We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
Ranked #59 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed three nights while doing business in Portland.

The hotel fitted my needs just fine. The room was spacious and very well laid out; I hardly used the kitchen, but the sitting area was a nice place to rest and hangout.
The room did smell a bit musty when I first got there, but the smell went away after running the HVAC for a few minutes.

The breakfast was ample and well organized. I understood that there is also a happy hours with free drinks and snacks (I did not try it out).

Overall it was a satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delaceiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 347 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

I was travelling on the road from Canada to California, getting late, Portland is 50 miles ahead. My wife calls Marriott to reserve a room for the night. We tell the reservation desk that we want to get a hotel in the south part of Portland. Intent is when we get on the road in the morning that we don't get dumped into heavy rush hour traffic, so south of Portland would do that.
The booking desk set us up at this Lloyd Center Residence Inn.
This is the exact location that I wanted to AVOID!!!
Looking on-line today, they could have picked the 15200 Bangy Rd, hotel in Lake Oswego, Or. That is 12 miles south of where she put us.
So when we did get on the road on the morning, we had to deal with the 8th worst traffic in the nation, on a weekday.
Customer Service at the reservation desk gets a total FAIL!!!!
If any quality people at Marriott are reading this - I'm trusting that your people have maps of the areas and can follow basic instructions reflecting your customer's needs.
As for the actual hotel - yes, the ROOM was NICE. That was the only bright spot.
It had a laundry that unfortunately one dryer did not work, just cold air so my clothes were partly air dried -- meaning still very cold and damp. Thanks for the CHILLS on that one.
Lots of food during breakfast, but being in a hurry to get on the road could only get a quick bite.
Traffic out of town was as congested and dangerous as I feared because it was partly rainy. We did get out unscathed, but be it known to all who read -- Marriott Dropped The Ball on this one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tunaoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

First time at this hotel. Tried several times before but getting in is a challenge. Great location as easy walk to MAX station and best Marriott property with free parking. Park your and use the MAX as it is the best way to enjoy DT Portland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larry87120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have stayed with Marriott on multiple occasions, but this was the first time with the Residence Inn. I had requested a top floor room for noise prevention purposes, but one was not available when we checked in. Not a big deal. The room was great! We were so impressed! Full kitchen, well appointed furnishings, big bathroom and vanity, absolutely no complaints. The staff at check in were pleasant and all seemed to be on the up and up.

The hotel is not in the greatest area. It's right next to a major road so, consequently, there's quite a bit of road noise. We were a little on edge with the neighborhood, but we've stayed in far worse places. We finish our evening and retire.

At about 11:10, the phone in our room rang. We jumped in bed! My husband answers the phone to nothing but a dial tone. Ok. We chalk that up to a glitchy phone system. It happens.

About 10 minutes later, someone is swiping a key card and trying to get into our room. They swiped, messed with the door knob, swiped, banged on the door, swiped, jiggled, and finally left. Thankfully, the door was dead-bolted so they were not able to gain entry. With his family behind the door, my husband (the war veteran) was decidedly on alert. We called the front desk to which the reply, "Oops!" was offered. They had apparently changed our room when we checked in in an attempt to accommodate our request for a top floor room and had not changed it in the computer system. They subsequently assigned the room to another family and issued them key cards. In short, had our door not been dead-bolted, the keys would have worked. The excuse for this was that the employee who checked us in was in training, however she was VERY aware of her limitations with the computer system and deferred our check in to the more seasoned associate that was there with her. They sent someone to come and deactivate our door lock, but that took quite a while.

Needless to say, my husband was up all night and I didn't sleep much either. In an already sketchy neighborhood to have people attempting to get in our room was a decent sized party foul on the part of the hotel.

The following morning we realized that must have been assigned a room under the pogo stick champions of the world! Or possibly that was the room that had the trampoline installed. Or that there was a secret game of "Let's set off the Richter scale" going on and we weren't invited. Having requested a top floor room to prevent this and having already been up all night, this 6:30am treat was absolutely the icing on the cake.

When we checked out, the day shift crew that we reported the incident to were clearly appalled at what had happened and had not been previously informed. The manager (I presume) stated that she would use this incident for training purposes and asked if thee was anything that she could do to make the situation better, but offered no suggestions. That put me in an awfully awkward position as I believed our room rate should have been reduced, but that's not something that I'm going to ask for. The bare minimum that a hotel should provide is safety for their guests. Issuing someone else keys to our room puts that safety in jeopardy. $125+ and a sleepless night later we were on our way for, what ended up being, a very long day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This Residence Inn is a warm, friendly hotel with updated rooms AND a social hour with food and wine. Being dog friendly like the city of Portland itself, is a plus. The hot breakfast was well organized and plentiful. Been here many times, won't stay anywhere else. It's got all the comforts of home and a feeling of safety.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Easy access to downtown via the light rail. Walking distance to the Lloyd Center Mall. They gave us a ground floor room which was convenient for letting the dog out. They were renovating the lobby at the time so we had to grab our breakfast in a packed hotel room and eat it in our room-not too big of an inconvenience. I'm sure it's fine now.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great front desk girls, except they sent us to OMIS not realizing it's closed on Mondays!!!! But the suites are great, roomy and comfortable. During the week they do those great social get togethers with food and wine. The units are spread out and very private. But beware, no elevators so don't take a top floor if you have big bags. But, all in all, a great place to stay with a big free breakfast. Nothing negative, that's why we always love Residence Inns.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hafkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center

Address: 1710 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $145 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland Downtown Lloyd Center Residence Inn by Marriott is a warm and welcoming place to call home during your travels. Enjoy the comfort of this all-suite hotel and the pleasure of a great location for your active lifestyle. Only a few minutes from Max Light Rail and easy freeway access, this extended-stay hotel in Downtown Portland is the perfect spot for on-the-go travelers. Corporate travelers appreciate amenities focused on their individual needs. Our free wireless anywhere Internet access helps keep you connected to e-mail from colleagues. Corporations like PacifiCorp, Kaiser, Knowledge Universe and Providence Medical Center are minutes from the property. This Portland destination hotel is the ideal location for vacationers. Situated in the heart of the Lloyd Center District guests are just minutes from all the excitement. Hop aboard the MAX light rail and travel to and from the Portland International Airport or head west to over to the Oregon Zoo. Within walking distance to the Oregon Convention Center and dining on Broadway and minutes from the Rose Quarter Moda Center and Memorial Coliseum for live entertainment. Enjoy tax free shopping at the Lloyd Center Mall and Ice Rink or take in a movie at the Cinemas across the street. Settle in and stay in spacious suites, which include full kitchens and an ample working area. Take a dip in the seasonal outdoor pool or enjoy a great work out in the 24-hour Fitness Center. Jump start your day with our complimentary breakfast buffet and return in the evening to our Social Hour (M-W) featuring a light meal, beer and wine. Self Parking is available for $10 per night for overnight guests. If you're traveling on business or pleasure our friendly and proficient Marriott staff takes pride in making you feel at home. Make your reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing