We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Do Everything Right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“They Do Everything Right”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We chose to stay at the Monaco for 5 days after Christmas 2011 for the simple reason that it was downtown & would give us a central base to explore from. Being that it was rated #1 in Portland helped, but sometimes even a #1 for some people won't necessarily be a #1 experience for you. I'm happy to report that for us, the Monaco is deserving of the top spot.

Even before we arrived, I received an email from the hotel asking if there was anything we needed done for us before we arrived: dinner reservations? Suggestions on what to do or where to go? Something special in the room? Nice touch.

We booked 2 rooms: 1 with 2 queens and a pull out sofa, the other with 1 king and a pull out sofa for 6 of us. One room was ready so we dumped our luggage and went for lunch. An hour later the front desk called me to say the other room was ready.

These particular rooms are large (much appreciated with 4 teenagers in tow) and nicely appointed with a total of 4 flat panel large screen TVs in total. They don't cheap out on bath products or linens either - this is definitely a luxury boutique hotel.

The front desk staff was extremely helpful in finding us restaurants to dine at. We even approached them at 8 pm on New Years Eve asking them to find somewhere for us for supper - not an easy task on one of the busiest nights of the year, but they came through in less than 10 minutes. Also, when we needed extra pillows, champagne glasses, etc., the items were brought to our rooms in under 10 minutes.

The wine hour held every day in the lobby is very popular. A good portion of the hotel guests congregate here to sip local wines and mingle with other guests. You can even dig into some art supplies and paint a picture. One night, the hotel provided guests with legendary Voodoo Doughnuts to sample along with the wine.

Probably the gems of the staff though, are found underground. That's right - the fellows who park the cars are absolute fonts of information who gave us endless tips and suggestions on where to eat, where to hike, where to shop, and day trips off the beaten path. So here's a tip: if the front desk is too busy, go downstairs to the garage and talk to the boys.

This hotel is situated close to shopping (Macy's, Nordstroms, Pioneer Place), many restaurants, and the light rail transit system. We would, without hesitation, stay at the Monaco again -- and looking forward to it as Portland is a beautiful city with tons of good restaurants, cool boutiques and districts to explore.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderwoman10TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It is not only incredibly informative and helpful it is also spot on! Our staff are truly some of the best in the industry and all of them are "Local Experts" in some regard. You could ask any of our employees for travel tips in Portland and I am certain you would not be disappointed with their guidance. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Portland.

Warm Regards,

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,334
    516
    117
    48
    19
See reviews for
586
1,297
205
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We came to the Hotel Monaco because we had heard it was very dog friendly, which it is. We were very pleased to also find that the staff and environment was delightful for myself and my wife. We were there for the Christmas holiday, and it was so festive with the wine hour and the Christmas tree. The lobby is so warm with the fireplace and cozy chairs that we felt right at home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your comments as well as the 5 stars!

We hope to see you and your K-9 family members the next time you are in Portland.

Warmly,

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, our stay was perfect. We only wish we could have stayed longer! As a member of the Kimpton loyalty program we enjoyed the "Raid the Mini Bar" privilege and the evening happy hour with music was truly lovely. We used our free cocktail coupons for lunchtime beers at the adjoining Red Star Tavern, which was a great new find for us.

Even though we don't travel with our dogs, we love that this is a pet friendly hotel!

We will be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have virtually no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We were attending a concert mid December at Arlene Schnitzer, and the walk was a perfect distance. We decided to stop at the hotel bar for a nightcap afterwards, but were told last call had just been given. It was only 11:00 pm. The 5:00 wine gathering in the red room is nice, lovely grand piano being played, but nowhere to sit as there were many guests. We wound up taking our 2nd night hot toddy drinks to our room. The room was beautifully furnished, separate rooms divided by sliding glass french type doors. Nice bathroom amenities, size and very clean. The refrigerator was stocked with plenty of beverage choices if you wanted to pay for them, we took them out then returned them as there was no room for dinner leftovers. The honor basket was filled with nice expensive snacks, and a "personal" package for lovers. However there is a drug store around the corner for those who forget or need a last minute unplanned um, adventure-much less expensive I'm sure....on to the marshmallow looking beds.. They have wonderful soft bedding, nice pillows, beautiful! One problem though, the mattresses are soft on top, then harder than a rock a little below the surface. Never experienced that type of bed before, it was awful. Two nights of that & we were glad to leave. Parking is a nightmare downtown, we parked at a garage about a block down for $20 a night opposed to over $30 at the hotel. We hopped a bus for exploring, Portland is super easy to get around downtown , and even further on the rail. Deschutes brewery is just around the corner from Powell Books, the Cascade Blonde is crisp, light and fantastic. There are food trucks aplenty parked a few blocks from the hotel, every kind you could possibly want. All in all a pleasant 2 days, not sure if we would stay at the Monaco again, only because of the beds and the experience after the concert at the bar/lounge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klingonlursa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. As a hotel that strives to be the best in both service and care your feedback is so important to us. I am sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable but am glad to hear you enjoyed your hotel stay otherwise. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the General Manager of our restaurant as well so they can make changes to their hours as they see fit.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that you will return the next time you are in Portland.

Sincerely,

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was our third stay at The Monaco in Portland and as always we loved it. It feels like coming home. The staff is always charming and helpful. The rooms and suites are large, comfortable and well appointed. The hosted wine hour has gotten so popular we could not squeeze in this past December but we are delighted that the hotel has become so popular.

Leslie W

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for being such a loyal guest. I am sorry however that wine hour was a little too crowded while you were here. If this happens during your next stay let our front desk know and we would be happy to set up a little wine hour in your room!

See you next time,

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is a great hotel. We stayed one night a few days before Christmas. All was fine until ~ midnight when a group returned to the neighboring room and then had a loud party until around 5. I should have called the desk (my fault that I didn't). In the morning I told a young man at the front desk and he apologized for the problem and said the hotel has a firm no noise policy. He offered to pick up our parking garage charge which we accepted. We have stayed here often and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. As a hotel that strives to be the best your feedback is so important to us. I am so glad to hear that you stay with us often while visiting Portland and we hope that you continue to do so. I am sorry however that your neighbors kept you up during your most recent visit. As the front desk told you we do have a No-Party policy at the Monaco so please contact the front desk with any noise complaints and we will handle them promptly and discretely.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warmly ,

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

What care they took to make our anniversary special. Great corner room with a fabulous view of the city. As always, they were so helpful with all our needs and made us feel so relaxed for our special day. Great job again on making our stay one to remember.

Room Tip: The corner Kings are wonderful for lighting and a better view. Higher floors are always the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdccampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,689 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 141 in Portland
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing