We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Vibe of a Grand NYC Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portland Marriott City Center
Ranked #42 of 141 Hotels in Portland
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Vibe of a Grand NYC Hotel”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This review may be somewhat skewed because I had just flew in from New York. The moment I walked into the hotel, it just had the look and feel of a grand New York City hotel. It has a great vibe, nice front desk staff and large rooms.

The hotel is in a great location where you walk to everything cool in the downtown and Pearl District.

Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanweinkrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    313
    114
    27
    17
See reviews for
104
201
56
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights June 8th thru the 11th. The hotel is in a good locaton 2 blocks from the lightrail. There are good restaurants within walking distance.The hotel is a typical Marriott nice rooms and comfy beds.You can get all around towm from the hotel by walking. If you don't want to walk you can aso take the lightrail. I took the lightrail from the airport and it stops less than 2 blocks from the hotel and costs $2.40. I would stay here again and also take the lightrail to and from the airport less than $5.00 roundtrip.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and you wil get a view of the river and Mt. Hood
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Location wise, the Marriott Portland City Center is in a great spot of downtown Portland. You are only a couple blocks away from the MAX public transportation trains which will take you to/from the airport if you're from out of town. It's also in walking distance to plenty of restaurants, a block of food trucks, and Pioneer Place for shopping (or Ross if you want more budget shopping). Pricewise, you'll find that you're paying a premium price for its location in downtown and while it wasn't a terrible quality hotel, I don't think it was worth the money. Valet parking will also run you a ton of money on a daily basis so that's why we went carless during our Portland stay. I bet it's great for business people who need the downtown convenience but not as much for the casual traveller.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank solarsnorkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The lobby at this well located Marriott property is pretty soulless, if not down right depressing. Small drab and uninviting. The rooms are of usual Marriott standard, relatively big but not exceptional. The fitness facilities were good but not great. Overall the place seems to lack the usual Marriott sparkle I found at their other properties. Even with a free upgrade I wasn't impressed. Clean but not elegant or special by any means. There are far more fun places to stay in Portland.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor with a street facing room. It's far more interesting than an interior f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckm2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

I had a pleasant stay at the Marriott in early June. I arrived at the hotel at 10:30AM and they were able to get me into a room. I'd requested a high floor, quiet room location via the online concierge, and they had noted this at the time of checkin. I ended up with a great view of the mountains from the 16th floor.

The bathroom was well sized and the bed comfortable, with a good mix of feather and foam pillows. Unfortunately, no robes.

I spent some fine in the fitness center and found it to be well laid out, with water bottles and cleaned at least every morning. The fitness equipment was appreciably new.

The only thing that happened during my stay was that one morning I woke up at 2AM to the strong smell of natural gas in the room. I called the front desk (others were calling about it as well) and they mentioned it was something that happens every so often due to older ventilation in the basement areas. It disappated after about 1/2 hour.

Pros:
- Clean fitness center with new equipment
- Clean room
- Helpful staff
- Comfortable beds
- Modern tv
- Fast wifi
- Good coffee/tea facilities
- Good location downtown near shops/restaurants
- Nice views on high floors

Cons:
- Charge for Internet
- No robes in room
- Old ventilation

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank fluff_astrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Spent one night in Portland May 24-25 on our way from Seattle to Yachats. Pricelined the Marriott City Center for $80 and we were quite happy with it. Definitely a business hotel- small lobby but good size room. Lived up to the 3.5* rating. Bathroom was basic but bed was very comfortable.I liked how quiet it was, even when sirens went by. We used the valet and service was quite prompt. We did stop in the bar at our hotel, Mez on Broadway, for a nightcap- good service, reasonable price. Before we took off in the morning, we had coffee at the Pete's that is right next door.

Room Tip: Our room faced out the front of the hotel and was on a high floor so had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poodleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
486 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is one of the better Marriott's. Great location if you want to be in downtown Portland. Fairly decent exercise room; decent restaurant (and close to lots of other restaurants). Concierge lounge is ok and they provide hors d'oeuvres and wine (for a price) in the evenings. Rooms are nice and appear to have been recently renovated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 141 in Portland
897 reviews
Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
#43 of 141 in Portland
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#70 of 141 in Portland
20 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,378 reviews
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott City Center

Property: Portland Marriott City Center
Address: 520 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
#34 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#35 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Rose City, the Marriott Portland City Center on Broadway allows guests to tap into the pulse of Portland s most enchanting urban rhythms. Boasting the city's best location our hotel is a travelers delight. Centrally located to the business district, shopping, restaurants and convenient to MAX Light rail we have it all! Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we have everything you need for the perfect stay. Green Seal Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Marriott, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Portland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Portland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing