We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff great Hotel Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #3 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Staff great Hotel Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2007

Stayed at this hotel during the Davis Cup finals and have mixed feelings about it. As someone who stays at Westins for business 20 times a year and Four Seasons and Mandrian's on vacations I can say that the staff at this Klimpton property goes out of their way whenever possible but the property is limited.

The front desk/ bell staff will try to help you everway possible, from printing your boarding passes, to calling 10 places to get you a reservation on a last minute request. They never blinked an eye. The rooms were alright, the linens were nice, but the desk, couch were not comfortable or practical. The windows are drafty as it is an old building so if it is cold be prepared to keep drapes closed to stay warm.

Lastly in regards to the room, the bathrooms might have aveda products but that does not take away from bathrooms that look and feel like they should be in a Holiday Inn Express not a Klimpton property.

Regarding dinning, The Red Eye Tavern is a great place but it is New American so might not be for everyone. If boar and venison is not your type of dining then your in room and on property dinning selection is limted.

The location is limited as it is downtown and the streets are very deserted at night and on the weekends, Even wih the Holiday season and Macys and Saks near by nobody on sidewalks at 5:00pm on a Sunday.


Overall this hotel is nice but be prepared that it is not over the top in anyway.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EvanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,292
    507
    117
    46
    18
See reviews for
570
1,272
203
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2007

Very nice and clean, queen bed room w/ large flat screen television....the decor is kinda cirque de soleil inspired but nice overall.....they have free starbucks in the morning and a wine hour (which I didn't attend but the other guests seemed to be their en masse).

Hotel staff were helpful and friendly, professional.

  • Liked — Central location, cleanliness, well trained staff who are friendly and professional.....
  • Disliked — The bathroom didn't have a vent / fan.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank georgieasnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2007

The first impression of the lobby is, admittedly, that of pseudo-Moroccan technicolor. However, the rooms themselves are large, with beautiful bathrooms. Be prepared for bright colors and patterns, but they somehow do work. Our TV stand had a pattern of philosophers on it (yes, the real people) to go with the wild graphic carpet. We had a large corner room with windows all around, and were very pleased. Plus, they accept pets.

  • Liked — Decor, location
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jenna0043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2007

I stayed at the Hotel Monaco the last two times I visited Portland. The rooms are generously sized and clean. The gym facilities are nice, and the available machines seem to be well maintained. The staff has always been incredibly friendly and helpful. My favorite member of the staff is Art, the golden labrador retriever who is the "Director of Pet Relations" at the hotel. Helpful note: Don't pet Art while waiting for the elevator. When the doors open, Art walks into the elevator every time.

My one critique: Definitely ask for one of the quiet rooms. In October, my room faced a building that was under construction. My sister requested a "quiet room" and was placed on the other side of the building from me. Had we stayed longer than two nights, I probably would have requested a different room. That said, the hotel is otherwise fantastic.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank amyuga06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2007

AWESOME HOTEL. We stayed in a king suite and it was beautiful, luxurious, comfortable and had wonderful details, like a goldfish and a soft teddy bear that my son absolutely loved. The sofa bed was very comfortable for him; he had his own TV and we were able to have complete privacy from him. Great location, close to everything but the zoo and within walking distance to shopping, great restaurants, nightlife, Sat. market, etc. I would stay there again and again!

  • Liked — luxurious
  • Disliked — don't have anything bad to say about this hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jeaniebeanie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2007

We love staying at the Embassy Suites Downtown just down the street. It is one of our favorite hotels in the world. We kept reading about the change that has taken place at the old 5th ave suites, which is now the Monaco. We enjoyed the modern colorful design of the lobby. The staff was wonderful, especially Art, the yellow lab dog that works there. He is a breath of fresh air in a hotel stay. He lives the dogs life by receiving love by everyone and the fringe benefit of running down the halls cleaning off room service trays left out. It is really something to see. Our King suite was very interesting again in the design and color scheme. We really enjoyed it and the bed was great. We will continue to stay at the embassy suites (Old Multnomah Hotel), but will sneak into the Monaco on occasion for a very nice change.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ModernTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2007

We stayed in a junior suite at the Hotel Monaco recently while we visited some colleges with our youngest daughter. The room was beautiful and set up nicely since she had her own television and a very comfortable bed/pull out sofa in the living room. The location was great, and one thing that really stood out was the staff. EVERYONE was so friendly, nice and helpful. We had fun every morning and evening chatting with the guys working valet...they had lots of great advice about places to go and eat and the front desk staff was great. We had dinner the first evening in the restaurant and it was excellent. We had reservations in the main dining room, but when our daughter asked for the "tavern menu" because she wanted a burger, they brought it immediately and said no problem.

We would definitely stay here again...the price was good, service was excellent, rooms were clean, comfortable and very nice.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing