We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! What a Beautiful Sight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
Ranked #50 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed March 29, 2008

My husband and I have five children, ages ranging from 5 to 21 years. We live in southern oregon, and wanted to take the kids to Portland for a few days during Spring Break.

Our 13-year-old daughter saw the hotel from the street, begging us to check on availability and price. When we all walked inside, we were literally awestruck. We had never been in a hotel quite like this one! It was like a tropical resort all wrapped inside a building! There is an enormous atrium with waterfalls, streams and fish swimming around the lobby. Trees, bushes and foliage are everywhere! Looking straight ahead we saw three glass elevators, and rooms facing us in all directions, up to 8 levels. There is a domed ceiling/skylight, which made us feel like we were in a sunny location, although in reality it was cold and snowy outside!

We chose a room on the seventh floor overlooking the ENORMOUS atrium. The two-room suite had the living room on one side with window looking out into the atrium and the bedroom with windows overlooking the east end of the airport on the other. It was perfect because the kids enjoyed watching airplanes take off and land. We had two double beds in the bedroom (which were exceptionally comfortable and beautiful) and a pull out sofabed in the living room. Each room has a cable television, with movies, music and games available for purchase. Regular tv is free. Be careful when trying to select a channel. If you press MENU on the remote, the selections cost money. Our daughter inadvertently chose a music station, and our room was charged $14.99 for the service. At checkout, however, the charges were reversed. Our room came with a refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. High-end soaps and lotions were included in the spacious and really nice bathroom. Razors, toothbrushes, toothpaste, etc. are available for free if you forgot yours at home!

The hotel included two medium bottles of water in the refrigerator (WARNING: DO NOT DRINK THE WATER UNLESS YOU WANT TO PAY $3.50 PER BOTTLE). The cost is clearly written on the label, but just be aware in case you have curious thirsty children!

We attended a free Reception (children were allowed) from 5:30 to 7:30 PM. A limited array of alcoholic drinks (Jim Beam, House Tequila, Scotch, Coffee Liquor, Triple Sec, Vodka, and Gin plus draft beer and wine), non-alcoholic beverages, and some salty bar snacks (such as Goldfish) were included. (Not exactly the 'manager's appetizers' we envisioned when the reception was being described). We enjoyed sitting in the lounge area of the bar with our children, listening to the waterfall, and gazing skyward at the rooms, ceiling and glass elevators. Other folks also brought their children and their board games along. A very family-friendly atmosphere!

The morning's free breakfast (from 6:00 to 9:00 AM) was EXCEPTIONAL! Omelets (including all egg white) and eggs made to order, fresh waffles, fruit, biscuits, juice, coffee, cereal, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, country fries and much more was available. The only item that we didn't care for at all was the blueberry muffins, which were inedible and made with artificial blueberry pieces. The only bad part was that it ended at 9:00 AM. After 9:00 AM, you had to PAY for breakfast, but it wasn't buffet style. The kitchen was beautiful, and the chefs were very nice and accomodating. Again, we were awestruck.

The children (and my hubby) enjoyed the large swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna and weight room. Several other families brought along balls and pool toys. Fun, fun, fun!

Michael, at the front desk, was exceptional. Good job, Michael. We love you!

As taking 5 kids to the dining room was a little expensive for us, we called Pizza Hut, who delivered right to our suite door! What a plus!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vandy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,238 - 1,244 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2008

Frequented by single businessmen looking really horny. Would not want to stay here as a single woman.

All paper products (TP, facial tissue, even the napkins) were hard as wood----cheap cheap cheap.
t?
Stinky: our room smelled of smoke from 1979 or something. It stunk of ciggys and the carpet was FILTHY---bathroom corners were all mucky, and the remote control was frightening.

Staff was attentive but it seemed like they all knew something you did not. Creepy guy in the kitchen area (it is open) staring at you while you get your breakfast.....what did he know that I did no Breakfast was free and greasy.

Bar at managers reception was a nice surprise but again full of businessmen (lonely guys).

A very weird experience at a stinky hotel. Not again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sissy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Stayed here two nights for business and loved it. The room I stayed in was huge and what I expect from an Embassy Suites. The bed is incredibly comfortable and the room was very clean.

The breakfast and managers reception are a great benefit - highly enjoyed both.

Since this property is next to the airport there are not a ton of options nearby for food. There is however a new shopping/food area about a mile away that is being built up which has some dining options (mostly fast food).

All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AJHubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

Chose the Embassy Suites based on the reviews and also it's proximity to the airport.

Check in was a breeze and we were made to feel most welcome.

We spent three nights at the hotel touring around the Portland area including a drive down the coast. On our return each night we enjoyed the Managers Reception.

The breakfast was also of a high quality and the selection was very good.

We ate in the bar and the Water's Grille as there are not too many dining choices in the area, at least as best we could tell. The food and service were of a high quality.

The suite was very well laid out and clean. Some noise was evident from the planes taking off in the early morning, but not overly intrusive.

We did return to the hotel later in the week for an overnight on the way home and the staff made us feel like we were old friends.

Did run into a problem with noise from a large group of young children in the hotel on the weekend, but our request was handled in a very professional manner and to our satisfaction.

Would return again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vicguy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

This is the second time I've stayed at the Embassy Suites en-route to a business meeting further south in Oregon and my experience was definitely on par with last years visit. After a 15 hour flight this is definitely the sort of place that you want to see - generous sized rooms, comfortable bed, pristine bathroom and positive service.

As a bonus I was given an 8th floor suite with a magnificent view of Mount Hood, but any room would have met my needs.

The breakfast is varied, good quality and very filling. I was able to keep going until late afternoon on my intake.

Also worth mentioning, is a small convenience store on the premises, where you can stock up with those essentials, ie toothpaste, aspirin that so easily get forgotten before a trip.

The only minor irritation I experienced was when I was unable to access the hotel's wireless network, which nobody on the premises could help me with. However the problem was solved effectively when a maintenance person brougt me a cable to connect to an alternative broadband network.

I will be staying here again on future trips to Oregon

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Jazzman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

My husband and I have preferred Embassy Suites for at least 15 years and the quality of their "product" never seems to waver. This time we needed a "last night" airport refuge after a long, wonderful vacation through central Oregon and up the coast, and before the following day's long air travel.

As always, the ES came through. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and QUIET! The staff is wonderful. I had left my prescription sunglasses in our rental car at nearby Thrifty and Dawn at the desk and their shuttle driver (Tim or Tom?) were enormously kind and helpful as I tried to recover them (successful - the Thrifty people were also most helpful. People in Oregon are very friendly!)

The manager's reception was quite adequate, considering it is complimentary with a room that was $114! The scotch was J&B, which is a good quality product and the salsa was tasty, in a nice setting.

We needed a light dinner without travel or fuss and the restaurant provided. We shared two appetizers (crab cakes and ahi spring rolls - both really excellent!) and asked to share a dinner salad. The server realized we actually both preferred different dressings even though we settled on one, so brought us each what we wanted without being asked. He was excellent and pleasant (Thank you, Indir!)

The breakfast is top drawer. I was pleased with the variety and stunned at how perfect the scrambled eggs were on a buffet line - most unusual! We didn't try the omelettes, but they seemed popular.

The final touch was the airport shuttle driver who offered coffee!

All in all, I'll always pick an Embassy Suites for comfort and superb value.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank anneofthieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We stayed at the Embassy Suites Hotel Portland Airport 9/20 & 9/21. We had been all around the area for the last 8 days and decided to stay for 2 nights at the airport before flying out. Everyone was friendly and the hotel & room were great. We did request to have our room cleaned in the morning and when we arrived back at 2:30pm it still hadn't been cleaned. I phoned housekeeping and they came right up and cleaned the room. Other than that, the hotel rates very high on our list.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Journey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#42 of 144 in Portland
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport

Address: 7900 NE 82nd Avenue, Portland, OR 97220-1388
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Portland
#35 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $128 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland
Portland Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Airport Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing