We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portland Marriott City Center
Ranked #43 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel for the price. The room was clean and quiet. Room service was average. Valet parking was$32 for 24 hours. I didn't get a chance to try the hotel restaurant or any of the ones nearby. Hotel is a few blocks from Powell's bookstore. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Good deal for a city hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 766 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

not knowing Portland when we booked, we thought this would be a good location. actually, it's an amazing location! you can walk to everything in downtown, across the river and in Washington Park.

the good:
comfy beds
ipod dock on bedside clock
location
quiet at night
reminders to conserve by turning off lights and air con
reception staff very helpful and nice

the bad:
NO notes about keeping towels or sheets to use day after day - a contradiction to the conserve energy message on the door.
the bedside clock is super bright at night

the strange:
the lobby was very disjointed and not very welcoming

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I live in Portland so it might be strange that I'm writing a review for this hotel. My cousin and I decided to have a "staycation" for our birthdays so we could just relax and hang out and be in the middle of downtown for dinner, drinks and spa time.
I booked the hotel room online and the rates for this hotel were much less than the other comparable hotels in the area. I had made a note on my reservation that we were coming to stay for our birthdays and was surprised that when we checked in we had been upgraded from a standard room to a suite.
Our room was very nice and it was at the end of the hallway which made it quiet. I was surprised how quiet it was overall as well. During the night I didn't hear anyone else above us, beside us or any flushing toilets (a big pet peeve of mine).

This location on Broadway is about a block from the MAX line if you are coming in from the airport or want to go to events at the Rose Garden or just travel around town. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping around as well.

I can't wait for another excuse to stay here again!

Room Tip: If you book your reservation online you can request a high floor. I can't guarantee a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This review may be somewhat skewed because I had just flew in from New York. The moment I walked into the hotel, it just had the look and feel of a grand New York City hotel. It has a great vibe, nice front desk staff and large rooms.

The hotel is in a great location where you walk to everything cool in the downtown and Pearl District.

Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanweinkrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights June 8th thru the 11th. The hotel is in a good locaton 2 blocks from the lightrail. There are good restaurants within walking distance.The hotel is a typical Marriott nice rooms and comfy beds.You can get all around towm from the hotel by walking. If you don't want to walk you can aso take the lightrail. I took the lightrail from the airport and it stops less than 2 blocks from the hotel and costs $2.40. I would stay here again and also take the lightrail to and from the airport less than $5.00 roundtrip.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and you wil get a view of the river and Mt. Hood
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanFranciscoJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Location wise, the Marriott Portland City Center is in a great spot of downtown Portland. You are only a couple blocks away from the MAX public transportation trains which will take you to/from the airport if you're from out of town. It's also in walking distance to plenty of restaurants, a block of food trucks, and Pioneer Place for shopping (or Ross if you want more budget shopping). Pricewise, you'll find that you're paying a premium price for its location in downtown and while it wasn't a terrible quality hotel, I don't think it was worth the money. Valet parking will also run you a ton of money on a daily basis so that's why we went carless during our Portland stay. I bet it's great for business people who need the downtown convenience but not as much for the casual traveller.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank solarsnorkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The lobby at this well located Marriott property is pretty soulless, if not down right depressing. Small drab and uninviting. The rooms are of usual Marriott standard, relatively big but not exceptional. The fitness facilities were good but not great. Overall the place seems to lack the usual Marriott sparkle I found at their other properties. Even with a free upgrade I wasn't impressed. Clean but not elegant or special by any means. There are far more fun places to stay in Portland.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor with a street facing room. It's far more interesting than an interior f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chuckm2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
#39 of 146 in Portland
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#24 of 146 in Portland
299 reviews
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#42 of 146 in Portland
77 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#16 of 146 in Portland
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott City Center

Address: 520 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#35 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $167 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Rose City, the Marriott Portland City Center on Broadway allows guests to tap into the pulse of Portland s most enchanting urban rhythms. Boasting the city's best location our hotel is a travelers delight. Centrally located to the business district, shopping, restaurants and convenient to MAX Light rail we have it all! Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we have everything you need for the perfect stay. Green Seal Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Portland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Portland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing