We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for over ten years. Every visit reminds me of why we return. The attention to detail, cleanliness and friendliness of the staff makes each of our visits enjoyable. The location of the hotel is a huge plus as we typically like to shop during our stay. My favorite rooms are those with the larger bathrooms.

Room Tip: request larger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland for over ten years. That's excellent to hear. Thank you for your repeat business and for making Hotel Monaco your Portland home.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,838 - 1,844 of 3,196 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

One of the most comfortable hotel experiences I have had, and this with an 8-month old baby. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and provided with a cot for baby, plus some unfrequented condiments. Great location, and also provides a well-organized and extremely popular Happy Hour with drinks, music and balloon animals for the kiddies.

Room Tip: We got a king suite, which was extremely comfortable and allowed some intra-family privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Monaco Portland with your eight month old baby. Thank you for the excellent comments about our guest rooms and our complimentary evening wine hour. Thank you for the review and I hope you're able to stay with us again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful 3-night stay in Portland at the Hotel Monaco. We will absolutely stay here every time we return. We enjoyed 3 nights in the 850 sq/ft Grand Suite and it was one of the largest, nicest rooms we've stayed in. With multiple bathrooms, a private corner bedroom with huge windows, and a large separate sitting room, we were truly impressed.

From check-in to check-out, our stay was flawless. The staff is friendly, helpful, and courteous. The hotel is clean and wonderfully decorated. The location of the hotel is perfect for walking around Portland - very close to the TriMet stop and easy to get to from the airport.

Take advantage of the evening happy hour for wine and snacks. Or walk next door (without going outside) to the attached restaurant. For free WiFi, be sure to sign up to be an "InTouch" member (it's free) before you arrive.

Keep in mind, you don't have to stay in the Grand Suite to enjoy your stay. We would have been happy w/ this hotel regardless of what room we had. We highly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Grand Suite and could not have been more impressed. At 850 sq/ft, it's huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for the trip advisor review and for the great comments about our grand suite. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed it! I'll be sure to pass on the great comments about our staff. Thank you for the great feedback. I hope you'll have the opportunity to come back and stay at Hotel Monaco Portland again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were shocked by the $38 a night for parking. It added an unexpected 120 to my already tight budget.
They also try to charge us 1.25 for local calls and 4.88 for long distance connection. They end up taking it out but what a nerve.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koblentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I love Kimpton hotels for their little attention to details. Little things like having many plugs by the beside table for personal electronics to charge overnight. Things like an awesome coffee/hot chocolate bar in the morning (with many toppings to select from), and the daily evening cocktail reception from 5-6pm. This Kimpton also had an art easel out for guests to draw during the reception hour, plus a gaming console for kids to stay entertained while parents drank. We had kids traveling with us, so we asked for a goldfish in our room for the kids to look at during our stay, and they immediately brought one over.

Free internet? Check. $10 to spend in the mini-fridge? Check. (both free through their free rewards program). Parking is steep - $38/night, w/in and out privileges. So we had planned on parking at a nearby public lot, which would've been $15/night w/o in and out privileges. When we checked in, we asked for the location of the public lot, and the check-in host said "how about I just give you half off parking", so we took that offer, for the convenience of not having to go 1/2 a block away to park.

Loved it, and will return. Great location, walking distance to everywhere you need to go in downtown (2 blocks from pioneer place shopping mall, 4 blocks from the nearest food truck pod, a few blocks from the waterfront park, 10 min walk from powell's.) Umbrellas are available to borrow if it starts raining. Water bottles are available for use in the gym.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank croelin1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you so much for the excellent review - it sounds like you had a great time. Thank you for joining out guest loyalty program, Kimpton In Touch. I'm glad that you took advantage of our Guppy Love program and that you had an opportunity to join our evening wine reception. I'm happy to read that the front desk took care of you during your stay. I'll be sure to thank them.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Another great stay at Kimptom. As always the service was stellar. We ended up having to cut our trip short by 24 hours and there was no charge for the change. It is a bit pricey since it was in the city but well worth it. The room was extremely clean, the bed heavenly and it is perfectly located in walking distance to a lot of great Portland finds. They had bikes but we didn't need them. Their hotel dog Tommy is a retired service dog and he makes it feel a little more like home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColetteandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for the review and for the great comments. I'm glad that you had the opportunity to meet Timmy, out lobby dog. Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland and I hope you'll have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We chose to stay here for my birthday weekend based on great tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Everyone was so friendly, we were upgraded upon check in and we loved the morning coffee and afternoon happy hours. The front desk even surprised me with a piece of birthday cake, a card and champagne. I would highly recommend this hotel for its staff and location. My only complaint was that there was a large water spot on our bedroom ceiling~ something I wouldn't expect for this level of property. Other than that, we had a wonderful weekend here and I would stay again in a minute.

Room Tip: We asked for the hypoallergenic floor because my husband is allergic to dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horns1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Monaco Portland for your birthday weekend. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the front desk sent you a birthday surprise. I'll be sure to let the front desk know that you enjoyed it. Thank you for the feedback about the water spot on your ceiling. We will find the water spot and fix it.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 146 in Portland
1,765 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 146 in Portland
1,424 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 146 in Portland
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $170 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing