We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location But Nothing Spectacular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portland Marriott City Center
Ranked #37 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Location But Nothing Spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Please read my profile for my biases.

I am a big Marriott fan, and this was the last Marriott property in Portland I had yet to try. There were a couple of reasons for this. First, it tends to be booked solid and second it is a bit pricey. When I found out months ago that I needed to be in Portland I was able to get a room at a decent (yet still spendy) rate and I was eagerly awaiting this visit.

Meh.

It's hard for me to write this, since the room itself was fine, the staff friendly and the location perfect, but there was nothing here that really stood out. My Platinum status didn't get me any extra love except for the usual lounge access, and the lounge was just okay. The breakfast was fine but the evening appetizers were a little uninspired, and when the lounge wasn't serving there was nothing but drinks. I've come to expect from other Marriott properties little snacks, etc. Again, I feel like complaining about the complimentary lounge access is like going to a soup kitchen for sustenance and complaining that the soup is too salty, but I'm just trying to get the word out so that other travelers know what to expect.

There was a positive: they gave me room 1506 which was right across the hall from the ice machine, which was loud. However, I could not hear it in the room.

Summary: while I wouldn't complain if I was booked into this hotel in the future, I'll probably go back to the one on the Waterfront for my next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms x06 and x01 are right next to the ice machine. This wasn't a problem for my room, 1506, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sortova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for writing this review. I took in everything you had to say and I do appreciate your honest. I am happy to learn that you aware of our great location, friendly staff and room quality. I appreciate that you brought up some details to my attention as well. It helps me to take information to the appropriate hotel stay in order to fix an issue no matter the size of the issue.

If you are looking for a hotel that gives you easy access to everything in the in city I do hope that you consider staying with us again. Feel free to contact our Guest Relations Manager. He will be more than happy to help plan your next stay with you. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    295
    105
    23
    15
See reviews for
94
189
50
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here three nights at the beginning of our vacation and really enjoyed it! Our room was very clean and excellent!! I do agree it can get a little noisy in the lobby, but it was fine after the larger groups left for the day. The guest services staff and the valet service staff were very friendly and knowledgable. It is is in a central location, so we either walked or took the MAX the entire time. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lcwboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
I am so happy to find that you had a great time with us while on your vacation. It sounds like you really took advantage of everything Portland has to offer. Our public transit, parks, food scene and everything else that we have is top notch. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great area. The facility is very nice and has plenty of amenities and somewhat updated rooms. One feature i really liked was the study / office on the second floor. It was very well appointed and a nice place to have informal meetings. One negative is Marriott makes you pay for wifi a huge fail for hotels in 2014.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aschwegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you writing such a great review! i am so happy to learn that you enjoyed everything our hotel has to offer. We try our best to make our guest as comfortable and happy as possible. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
264 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Beautiful. Excellent staff. Great location. All the pieces are there. So what's the problem(s)?

My biggest concern is one that the hotel can control - the room doors are LOUD. *Every* time a door is opened, it slams shut with a tremendous bang and shakes the floor. This is unacceptable in a hotel that charged us $260/night for each room. My friend had the same frustration.

My other frustration was with noise from other guests. I was unlucky enough to be surrounded by a group of young men who spent the night slamming their doors and literally shouting to opposite ends of the hallway to each other. After repeated calls to the front desk, and them heroically trying to stop the problem, I was moved to another floor at 2am. I can't fault the staff - they responded as well as they could in the situation. But it was frustrating to experience such guest behavior in a hotel in that price range.

Street noise is also a bit of a problem, but that's to be expected with the location.

Positives? Duh, it's a Marriott. Which means most things were as expected. Beautiful room. Comfortable bed. Great bathroom amenities. Spotless. Excellent staff.

But ultimately, the noise from the doors means that I will never again stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin_from_AKandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdxct, Public Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
I wanted to take the time to thank you for writing this review. I would like to start by apologizing for all of the disruptions that you experienced. We rarely have guests that behave like this but when it does happen we try our best to take care of problems like this. Again, I do apologize for this.

I would also like to thank you for the kind words you shared about our hotel staff. We do our best to satisfy our guests in any way possible. If you ever choose to visit Portland in the near future, please try us again. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POWAY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The nice feature of this Marriott is its location close to most everything downtown. Only two blocks from the rail stop makes it easy to come in from the airport. The staff was very friendly. The bar area is small and not suitable for large groups. The room was quiet and well appointed. I would stay here again if visiting downtown Portland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KYLE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdxct, Public Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for such an honest review. I am happy to find that you did appreciate our great location. Everything is so close which makes for an even better stay. I also noticed that you found our bar area to be more on the small side. If you ever to need a space for a larger group of people we do have options for you. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a fun hotel. Nice bar and restaurant with fun bartenders and waits. We got in late on a Thursday and our waiter was great. When he found out this was our first trip to Oregon, he went and got two large books on Oregon and brought them to our table. He told us just to take them to the front desk when we were through - very nice and unexpected. All of the staff was helpful and provided good information as to local restaurants and places to see. I would love to go back. We were on the concierge level but the view was really the best from the concierge lounge, and not our room.

Room Tip: I would go for a low room or one that faces the mountains. The city view is just not much. The loc...
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a green hotel. I liked it. It is not over the top. It is a good, clean, well maintained hotel with the green vibe.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdxct, Public Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for such a great review. I am so happy to find that you had such a blast. We are always here so please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott City Center (not to be confused with the other Marriott in town) and were pleased with the room, nice new furnishings, cleanliness, but were sort of surprised that with the high price for the room they did not offer what the less expensive hotels offer for free. I have to say that the bed was extremely comfy!!! But, with paying almost $400 for the room, taxes, fees and parking, the WiFi was not free, the breakfasts were extremely expensive (we did not eat there). It was convenient to the things in town that we were seeing and that is the only reason we stayed there as opposed to a hotel outside of town. I didn't feel we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RZCruiseQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdxct, Public Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear that you feel the price of your room was too high. The reason why you experienced such a high price for your room is mainly because it is Portland’s high tourism season. The city of Portland is experiencing the highest number of visitors ever and all of the hotels including ours are all pricing according to the level of demand that we are experiencing.

I would like to recommend to that you try visiting Portland on it’s off season. There are plenty of things to do around the city year round without the large number of crowds and competition for a room in our hotel. I hope that you do decide to visit Portland again and I hope that you decide to try our property again as well. Thank you again for writing to Portland Marriott City Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#18 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
Downtown
The Mark Spencer
The Mark Spencer
#17 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott City Center

Property: Portland Marriott City Center
Address: 520 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3424
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
#34 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#35 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Rose City, the Marriott Portland City Center on Broadway allows guests to tap into the pulse of Portland s most enchanting urban rhythms. Boasting the city's best location our hotel is a travelers delight. Centrally located to the business district, shopping, restaurants and convenient to MAX Light rail we have it all! Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we have everything you need for the perfect stay. Green Seal Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Portland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Portland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing