We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely and conveniently located boutique hotel that goes the extra mile for customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #3 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely and conveniently located boutique hotel that goes the extra mile for customer service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

We found this hotel looking for a convenient downtown location and were truly impressed. Despite staying for a very short time, we had a very memorable stay. I received a personalized email in advance of the stay asking for any special requests, and the staff, up to and including the general manager, went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The rooms were sparkling and distinctively decorated and rates were quite reasonable for the location and class of service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RatDog74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,293
    507
    117
    46
    18
See reviews for
570
1,272
203
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Staff: My trip to Portland was made more enjoyable by the Hotel Monaco staff. I was in town for a convention being held by the University of Oregon and was impressed from the moment I walked through the front door and was greeted by the front desk agent. I had a package shipped directly to the hotel prior to my arrival, and while I was being checked in the agent informed me that my package was available. Each time I had a question or concern the staff was quick to answer/resolve with a smile.

Amenities: The lobby area to the right of the entrance is spacious and welcoming. They have a mixer each night from 5-6 with free beer and wine. They had a pianist playing to provide ambiance. One of the additional touches that I found family friendly was that they have a tv set up with a Wii, crayons & coloring books, and an easel and paint to keep the children entertained. They provide free wi0fi if you sign up for their loyalty program which was nice. The workout facility has newer equipment that was all in working condition. The cable channels were different, and more abundant in the gym than in the hotel room itself which was a little weird. I do not think they had a pool/sauna which is the only thing that would have made it a complete fitness center. They also offer complimentary "rental" bikes if you have time for it; they ask for a donation of $5 to support the local biking community which is very reasonable.

Pets: This is a pet friendly location. There were several guests walking around with their dogs. They also offer pet goldfish which can be delivered to your room...yes, that is for real.

Room: The rooms were designed and decorated very similar. There was a "living room" area with a tv, sofa with pullout bed, desk, and a stocked mini fridge. There were sliding doors to separate this area from the bedroom which had very comfortable queen beds, and a flatscreen tv on top of a dresser. Everything was clean and well presented.

Food: There is a restaurant downstairs with a direct entrance from the lobby. From the outside it looked like a relaxed local pub but once inside it was more of an upscale dining restaurant. If you are looking for a nice sit down dinner it may be fine, but we were not looking for a $20 burger so we asked the front desk for some local suggestions and they recommended a couple brewpubs and the "pods" (food trucks/carts) that are two blocks north; we ate at the pods for 4 days and was able to get something completely different each day that tasted incredible.

Cost: I prefer to spend my $$ on activities so at $220+ per night I generally would not stay at a downtown location like the Monaco, but I received a discounted rate of almost 50% off due to the convention I was there for which made it a great deal. Even at the normal full rate it is comparable to other hotels in a downtown area, yet you get more for that amount here than at a Hilton or Westin or Hyatt .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmurdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. I am so glad you had the chance to stay with us and experience all of the great amenities we offer. It was a pleasure to have your group in the hotel and we look forward to your next stay.

P.S. Now that you are a member of Kimpton InTouch your are eligible for all kinds of great rates at all of our properties around the United States. Happy Travels!

Warmly,

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Just came back from a comfy and classy stay at Hotel Monaco. Loved the decor throughout the entire hotel and the spacious room. Very soft pillows and linens. Great nightly happy hour in lobby. Staff was beyond professional and courteous. Pet friendly, but if no pets you stay on the hypo-allergenic floor and can get a free goldfish in your room for your stay--cute amenity!! Food at the Red Star restaurant next door was amazing, though not for those on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violetruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Monaco and were entirely satisfied with every aspect. Our family of four (two teen daughters) were very comfortable in the King Premier Suite which was discounted a little with a promo we found on their web site. The other recent reviews were accurate in their assessment of the service and facility so I won't repeat, but we even took advantage of their offer to provide a temporary pet during out stay...an adopted goldfish the girls call "Freddy". The hotel provided the fish bowl, Freddy, and took care of the daily feeding. A nice "home-like" touch during our stay! We always try to search out Kimptons and have yet to be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit here at the Monaco Portland. I am also glad to hear that Freddy was a great roommate. I hope that you will be back to see us (and Freddy) in the future.

Warm Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

This is by far one of the best hotels I have stayed in. It is situated Downtown Portland and is within walking distance of everything Portland has to offer. The decor is lovely, the staff are so friendly and seem to go out of their way to make sure your needs are met. The rooms are luxurious right down to the feather pillows! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

very comfortable, service was great and location for downtown was perfect. We'd definitely stay there next time we're in Portland.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelleyinnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

We got a great deal on our recent stay because the hotel matched a cheap internet rate. They then inquired if it was a special event which it was (my birthday) so, not only did they comp the $33/day parking fee but left a lovely bottle of champagne in our room. They couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating, from the well provided-for fitness room to the umbrellas for the inevitable rain. There's a little wine/beer hour with live piano player every night. Our room (a corner king) was large with a huge and lovely bathroom. Bed could have been a bit firmer but linens were beautiful. Perfect location in downtown PDX.

Room Tip: Join Kimpton affinity program for best deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing