We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service, outstanding location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, outstanding location”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Monaco for an extended weekend at the end of September, marking our 7th different Kimpton Hotel. As always the service was excellent, check-in was quick and friendly and the various hotel staff members were very helpful.

We booked a King corner room and were a bit disappointed to find out we were only on the Third floor. The room was spacious and comfortable, though I must admit the decor is eclectic in the extreme. There was a fair amount of traffic and street noise well into the night. Normally I would use my Kimpton In-Touch membership to request a room on a higher floor, but I booked through a third party and so wasn't able to take advantage of that benefit.

By far the best part of the Monaco - aside from the lovely wine/cocktails reception in the early evening - is its location. The hotel is literally minutes from many major downtown attractions. We walked to the Saturday Market, enjoyed some Voodoo Doughnuts, and were delighted with the abundance of restaurant choices very nearby.

The spouse is loathe to pay for expensive valet parking, but there is a parking garage at Pine and 4th where we were able to park for the whole weekend (Friday to Sunday) for $18. Once you arrive in Portland, transit is so good that you really don't need the in/out privileges of the valet. The Monaco is very close to the tram line.

All in all, a fantastic weekend at the Monaco.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on a higher floor to get away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turbot1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I'm happy to read that we had the pleasure of hosting a loyal Kimpton guest and Kimpton In Touch member! I'm glad that you enjoyed our location and service. I am sorry that you experienced street noise on the third floor. Feel free to contact me so that I may personally see to your reservation details when you stay with us in the future.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,334
    516
    117
    48
    19
See reviews for
586
1,297
205
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just one night into our 5 night stay and couldnt be happier, the room service and amenities. Especially with a child (6 years) we have enjoyed the free bikes, happy hour in the lobby that included painting with canvases. Super friendly service and huge spacious, stylish room. A surprise kids package came to the room while we were out, a stuffed animal, yo yo and bag were a huge hit.
Huge recommendation especially for families to please both the adults and kids.

Room Tip: we went for the junior sweet with a view. Tons of space and worth it for an extra $20ish
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bendlovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank your for the nice review! I'm happy to read that you received a kids pack and I hope your family had an opportunity to paint during our evening hosted wine reception. Thank you for staying with us and I hope we see you next time you're up in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The location is excellent, right in downtown Portland, walking distance from just about everything. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated in a homey fashion. Valet parking is prompt and the staff are great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks so much for you positive review of our hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

In summary this was a *terrific* place to stay. It's hard to provide much more information than the other extensive reviews, but for the record: The decor is vibrant and loud, we liked it. The king suite room on the 5th floor was spacious and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and was very helpful. There are not many flaws, but they do unfortunately keep it from a full 5-circle review. The first, and biggest one, is that the building is old and a retro-fit, so the walls are thin. I was able to clearly hear the screaming child next-door at 7am on a Sunday. The second is the ancient LodgeNet TV system is low-resolution and slow. The third is the bathroom is a bit cramped for a suite. With coffee service taking up much of the counter space (free coffee in the room is a perk), only one hook for all towels, no vent fan, it was quickly steamy and crowded.

I would stay here again, for sure.

Room Tip: King Suite rooms are split into two areas with sliding doors, each room (living and bedroom) can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyerFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks so much for your review of the hotel Monaco Portland. Your feedback is of critical importance to us. I am happy to report that we are investigating alternatives for our TV presentations at this very moment. Also, most of our suites offer larger counter space than the suite you occupied. On your next visit request counter space and we will make certain you get one of these suites.

We look forward to the pleasure of your next visit.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I will echo the positive comments here. I give it 4 stars instead of 5 because on weekends the restaurant does not open for breakfast until 8 am which is quite late for those of us who want or need to start the day early. Except for that our experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bet527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for your review of the hotel Monaco Portland. I did note your concern with our opening time on Saturday and Sundays, and I am in agreement that 8 am might not be convenient for our early risers. We will review our opening times at our next Executive Committee meeting. Thanks for your input.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first "family trip" with our 14 month old daughter and it was fantastic. The hotel was in an amazing location to walk around Portland. We did room service 1 night and it was fast and delicious. We got a larger King Suite and it was more then enough room for all of us and my daughter's toys. My daughter was beyond THRILLED to see the "hotel dog" lounging in the lobby. Customer Service was fantastic and they were helpful with directing us to restaurants and around the city. I thought the decor was awesome, fun and hip. We will stay here again next time we are in Portland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for your great review about your stay at the Hotel Monaco. We love feedback, and really love positive feedback.

Thanks again,

Craig


Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Decor of all the hotel rooms here is really outrageous. We tried to change but all rooms are the same. Their design team must have wanted something really out there because the decorating is really dramatic. We booked it because it was the number one like many people but wouldn't stay there again. The shampoo which looks like it is from an old American business "CO Apothecaries from 1836 "is now made in China which we found very offensive. In this uncertain time of recession, surely we don't need to have our shampoos outsourced as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mawsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for your recent review of the Hotel Monaco Portland. We really appreciate your taking the time to give us some very valuable feedback. I was not aware that our amenities were made in China. We will look into changing them out.

Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will fix it.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 141 in Portland
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing