We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST-STAY while in Portland!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
vegas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A MUST-STAY while in Portland!”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Hotel Monaco is a fabulous hotel. The decor is welcoming and inviting, the fireplace in the lobby is cozy to sit by and the staff is friendly. The rooms are tastefully decorated and quiet. We slept like babies during our stay. This is one of the best well managed and ran hotels I have ever stayed at - and I travel quite a bit. Not only are they pet-friendly, they are people friendly. Love the Hotel Monaco and we will stay there often.

Room Tip: If you have an opportunity to upgrade, it's worth it. The rooms are fantastic. If you aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGirlWithAPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,340
    520
    120
    48
    19
See reviews for
592
1,301
205
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I began our rail (Amtrak) vacation on Sept. 3rd, our first stop was Glazier National Park. I had an accident that required surgery and left me in a cast and unable to walk. During my stay in the hospital we had to decide if we should continue on with our vacation or fly home from Montana. I wanted to continue and promised if things were too difficult we would fly home from our next stop which was Portland, Oregon. My husband called the Hotel Monaco and explained our situation. There was a wheel chair available upon arrival and we were upgraded to a handicap suite. A bath chair was also provided. The staff was extremely accomadating. The bellboy, Joseph provided us with information regarding places of interest that I could access and enjoy. We originally were planning on doing a lot of biking. We rented a car and enjoyed the sights of Portland. When we returned to our room there was a get well card, flowers and a bottle of wine. All of this was in addition to the comfortable bedding,great location and the entertainment provided each evening duing the wine/beer hour. Needless to say we did not fly home. Next stop would be San Francisco where we had reservations at another Kimton hotel, Hotel Triton.
After my experience I have learned that it is worth the extra cost for the services provided. The kimpton group went above and beyond for us. Thank you !

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
What a great read! It is reviews like this that make me proud to work with such an amazing group of people. I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took such great care of you. We hope that you enjoyed your visit to the Triton just as much... I personally love their "ice cream" room.

Let us know the next time you are visiting Portland. Maybe you will be ready to try out some of those bike paths by then.

Sincerely,

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2011

By far, this was best experience I have ever had at a hotel. I was truly impressed with the staff and their desire to make my stay extraordinary. My wife and I were celebrating our one year anniversary and your hotel made our vacation unique and special. A week before our stay they emailed me asking if they could offer a complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary. When we got to the hotel, they upgraded our room - without us even asking for it. Truly a great hotel and staff. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate all of your feedback... especially since it is so positive! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Maybe for your next anniversary but hopefully before that.


Warmest Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We went to Portland this month for my husband to run the marathon and found a great deal at the Hotel Monaco, A Kimpton Hotel. We'd never stayed at a Kimpton property but were so pleasantly surprised. The staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating throughout our stay. We were traveling with our 8-month old son and needed a crib which I had called ahead to reserve, and sure enough, when we got our room, it was there, already set up, waiting and with a teddy bear to boot!!! We had gotten a suite, so it allowed a more "private" space for our son to sleep and my husband and I to be able to watch tv, talk, have dinner, etc. and everything was so comfortable. The first night in we ordered room service, the phone staff was super friendly and attentive to our needs, and the waiter who brought it up knocked gently only once, as he said he knew "the little one was probably already asleep." !!!!!! (knocked my husband and my socks off with that one....so thoughtful!!!). The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. BTW, if you're a mac and cheese fan, you MUST MUST MUST order the one on the room service menu (which I think is in the restaurant as well, but I'm not sure as we never got down to dine there). It's hands down one of the best I've tried, EVER. (and I'm a fan).

Overall the hotel is a quirky, eclectic mix of decor, both in the public spaces as well as the rooms. I adored that they have a welcome sign for the doggies staying at the hotel each day! We don't have a dog (yet), but we're big animal lovers and I thought that was such a nice detail. Staff is friendly and the room we had was very comfortable, spacious and adequate for a couple with a young child, although I did notice that the sofa in the "living room" was a sofa bed, so it would probably sleep two older children without a problem.

We would definitely stay there again and Portland is a fantastic city worth going back to!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexicanheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you so much for your review! I have already passed along your comments to our room service staff and they are just as thrilled as I am that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope that you will be back the next time you are in Portland... maybe with a new four-legged family member.

Warm Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed here for a night after a long alaskan cruise. Not only was the hotel well appointed but the service was remarkable. From the unique customized amenities to the thoughtfulness of the staff. Be sure to stay here, it a MUST!

Room Tip: Grand Suite was AWESOME
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickolaoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Monaco in Portland recently. We were so pleasantly surprised. We have fallen in love with Portland and had no idea it was such a "dog town". The Monaco was beautifully decorated, helpful friendly staff, great food, luxurious rooms, all the way down to the tiger bath robe. The best part was saying hello to Timmie, the yellow lab mascot! What a great team and family atmosphere. Thanks Kimpton Hotels! Gina Milliron

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginamilliron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-town, OR
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Had a surprise night here for my birthday and it was a wonderful.
When we checked in, we were instantly upgraded (no charge) to a lovely suite when they found out it was my birthday. Within minutes of getting to the room, we were gifted champagne on ice! The room(s) are huge, very spacious with a separate bed "room" area. The decor is unlike any other and the bed is actually divine. Free wine at happy hour in the swanky lobby area along with tasty dinner and apps at Red Star Tavern, the restaurant attached.
Fabulous service from valet to bartender.
Only drag was that the 6 phone calls to local places cost me almost $15 :-(
PHONE CALLS SHOULD BE FREE!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enz_503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,367 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing