We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the great reviews are true!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portland Marriott City Center
Ranked #44 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“All the great reviews are true!”
Reviewed March 1, 2008

Portland Marriott City Center

This is a fantastic hotel! The decor is beautiful and very boutique-like: this place feels smaller and more welcoming than a lot of large properties do. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, from the front desk, the doormen, the maintenance people (we called about a minor issue, and it was fixed promptly), and the bartender at Shula’s lounge. The concierge hooked us up with a really great segueway tour also—our request was not at all too weird for him to help with. We noticed the manager held the front door for us, or was otherwise visible and involved in a very positive way with guests and staff. We had a gorgeous corner room (I’d encourage anyone to pay a little extra for one of these), which was very clean and had an amazing bed. We also loved the downtown location, and walked everywhere from the Marriott, although, honestly, we really loved being inside the hotel so much that we didn’t want to go everywhere. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!! Highly recommend

And, we really appreciate all the tips from tripadvisor reviewers about how great this hotel is.

  • Liked — excellent service and location
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwestcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    316
    114
    28
    17
See reviews for
105
202
57
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

This is a mediocre Marriott. Room was small and for 200.00 a night I was stuck next to the maid's office on the 5th floor. Stay at the Lucia. Better prices and nicer rooms.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Value
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlgrlMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel several times due to employer hotel preferences (not by choice). Each time, I stayed here, I found inconsistency in the quality of customer service across staff and room type, which is why I am giving this hotel a 3. Sometimes, I have a terrible experience, other times it is above average.

Customer service is spotty at night. Even when rooms are plentiful, they will still not move you or upgrade you unlike other major hotels. Twice, I found myself checking in at night with unhelpful staff, and then in the AM, the 9:00AM shift gladly moved me to a better available room.

If you book the standard city view you may end up on a low floor hearing a factory's fan. Noisy! Book mountain view and double check that they honor it. Room is quiet with great view.

In both room types the interior is comfortable, clean, and warm. Large desk & good chair; internet connection worked fine; task lights; comfortable bed (comparable to the Westin heavenly bed); good toiletries (Bed Bath & Beyond).

If I had a choice - would I stay here again? No. It's a gamble - - the inconsistency in customer service provides too much uncertainty. When I book a hotel, I want to know exactly what to expect.

  • Liked — Proximity to everything: business, shopping, restaurants, MAX
  • Disliked — Front desk/ customer service is not consistent
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BornwithPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

Usually stay at the Westin in Portland, but they keep their rates high (until last minute when hotel not gonig to fill). Get a litlte sick of dealing with that... so booked the Marriott, concierge floor deal for $150 or so a night. Room on 18th floor was quite lovely ... very large, good quality a/c and heat, and great beds. Enjoyed it a lot and would go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank profwho88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Lovely hotel. Clean lobby, lifts and room. Friendly helpful staff.
Good size room with large comfortable bed and lots of pillows. On the 14th floor (requested a high floor) so good views and minimal traffic noise. Centrally located so within walking distance of most attractions, although trolley cars and buses are easy to use and free within central zone. Free internet room. We arrived early but were able to book in immediately.

  • Liked — Cleanliness!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank UKAdventureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Our stay at the Marriott Cty Center was a very good one. Rooms are well appointed, there is a nice fitness center and we enjoyed the hot tub as well.

Very good location in the heart of downtown. You can easily walk or take the trains (public trans) to get around. We took the train in from the airport and it was about a 25 min. ride for $1.50 and then a half block walk to the marriott front doors. There is a Pete's coffee and a Starbucks within a block. Lots of shopping and great restaraunts within walking distance.

Beds are very comfortable. Internet is available for $10 a day. I've stayed here twice and the first time we were given an "inside room" (no view of the city,) our cell phones didn't work in the room, but when given a room with a view they worked fine.

Concierge was able to provide great recommendations and was knowledgeable about the area. The Saturday Market which takes place on Saturdays AND Sundays was a lot of fun and a short walk.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smch916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2008

The worst hotel experiance in 25 years!

I travel extensivly through out the Pacific Northwest, I normally stay with the Starwood Brand of Hotels. Now I know why.

Upon check in the front desk was very attentive , they all greated me with a smile etc... My second night was a completly different scenerio. The Valet took almost 25 min. to retrieve my car, making me late for a meeting. The lobby is freezing cold! And I mean Cold. I actually feel sorry for the employees of this property. Management must not care about the concierge and front desk people. When I returned to the hotel, I had a later evening dinner in the Restraunt. They have a Shula's at this property....basically an out back Steak House with El Gaucho prices, which I have eaten at several times and is excellent.

The next day I contacted the sales department and spoke to a catering manager, in regards to holding a last minute meeting. She seemed very unproffesional and not aware of any thing. A big disapointment.

Needless to say, I am not someone who complains to the staff when I am staying at a Hotel, but when you come to Portland, try the Westin until the new Nines opens up. What a shame to have such poor service in such a great city.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank santini07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#20 of 142 in Portland
907 reviews
Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
#47 of 142 in Portland
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,437 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#50 of 142 in Portland
65 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 142 in Portland
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott City Center

Property: Portland Marriott City Center
Address: 520 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
#34 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#35 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Rose City, the Marriott Portland City Center on Broadway allows guests to tap into the pulse of Portland s most enchanting urban rhythms. Boasting the city's best location our hotel is a travelers delight. Centrally located to the business district, shopping, restaurants and convenient to MAX Light rail we have it all! Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we have everything you need for the perfect stay. Green Seal Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Portland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing