything new when we return. Hotel Monaco would be hard to beat.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Latitude20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 144 in Portland
1,759 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 144 in Portland
1,414 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 144 in Portland
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $173 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing