We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portland Marriott City Center
Ranked #44 of 142 Hotels in Portland
California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Central location, comfortable rooms”
Reviewed September 2, 2006

We had a comfortable weekend stay at the hotel. Very convenient location in the middle of the city, safe walking around to restaurants etc in the evening (but careful walking to Chinatown at night!). Rooms were nicely furnished. Views were typical urban scenery mainly of the building across the street. Our particular room had a problematic shower that was quickly fixed the next morning. Overall, very satisfactory and up to Marriott standards. To save 60% on parking, self-park in the garage next door instead of valet-park.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bc399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    318
    115
    28
    17
See reviews for
107
205
57
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

My wife and I took the MAX train from the airport, which dropped us 2 blocks from the Marriott. We had an 11th floor deluxe King room which I think is their standard. The website shows a deluxe King room that's situated on the front corner of the building with a curved window. These rooms a "premium" and require advanced booking. I knew I would be getting a standard room from the reviews I read, so I wasn't disappointed. The room was very nice, clean, and had a great bed and shower. There was a nice chair & ottoman in the room that was incredibly comfy. Also had a desk, and TV cabinet - no refrigerator. The bed had a very soft "pillow top" which was a little on the soft side, but still flat and very comfy. Warm colors with nice wallpaper, and perfectly clean. The bathroom was a little small but clean and nicely appointed. The room was extremely quiet.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room on the 11th floor had ok views, but looking straight out (west), our view was the top of the building across the street. A much higher or lower view would probably be better, as you would see the face of the building instead of the roof. Rooms facing north would have better views, as would the premium corner rooms. There were restaurants and shopping all directions within easy walking distance, and there is a Rite Aid right around the corner. There is no need to rent a car if visiting the downtown area - it's very people friendly with free busses, trolleys and light rail (MAX).

Helpful?
10 Thank Steve&April
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

My wife and I stayed over the 4th of July holiday weekend. The staff were helpful and very service-oriented, especially room service. We opted for a corner room and landed one on the 17th floor, providing great panoramic views to the west for sunset, and to the north for Mt. St. Helens. The bed and linens were as nice as advertised. The location is convenient to the highways, and is within short walks of many high-quality restaurants and stores. Overall, the value for money was superior to that of more expensive properties in other cities; this hotel probably compares very well with similar hotels in Portland.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

We checked in late night and requested to have a room with 2 beds and no issues with that. Check-in was a bit slow but that's alright, they were very detailed in explaining the hotel amenities. We got a room on the 9th floor and the room was just fantastic! Just what we needed from our long road trip in Vancouver, BC. There was no view at all, our window overlooked other buildings instead, maybe we got this room cuz we booked our reservation through priceline?! Don't know.

Husband and kids went to try the whirlpool 1 hour before they closed it and came back happy and relaxed. So it was definitely good. The beds were really nice and comfortable with goose down feather beds and goose down comforters plus bed shaw.

Valet parking was good, even though price was hefty at $24 per night with in/out privilages but for us it was late and didn't feel like walking 2 blocks with kids in hand plus baggage. So we just went for it.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2006

This was a beautiful hotel, with very friendly service. Our room was extremely comfortable and roomy. Great location.

Helpful?
2 Thank jeanneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island,WA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2006

I've stayed at the Portland Marriott City Center twice in the past month and found it to be a very pleasant surprise. The staff at the door, desk, restaurant and room service were all very friendly and pleasant. The rooms are nice, and in good condition. My perception was that the non-suite rooms were just a little smaller than a typical Marriott room, maybe just 5% smaller. But it may have just been the layout that made it seem that way. On previous visits I have regularly stayed at the Heathman but we found this to offer many of the benefits of the Heathman for roughly half the price. The location is hard to beat because it so central to the light rail, shopping and downtown neighborhoods. Room service was very fast and fairly priced.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, WA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2006

My husband's family lives outside of Portland so occassionally we stay at the Marriott City Center. You can't beat the $99/night during the weekend. Valet is a lot($23) and we read about complaints from people finding their cars on the street, (sometimes even unlocked). We park at the Smart Park by the Pioneer Place mall, which is about 2 blocks away. Most stores will validate. One time we stayed for 2 nights and our parking the whole time came to $13. The rooms are nice, the bar is good (for a hotel bar), the buffet is great, and I LOVE the fitness room. It's also a block from Nordstrom's (my favorite!) and next to Peet's coffee. We walked everywhere so it was nice to not use our car. I definitely recommend this hotel - we've stayed here about 8 times and have never had a bad experience. Plus, when you shop downtown there is no tax!!! One time we took the train down (which was okay, not sure if I would do it again. It took 4 hours from Tukwila because it was stopped for 30 min. in vancouver each way). Our father-in-law picked us up when we arrived and he left his car in the valet area for 15 minutes and they were really nice about it. On our way out of town we walked to the train station - its 12 blocks from the hotel. We needed the exercise since we pretty much sit in cubicles all day!

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank sadiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#24 of 142 in Portland
916 reviews
Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
#42 of 142 in Portland
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 142 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,485 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#41 of 142 in Portland
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott City Center

Property: Portland Marriott City Center
Address: 520 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
#34 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#35 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Rose City, the Marriott Portland City Center on Broadway allows guests to tap into the pulse of Portland s most enchanting urban rhythms. Boasting the city's best location our hotel is a travelers delight. Centrally located to the business district, shopping, restaurants and convenient to MAX Light rail we have it all! Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we have everything you need for the perfect stay. Green Seal Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Portland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing