We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best vacations EVER....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I'm not the kind of person that writes reviews, but this was BY FAR the best hotel experience we've had as a family (Mom, dad and 4 kiddos) .Last year we went to Disneyland, and we stayed at the (overpriced) Disneyland hotel (Yes, we want to live the Disney experience at its best). Ok, now my kids prefer to go back to Portland instead of Disneyland, nothing more to say, huh?. We got one of the small suites (Not sure about the name) charming, colorful rooms, full of patterns. with two queen beds in the main room and one queen sofa bed in the "family room", two good sized LCD tv's, the room was clean, confortable, perfect. We asked for a yoga mat and a yoga block, a crib (I get a complimentary baby travel set of jhonsons products) a microwave, and the goldfish. We were welcomed with four stuffed bears for the kids, they were HAPPY. The staff was SUPER helpful and friendly!! I wish I had the name of this cute dark haired young woman in the front desk. She was beyond helpful!...GREAT location. We stayed there last month, for the easter weekend, so,each one of the kids get their easter basket and went to lobby for the hotel egg hunting, AWESOME. They get candies, chocolates, lettuce seeds for gardening (the best) one dollar bills, jewerly, stuffed animals, and special prizes (two kimpton leopard kids bath robes) .I'm looking forward to the next stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for the TripAdvisor review and the excellent feedback. I'm very happy to read that your children are excited to come back to Portland and that they enjoyed their time with us. Our guests and staff always look forward to our annual Easter Egg hunt. It sounds like the Easter Bunny provided some nice goodies this year. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope we see you again next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,670 - 1,676 of 3,196 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

This may have been the best or at least in the top few hotel experiences we've had. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Every single staff member was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, right in the middle of downtown, so we could walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. The attached restaurant was quality and just wonderful. This place is a bit expensive, but it felt worth it and not for it's quality and location in Portland. And...they welcome pets. Our little dog was like a queen on the big pillow bed they supplied for her with her own dishes, new play toy, and organic treat. We've never stayed in a city with her before. Had to walk 3 blocks to a park for her to take care of business, but they were short blocks:) There was wine in the evening and hot chocolate in the morning in the lobby. This place is just great. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland and for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review. Thank you for the excellent feedback about our staff, guestrooms, and location. I was happy to read that your dog enjoyed the stay at Hotel Monaco as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family and Boston Terrier stayed at Hotel Monaco for our final days in Portland. We lived in Portland for 11 years so this was a wonderful way to end our experience. We stayed in the King Suite and the decor was an explosion of pattern. Beautiful carpeting, wallpaper and chairs. We were welcomed with a doggy toy and bed for our beloved pet. The location is in the center of the city with my favorite small coffee shop (standing room only), Spella, within steps of the hotel. Spella has the most amazing chai in the city.

When we return, I would definitely book us a room here again.

Room Tip: Parking is a rip off at $38 dollars a night. My husband found a parking garage at ODS tower (Nordstr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tram_pham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for ending your time in Portland at Hotel Monaco. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for bringing your Boston Terrier along as well. I agree that Spella is excellent. Their baristas are friendly and make fabulous coffee. We're very lucky to have them a stones-throw from our front doors.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hands down, this is one of the best hotels in Portland. The hotel presents itself with a chic vibe, but retains a level of service that is warm and inviting. You can literally feel romance when you walk into the lobby. Each of the rooms are uniquely decorated, so even after multiple stays, I've still not been in a room that looked the same both times. The attached restaurtant, Red Star, has an outstanding happy hour with excellent bites and drink specials. Additionally, there are many conference rooms and meeting rooms which make great spaces for work related events, or even to host a party for friends or family.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have huge windows allowing extra light during the day, and beautiful city views at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco and for the excellent TripAdvisor review. I truly appreciate the great feedback and was happy to read that you enjoyed our guestrooms and Red Star Tavern & Roast House - our onsite restaurant. Thank you also for sharing the information about our meeting space. Hotel Monaco has 7,778 square feet of flexible meeting space appropriate for a variety of meetings and events. Thank you again and we hope to see you next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel has really wonderful whimsical decor and ambience -- the lobby has a beautiful grand piano, red walls, an alabaster white fireplace...my room had a lamp with duck feet as a stand!

But they don't sacrifice professionalism for whimsy. Everything is perfectly ordered, comfortable, clean, and with excellent service -- especially important for me with my medical dietary needs. Also, within walking distance of tons of stuff.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenCA101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland and for the nice comments about your time with us. Thank you especially for the great feedback about our decor. I enjoyed reading about our professionalism, service, and location. I hope we have the opportunity to see you again the next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Took a business trip with the family (two young kids). We were all well-taken care of, pampered, and treated well. The hotel is beautifully appointed and exceptionally clean. The bathrooms and beds are immaculate. Free tea/coffee/happy hour, exceptional fitness center, friendly staff, and kid-friendly. The kids particularly enjoyed the nintendo wii and goldfish in the room. I will certainly come back.

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kldfjdkfjdkfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco for your trip to Portland. I'm glad your family enjoyed their time with us. I enjoyed reading the nice comments about our complimentary evening wine reception, coffee and tea service, fitness center, and staff. I'm glad you children had an opportunity to play Wii. Thanks again.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I loved the pictures online but the actual hotel is even more beautiful. I felt like I was staying in a Jonathan Adler store - which is very much my style. The service was wonderful and especially great since I was sick and they made me feel at home. I would most definitely return again when I come to Portland. They even gave me a $10 "Raid the MiniBar" card so I grabbed some nuts and fruit on the way out for the trip home. LOVE it there!

Room Tip: If you can stay on the top floor I recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrymansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hotel Monaco Portland. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took good care of you while you weren't feeling well. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 146 in Portland
1,765 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 146 in Portland
1,424 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 146 in Portland
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $170 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing