We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous weekend at the Monaco!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
cascadia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Another fabulous weekend at the Monaco!”
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Monaco is definitely my favorite hotel in Portland, when we're leaving the dogs behind. It's totally dog friendly, and dog stays are even free, but my two require frequent walks, and the walking spots are pretty far away from this downtown hotel. Timmy, the hotel dog, is charming.

The service at Monaco is unbeatable. The only minus at the Kimpton hotels is that the windows don't open, so the rooms are hermetically sealed. The beds have these big, fluffy down comforters on them. The thermostat is set for a minimum of 64, and the temperature outside that night was 39. Now every good energy-conserver knows that 64 is too hot for sleeping, and I'm so unaccustomed to overheated rooms, I had difficulty getting comfortable the first night. But one call was all it took to get the thermostat turned down to 60 for a lovely few hours of extra sleep . Thanks, Monaco, and here's hoping you can figure out a way to cool these sealed rooms without breaking the bank.

The front desk person was super helpful, and even stored my farmer's market greens in the concierge refrigerator overnight. The attendant came up to the room to help me figure out the TV--turns out I had the wrong remote....

Our suite was attractive, spacious, and quiet, and room service was great, Wine hour was hopping, with a good pianist playing one night, and a fabulous guitarist the next.

Monaco's location is the best--an easy walk to everywhere west of the river.

I had picked up on a travelzoo offer to Spa Sasse, just around the corner from the hotel, and had a very good massage and facial there--highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,340
    520
    120
    48
    19
See reviews for
592
1,301
205
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

When I walked in the doors I knew I would love this hotel, and I was right. The people at the front desk were very friendly (including the dog!). The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. I had a big desk with free wifi. Everything was very efficient: check-in, valet, room service, housekeeping. The location is fantastic! The happy hour was a lot of fun. They had music, free wine and snacks, and an easel with supplies for the guests to paint on. The decor and seating is fun and comfortable. There is no doubt that I will stay here again next time I am in Portland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DecaturOurDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

As per others reviews, we too enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Monaco. It's well-located for a city break with young kids. Everything is within walking distance (we didn't use our car again until departing Portland), including the MAX train which took us to the zoo. The staff were so helpful from restaurant recommendations for families with kids to sorting out bedding etc. The crib came with baby bath supplies, and our three year old was invited to participate in the Easter egg hunt in the hotel lobby. I thank the staff who worked hard to make this event very special for the Hotel Monaco guests and their children - the stuffed animal prizes we won are most loved! All in all the hotel is clean, comfortable - great beds and pillows and the sliding doors between the bedroom and lounge in the king suite made for a good sleep! We'll definitely stay again when next in your lovely city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twoduvets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This hotel is very welcoming and fun - from the wine social to the fortune teller to the hotel dog, this place rocks!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbugSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We have stayed in literally hundreds of hotels with the stay just previous to the Monaco at a JW Marriott. No comparison - the Monaco wins! This hotel offers exceptional customer service, well appointed clean rooms, and lots of extras for frequent guest members, i.e., complimentary wine in our room, complimentary waters, a fun hosted wine/beer hour with an amazing piano player. The hotel is centrally located and absolutely convenient. Every time we entered or left the hotel we were acknowledged. The staff is incredibly knowledgeable about the local area. This hotel is absolutely pet friendly!!! We highly recommended it!

Room Tip: Join Kimpton Frequent Guest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sail45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Wow! Thank you so much for your compliments. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as all of our amenities. We hope that you will be back to see us soon.

Warm Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Very friendly staff, from the door man to the valet. $33 for overnight parking is a bit steep I think. The room was on the 5th floor and the windows actually let in a lot of the noise. But the hotel was super clean and had high ceilings. The simple design made the small room seem very open.

Room Tip: walk and explore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinny614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that our staff treated you well during your stay. We certianly hope you will be back to visit. When you do return be sure to ask reservations about packages that include complimentary parking.

See you soon,

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and I totally enjoyed our three-night stay at the Hotel Monaco Portland, in the heart of central Portland. There are so many positive things to say, but I should begin by praising the hotel crew. Everyone that I met, from manager to waithelp, from the front desk staff to the room cleaners--we enjoyed friendly, courteous, and fun people. The hotel itself had a B&B-like, warm ambience from the entryway with cut-glass doors and inviting lounge with fireplace to our comfy room with fluffy pillows and many nice touches like local art. The food in the hotel's Red Star was really great and reasonably priced. Did I mention that this hotel is very conveniently located near the MAX (metropolitan area express light rail) lines, streetcars and major bus routes? The PDX airport is less than hour by MAX light rail from a station within a short walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is also, amazingly, pet-friendly (a first for us, even though we don't travel with our cat) and very eco-friendly. The featured local artists added a nice cultural touch to the lobby area. I would definitely stay at this first-class hotel (but not pricey!) again and recommend it to friends. It is a must-stay hotel for one of Portland's great experiences (and there are many!). During our brief stay (too brief!!), we explored the famous Japanese Garden to the west, checkout out the popular Lan Su traditional Chinese garden to the north, and had a great breakfast at Martha's Bistro to the east. This hotel is perfect for anyone who wants a central base to explore the Portland area.

Room Tip: Check out the wine tasting at 5 pm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seiji0544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,368 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing