We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We took advantage of the Home for the Holidays rate during Christmastime. It was a bargain - especially for what it included. Free internet, free parking, free cooked-to-order breakfast, free evening reception. Indoor pool, gym, wet and dry sauna. The room had a fridge and micro. Cable TV and a dvd player. Very comfy indeed.

What made the trip was the staff, though. Everyone was so friendly and made sure our trip was just perfect. We're looking forward to going back again - soon.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTheGo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,398 - 1,404 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2009

If you're doing business in Vancouver or Portland this is a strategic location. Polite and helpful staff makes it a comfortable place to get back to after a long day of looking at properties. Suites with pocket doors separating the living and sleeping rooms were great. A couple of complementary glasses of wine in the evenings didn't hurt either.

The real problem for us was the lack of wifi bandwidth in the hotel. Everything's wireless and none of us could get Yahoo or Yelp to come up on our Browsers. In fact we could get better access by walking over to Best Western's parking lot and logging on to their routers. Oxford was good enough for email and Google searches but checking stocks was slow or none existent.
And trying to access restaurant reviews on Yelp was impossible.

At the end of the day the rates were good and it was a secure place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gridflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We were in town for a conference and got assigned to this hotel. We didn't know what to expect as it was our first stay for this hotel brand. Overall, for the price that we paid (much lower than we're used to paying) we got more than our money's worth; and for the conference location, it was an easy and convenient place to stay.
The staff are very courteous and accomodating. We booked for a specific type of suite, which we got and were very happy with--the "living" area could be closed from the sleeping area. Although the rooms could use a bit of update, they were very clean.
The great value came in all of the "freebies" that are included. Free parking, free internet, and best of all the free breakfast and evening reception. The food is excellent and the staff are great! We had some friends staying at the hotel next door and we were able to have them join us for just a few dollars per person.
Obviously, the staff were a big part of making our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HI_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

My husband and I were in Portland for a wedding. Our son, the groom, and his fiancee live across the river in Vancouver, WA, so we needed a place that was close to both cities. Jantzen Beach is an island in the Columbia River, making it a convenient base for our trip.

Our Executive King Suite was clean and comfortable. Because we stayed for a week, we didn't want to live out of our suitcases, but drawer space was limited. The bathroom vanity and sink were in the bedroom area, separate from the bathroom - a nice plus. The living room could be closed off from the bedroom with pocket doors. The air conditioner and window are in the living room, though, so in warm weather you probably wouldn't want to close those doors.

Each room had a TV, although the picture quality on one was poor. Housekeeping staff members were quick to respond to our requests for more hangers and help with the TV. The hotel is on the flight path for Portland International Airport, so we kept the air conditioner on for white noise. We didn't use the heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, or fitness center, but our grandkids made good use of all three.

A hot breakfast is available everyday, along with the usual assortment of cold cereals. The breakfast room has an actual working kitchen, so my daughter-in-law was able to request scrambled egg whites, rather than settling for whatever was on the menu that day. During the week, drinks and appetizers are available in the same area. The appetizers were crudites and either meatballs or chicken wings when we stopped in.

From the hotel, we could walk through a residential area or along a paved path next to the Columbia River. There is a small playground (swings, slide, monkey bars) within 1/8 mile. A Safeway market is diagonally across the street -- very convenient. There are several reasonably priced restaurants (BJ's Restaurant Brewery, Stanford's, and Newport Bay being our favorites), and lots of stores including Target and Barnes & Noble, within 1/4 mile. We were 15 to 20 minutes by car from most Portland tourist sites. Just beware of rush hour traffic, particularly on Fridays or holiday weekends, when a 20-minute drive can take 1 hour. Vancouver, WA is just 5 minutes away. Parking at the hotel is free and plentiful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthasopoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We took our two twin toddlers on an overnight to Portland and I chose Oxford Suites because there was an indoor pool and free parking, which is hard to find downtown on a budget. We did not use the pool because it was too cold for little ones. Another reason for the choice was the picture they used of the carousel. I figured there must be some outdoor park (Jantzen Beach?), but the carousel is in the mall.

The worst part of the this hotel is that the carpets are extremely dirty. The bottoms of my toddlers socks were BLACK! See picture. This was just too gross for me and I would never recommend staying here based on this.

If you wear shower shoes, though, it is nice enough because of the breakfast and evening reception.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank gingertwinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We loved this place. Close to major freeway; restaurants and grocery stores around the vicinity, all within walking distance. There is a manager's special providing drinks and food almost every night. Buffet breakfast, to! The room was clean. Bed comfortable. We thought the bathroom was too small but it was doable. Sofabed in room; Refridge and microwave. Staff very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhodes32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I read all the reviews before deciding to book this hotel for my little sisters wedding party hotel accommodations. I was really disappointed in SEVERAL aspects of our stay this past Sunday.
First of all, we were guaranteed a 3pm check in time. When we arrived, they said it'd be another 15-20 minutes before our rooms were ready. Over an hour later, they finally were. The staff, in the mean time, was rude and not at all professional. When my husband and I checked into our room, the smoke detector/fire alarm was beeping, so we immediately called down and the front desk said they'd send maintenance up right away. 3 hours later I called down again and they had "no remembrance" of my original call and, again, would send someone "right away". Thankfully that got taken care of soon after that.
My sisters mother in laws room had a dirty t-shirt on the dresser...not sure what that was about, I hope they weren't using a t-shirt to do their cleaning with.
Our room had a great coffee pot, but no cream or sugar.
The TV had HORRIBLE reception, and our dvd/vcr player didn't even work in our room. Needless to say, while their "freebies" were okay, the overall stay was a huge let down. I would never recommend a hotel to a friend where the front desk doesn't even say "thank you" after check out. The lady who checked us out was rude and I was at my wits end, and HAPPY to get out of there!
Maybe the stars had aligned against their favor on that day, as by reading the rest of the reviews, people were impressed with this hotel, but I have to say, my experience was one that would warrant never giving it a second chance. The only nice thing about it, was that it was easy to find off of I-5. Don't waste your money, there's a Red Lion next door- try that one instead.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternTrvlr, eCommerce Marketing Manager at Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2009

Oxford Suites is committed to providing a hotel stay that consistently exceeds our guests’ expectations. We encourage guest reviews and pride ourselves in actively seeking resolutions to any issues or concerns raised by our guests. We truly apologize for not delivering the stay experience you expected and should have received. We will work diligently to correct the issues that contributed to your disappointment and would ask that you consider another stay in the future. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
1.2 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
5.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#16 of 144 in Portland
519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland North
Courtyard Portland North
#66 of 144 in Portland
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach

Address: 12226 N Jantzen Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#19 Family Hotel in Portland
#24 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $141 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located on Hayden Island, the Oxford Suites Portland–Jantzen Beach is situated just minutes from downtown Portland, the Rose Quarter, the Oregon Convention Center, the Portland International Airport and downtown Vancouver, WA. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa, Sauna, Steam Room & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Oxford Hotel Portland
Portland Oxford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing