We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place - slightly inconvenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Ranked #25 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place - slightly inconvenient location”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Super service, friendly staff, clean rooms, quiet, comfortable beds. My only complaint - the location is tricky if you plan on driving into Portland (or just about anywhere for that matter.). The hotel is located on Hayden Island, just off the freeway. Traffic is notoriously aweful since this is the only corridor between Vancouver and Portland. It's absolutely torturous to drive to and from the hotel between 7 am and 7 pm!!!

The hotel does however have a free shuttle that will take you to the Max transit stop and pick you back up any time until 10 pm so that was very helpful. They also give you coupons for two free drinks per day in the bar. There is a free salad bar with daily soup as well which runs all evening. The restaurant food is decent and the service is good. The free breakfast is excellent and includes potatoes, eggs cooked to order, rotating selection of breakfast meats, breads, fruits, muffins, applesauce, yoghurt, juice, etc, etc. Great value! The dining area can get hectic and and crowded but the staff were excellent and efficient. We enjoyed the nightly drinks and bowls of chips and crackers.

The pool is nice and workout room was nice too. There is a small store with snacks & essentials. You can rent a movie with popcorn and soda for $6 - great for the kids. Ample parking, grocery store and other fast food nearby. Nice trail along the river is minutes away too.

Overall - great hotel! My only complaint was the traffic situation but I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Earl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    411
    138
    50
    24
See reviews for
506
367
45
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Oxford Suites! Our room was huge! We were in the apartment on the 4th floor. It had an incredible kitchen which included everything you would need to cook your own meal. The apartment also had its own washer and dryer, and even a walk-in closet. I could have happily stayed there for months. The general manager went out of his way to make sure we had a great stay. He spoke to us at length and gave us dinner recommendations, and even directions to the restaurant and how to avoid traffic. The breakfast was phenomenal and I could not believe that it was complementary. The wi-fi was fast and free. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitefishGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights after flying in. It was close to the airport, downtown Portland, Walmart/Target, and literally across the bridge to WA. Perfect spot for us and 3 kids. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The appetizer/drink hours were the longest I've ever seen 5:30-9:30, very convenient. The pool, spa, and workout faculties were great. The breakfast was phenomenal, much above the typical! Variety and service galore. The price can't be beat for so many amenities.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Batchgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My partner and I stayed one night at the Oxford Suites Portland in July (we found a great last minute price). We showed up a bit early and the room was not available. After going out to lunch, we returned and they still did not have the room ready. Fortunately, the front desk staff was great and called housekeeping to see if they could clean up a room for us. After a few minutes, we got our key and went to our room. We were assigned a room designed for guest with disabilities. It was nice but we found it interesting that the sink was located right next to the front door. We also found it odd that the bathroom did not have an exhaust fan (it made it difficult after taking a shower with all the humidity).

We used the drink tickets at the afternoon reception (good) and took advantage of the breakfast in the morning. While it was very crowded when we got there, it calmed down within a few minutes. It was also nice having "made to order" breakfast instead of having the standard continental breakfast offered at comparable hotels.

For one night stay, it was fine.

Room Tip: It appears that the carpet in the first floor hallway has not been updated in a while (probably beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnwguy1j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel room is the usual average room. Looked like it was newly painted and had a sofa, mini fridge, microwave. Free breakfast and nightly drinks and snacks included. The one thing that was disappointing was when we put the sign on the door for room cleaning and even asked the lady we saw in the hallway, but the room did not get cleaned. Other than that, the location is good as it is close to I-5. It was also nice to have free wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedee1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We recently stayed at the Oxford Suites on a family trip to Portland. It had many advantages, including a reasonable price, free quality breakfast, free happy hour with drinks and snacks, a small pool for the kids, and free, fast wireless. They also had laundry services, which is essential when travelling with small kids. The hotel is a tiny bit run-down on the outside, but is a step up from any other hotel for the same price, in that the staff are courteous, efficient and always ready to help. The bed was comfortable, although the fold-out couch was super crummy, with a very flat mattress and no sheets provided, just a couple of blankets. The room had a fridge and microwave, which was again great for managing the appetites of small kids. There were plenty of food options on the island within walking distance, and the Safeway and mall were steps away as well.
The only real downside is that, being out of town, the commute to downtown Portland was 6 miles of the worst traffic I have experienced in a while. In the hot sun of a summer heat wave, it felt like 30 miles, especially as the traffic seems to be thick at all times, not just rush hours. If I didn't have kids it would be fine, but ye gods, it was torture.
Really enjoyed it overall, but would consider a hotel in town if we went again. Or they could shuttle downtown all day...
Portland itself is like San Francisco lite, with a small, hip downtown, lots of hills, and tons of great food choices. People are friendly, and the OMSI was awesome, if anyone is thinking of going there.

Room Tip: Because it is quiet and on an island, almost any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was a friendly, clean hotel. We asked for a quiet room and got one on the top floor. It was nice and quiet. View out the window was of a rooftop, but we didn't get the room for a view. :) The tickets to free drinks were a nice touch. Breakfast was plentiful and good. Reception was outstanding. We felt welcomed from the moment we walked in and were given lots of good information about good spots to eat in the area. The downsides to the hotel didn't have much to do with the hotel itself. The hotel is on an island, so you can't take city streets to get where you're going in Portland. And secondly, we learned that SoCal traffic is a dream come true in comparison to Portland's. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and recommend it with the caveat that getting in and out of town will likely take a lot longer than anticipated given the distance.

Room Tip: If you are interested in a quiet room, let the reception desk know. A room on the top floor was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolvanera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
5.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#14 of 142 in Portland
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
5.6 mi away
Inn at Northrup Station
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 142 in Portland
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach

Property: Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Address: 12226 N Jantzen Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#19 Family Hotel in Portland
#24 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located on Hayden Island, the Oxford Suites Portland–Jantzen Beach is situated just minutes from downtown Portland, the Rose Quarter, the Oregon Convention Center, the Portland International Airport and downtown Vancouver, WA. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa, Sauna, Steam Room & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Oxford Hotel Portland
Portland Oxford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing