We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They weren't prepared!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a disappointment staying at the Monaco Hotel was on New Year's Eve. When I drove up, there were two cars already in the small check-in zone and no doorman to be seen. I unloaded bags while my friend went to the front desk.

By the time I got inside (it was close to 4 PM by now), the lobby was crowded with guests waiting for rooms and my friend was seething. She had been told that there wold be a 90 minute wait for a room. It just felt like they were totally unprepared for the bookings they had for the evening.

We did get a room in about 30 minutes. No explanation was given, nor was an apology offered by the front desk. The next morning at check-out, we were finally told that several staff had called in sick and many guests had requested late check-outs the previous day. I still felt that was poor performance for a Kimpton property. The check-out agent was kind enough to comp the parking, which did help. I commend her customer-service efforts.

Overall, this was a disappointing stay and, given the choices in Portland, I will not choose the Monaco again.

Room Tip: A room facing east will give a better view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosmo9213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thanks so much for your recent review of your visit to the Hotel Monaco Portland. I am very sorry that we did not have your room ready for you. We did have late checkouts, a shortage of help and oh so many other excuses I could make. Suffice it to say that the bottom line is that there are no acceptable excuses. Your experience is way short of the high standards that we attempt to maintain at all times. I can assure you that we have taken the steps necessary to make certain that this will not happen again. We would hope that you might give us another chance. I would love to discuss this with you. My telephone number is 503 417 3370.

Thanks again.

Craig
Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,114)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,750 - 1,756 of 3,114 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

Good location (i.e. short walking distance to shopping and restaurants), and a very eclectic feel. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Very cool lobby with a complimentary wine and beer reception every night, and live piano. Would definitely stay here again. P.S. The attached Red Star restaurant has a to die Squash/Cauliflower appetizer- I know my description here doesn't sound amazing but just take my word for it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for the excellent comments about our location and staff. We appreciate your feedback. I'm glad that you had an opportunity to join our complimentary evening wine reception. I'll be sure to let everyone at Red Star know that you enjoyed your appetizer. Hopefully we'll see you in Portland again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I hardly ever write reviews on Tripadvisor and it takes something pretty special for me to stop being so lazy and pick up my laptop.

In essence, this hotel is absolutely outstanding. I am lucky that I get to travel a lot around Europe/Asia and North America for business so I am accustomed to the generic 5 star category and the blandness/uniformity of many major brands. Hotel Monaco, however, feels like a personalized boutique hotel which has a unique sense of fun - The rooms are cool, the location is great and the staff laid back & friendly. I booked up as part of myself and my girlfriend's 5 year anniversary and couldn't be more pleased with my choice. The level of customer service was unsurpassable and Neil, in particular, on the front desk was tremendous. Travelling with our English Bulldog was a breeze and all members of staff could not have made young Berkeley more welcome.... The impromptu Doggy Day care on site is a really good idea that certainly made my girlfriend shop with peace of mind.

Overall, Outstanding sums it up nicely and I will be sure to return to the Hotel Monaco many times again in the future....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartimM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco for your 5th Anniversary celebration and for the outstanding review. I'll be sure to pass on comments about our customer service and thank Neil at the front desk in particular. I'm glad that Berkeley enjoyed his time with us as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were here in November of 2012 and thought the hotel was fine. Funky interior and lovely little reception area where they served wine and beer each evening for the hotel guests. Unfortunately they do not monitor who comes into the reception and everyone we spoke with was not staying at the hotel. They knew about the free alcohol and came to take advantage of it. The attached restaurant had decent food, large portions and fairly good service. Lovely dog at the front desk and the staff was really helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for the Trip Advisor review. I'm glad you had an opportunity to join our wine reception and that you were able to meet Timmy, our lobby dog. Hopefully we'll see you again next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I recently stayed here while attending a conference at Lewis and Clark law school. The hotel is gorgeous, beautifully decorated in a style that is funky, retro, yet classy and glamorous. If you are looking for something different than the usual chain hotel where everything is plain and has no character, this is your hotel. Also loved the location- I could walk to stores, restaurants, friends' hotels, and there was a large group of the famous Portland food trucks just up the street. The doorman was kind enough to point me towards a vegan restaurant within walking distance. The name escapes me at the moment, but it was delicious. I can't wait to stay here again on my next trip!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraTink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for the tripadvisor review and for the comments about our decor and location. I'm glad that you enjoyed our stay and that you had the opportunity to visit our famous food carts. I hope you'll have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We love the Portland Hotel Monaco. We have been staying with them every December since our granddaughter was 6 weeks old ahd we have pictures of her in front of 4 Monaco Christmas trees. We enjoy the ammenites of the wine reception, coffee and cocoa in the lobby, newspaper at the door in the morning and Timmy the dog. We love the Red Star Tavern for the great food and their forebearance with a small child in a nice restaurant. All the staff make us feel at home too. Our stay in December is our Christmas treat for ourselves-- but then we love to stay in the summer as well. We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oppa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you very much for the review and for making Hotel Monaco Portland part of your annual holiday traditions! We appreciate the great comments about our complimentary evening wine hour and other amenities. I'll be sure to pass on your excellent experience in Red Star Tavern & Roast House as well. See you for Holiday Season 2013 (and hopefully next summer as well).

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Really a superb place. Feels more European than standard run-of-the-mill American. Kimpton's in general are not as pretentiously glossy as a Ritz Carlton/ Four Seasons but still miles ahead of your standard Hyatt or Marriott. The Monaco has character. From the wine tasting in the lobby each evening, the cozy fireplace, the gentle giant house Golden Retriever that rules the first floor - all is very "gemuchlichkeit" in a Portlandia kind of way. Charm, comfort, walk anywhere neighborhood, tasteful furnishings - you won't go wrong staying at The Monaco
PS: Room service if fast and very tasty!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanAntonioBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you so much for the great comments. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and our unique character. I'll be sure to pass on the excellent feedback about our lobby dog, Timmy, and our room service. Thank you.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,735 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,390 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $207 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing